Digital Art Zone

 
     
How Do I Get Smart Content to Work_Macintosh_DS4.5.1.6?
Posted: 05 February 2013 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28

I’ve tried asking for help on this topic before, but I’ve never been able to get Smart Content to work. MetaData does get installed. I do have the Content Mangagement Service working. Surfaces (Color) works and Shaping works, but aren’t things supposed to show up in the SmartContent Tab as well? (Maybe I’m wrong on this.)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9615
Joined  2007-11-06

If you click on “All” in the Smart Content tab, do items show?  If not, can you post a screenshot?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

Also, do you have anything under Products or Categories in the Content Library pane?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28
fixmypcmike - 05 February 2013 05:00 PM

If you click on “All” in the Smart Content tab, do items show?  If not, can you post a screenshot?

Nope, no items show. Here’s just a simple file, with Genesis loaded. But, it doesn’t matter how much I load of clothing, props, etc. Nothing will show.

Image Attachments
Nothing_Click_on_All.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28
Richard Haseltine - 05 February 2013 05:06 PM

Also, do you have anything under Products or Categories in the Content Library pane?

Yes, the Contents and Categories do show. That’s not a problem.

Image Attachments
Contents_Categories_Show.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

Actually they aren’t showing -there should be triangle next to them, indicating folders, as there are next to Poser and DAZ Studio Formats. So either the service isn’t running or it is but DS can’t talk to it.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28
Richard Haseltine - 05 February 2013 05:34 PM

Actually they aren’t showing -there should be triangle next to them, indicating folders, as there are next to Poser and DAZ Studio Formats. So either the service isn’t running or it is but DS can’t talk to it.

Well, there are triangles next to the DAZ formats and the Poser formats, and I can get to the content of each that way. But there are no triangles next to Other Important Formats, Products, or Categories. I didn’t realize there should have been triangles there.

Image Attachments
Screen_Shot_2013-02-05_at_3.35_.35_PM_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28
Richard Haseltine - 05 February 2013 05:34 PM

Actually they aren’t showing -there should be triangle next to them, indicating folders, as there are next to Poser and DAZ Studio Formats. So either the service isn’t running or it is but DS can’t talk to it.

By the service, I suppose you mean the DAZ Content Management Service. Well, I’ve just tried again. But, I have tried this several times. I Stop the Service. I start the service. I quit DS. I start the service. I start DS. Nothing works. Supposedly the service is running. I started it. But, no, those triangles do not show up.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 06:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28

I have tried working over and over again with starting the Content Management Service. Nothing gets those triangles to show.

Image Attachments
Screen_Shot_2013-02-05_at_4.06_.11_PM_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 06:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  554
Joined  2011-04-12

Do you have a firewall/security program running?  Those can interfere with the CMS’s ability to communicate with other programs.

 Signature 

Not interested in the giant leap backwards that is “Genesis 2”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 07:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28

No, I do not have a firewall or security program running. It’s not that, either, I’m afraid.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2006-10-28

So, it that it? Is there no way for me to get Smart Content to work? Is it a bug in DazStudio?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2013 08:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9615
Joined  2007-11-06

What version of OSX?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2013 08:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

Also, verify that the service successfully started.  Click the spotlight search button and enter “Activity Monitor”, make certain that the pull down lists “All Processes” and look for the DAZ Content Management Service.  If it’s not there then there’s something keeping the service from starting and we need to figure out why.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 12:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2003-10-09

Launch Activity Monitor and look for this:

Image Attachments
Screen_Shot_2013-02-08_at_04.38_.39_.jpg
Profile