Digital Art Zone

1 of 3
Using HDRI software to enhance Carrara renders
Posted: 05 February 2013 10:50 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  563
Joined  2011-07-03

I recently started using Photomatix on my renders and got (what I think are) some interesting results. I used a basic DAZ provided scene to test the idea. I generated one image at normal exposure, and then simulated 2 more renders - one over and the other under-exposed. I then used Photomatix to create an “HDRI” image. (See images below. The first 3 are Carrara rendered; the last (reduced to 8-bit imaging) was produced through Photomatix.

I am relatively new to Carrara, but I was wondering if anyone else has been experimenting with using HDRI software to enhance their Carrara renders.

Along with that, I have several questions related to this topic and maybe someone can offer their experiences on it. Please provide some illustrations to help, if it is not too much trouble.

1. The Carrara 7 User’s Guide refers to setting the f/stop for cameras, but I cannot find such a setting on my Carrara V8. Am I just not finding it or is it gone? If it is no longer there, how do I go about under and over-exposing renders?

2. Are there settings for cameras (that I am not aware of) that will produce render results similar to what an app like Photomatix will produce?

3. Does anyone know if there is anything in the works for a future Carrara version to render HDRI quality images?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Image Attachments
Sample_(-).jpgSample_(+).jpgSample_(0).jpgSample_(HDR).jpg
 Signature 

The most complex object in mathematics, the Mandelbrot Set ... is so complex as to be uncontrollable by mankind and describable as ‘chaos’. — Benoit Mandelbrot

Posted: 06 February 2013 12:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07