Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
Falloff controls for spotlights in DS4.5P?
Posted: 05 February 2013 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14
adamr001 - 05 February 2013 12:09 PM
Sarsifus - 05 February 2013 11:13 AM

I have issues with OmniFreaker’s stuff and try to avoid using them any more than I have to. The documentation is nearly non-existent; what there is of it tends to be fairly arcane and difficult to decipher; and OmniFreaker himself is somewhat difficult to get a concise answer out of. Also, what seems to work in one version of DS seems not to work in another version. The only thing these script lights seem to lack (that I can see anyway) is that they can’t be mapped, which is a real shame.

Documentation on UberPoints, I wrote and can be found here: http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=160239

Only thing that differs for the spots are the cone controls.

I’ve read through your tutorials, especially the one about UberEnvironment2, and really enjoyed them and learned a lot. However, the complexity of these products really demands some kind of vendor documentation and instruction (and by now, I’ve come to realize that DAZ doesn’t do that), and all of the pages on OmniFreaker’s site are at least a year out of date. Even YOU—a moderator—don’t have answers to a number of features of UE2, and if anyone should be able to tap OmniFreaker’s brains, it ought to be you (and in your entire thread discussing at length how to use one of his products, OmniFreaker could not rouse himself to post one comment explaining a feature, clarifying an issue, or offering a word of advice or encouragement—and if YOU’RE not worthy of his participation and support, what about us mere customers). The fact that the documentation and vendor support is so spotty is hardly a recommendation to use these products, and leaving it up to the community to try to puzzle them out piece-by-piece is pretty lame…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10
Sarsifus - 05 February 2013 12:07 PM

I kinda hate to suggest it, ‘cause you may have to redo any changes or customizations you’ve made, but you might try resetting your defaults to factory (Edit >> Preferences >> Interface >> Restore Factory Defaults), and see if that gets you back your light controls, or hit F3 to bring up the “Customize DAZ Studio” dialog, and see if you can find something in there that might be affecting your lights.

Sorry, that’s all I’ve got…

Not a problem for me.  Unfortunately, nothing happened.

This is actually a shame… I’d really like to learn to use these lights… which I obviously have no clue how to do…

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 12:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14
wancow - 05 February 2013 12:20 PM
Sarsifus - 05 February 2013 12:07 PM

I kinda hate to suggest it, ‘cause you may have to redo any changes or customizations you’ve made, but you might try resetting your defaults to factory (Edit >> Preferences >> Interface >> Restore Factory Defaults), and see if that gets you back your light controls, or hit F3 to bring up the “Customize DAZ Studio” dialog, and see if you can find something in there that might be affecting your lights.

Sorry, that’s all I’ve got…

Not a problem for me.  Unfortunately, nothing happened.

This is actually a shame… I’d really like to learn to use these lights… which I obviously have no clue how to do…

Well, to me at least, it doesn’t sound as if it’s anything YOU’RE doing wrong—it sounds like something simply isn’t working right, but I don’t know how to tell you to fix it, sorry. Hopefully, someone else can…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14318
Joined  2003-10-09

Decay is the rate at which the light dims with distance, as a power. 0 means it doesn’t dim, 1 means it dims in proportion to distance from the light (usually used with the begin and end settings - the distance in cm from the light at which the brightness starts to drop and the distance at which it hits black), 2 is the physical inverse-square law fall off, with the light getting four times as dim at twice the distance from the light (like the DAZ default point-light). Using 2 will often give a dark scene, especially if the gamma setting is 1, but 1 shouldn’t unless the end distance is smaller than the distance to the items in the scene.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 02:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14
Richard Haseltine - 05 February 2013 01:52 PM

Decay is the rate at which the light dims with distance, as a power. 0 means it doesn’t dim, 1 means it dims in proportion to distance from the light (usually used with the begin and end settings - the distance in cm from the light at which the brightness starts to drop and the distance at which it hits black), 2 is the physical inverse-square law fall off, with the light getting four times as dim at twice the distance from the light (like the DAZ default point-light). Using 2 will often give a dark scene, especially if the gamma setting is 1, but 1 shouldn’t unless the end distance is smaller than the distance to the items in the scene.

So the Decay setting IS the exponent for the falloff, after all, with 1 being linear (inverse) and 2 quadratic (square inverse). Still, changing ONLY the Decay setting on the dzSpotLight, a setting of .5 with Intensity set to 100% gives me a very dim render, and anything with Decay set higher is essentially black (evidently, the light has completely decayed before it can illuminate anything).

Even with Decay set to 1, and with Intensity set to a ridiculously high 2000%, still renders as dim as with Decay set to .5 and intensity set to 100%.

Is there a way to convert these lights over to lumens or candlepower or watts or something more real-world?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 02:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14

This is a 1-meter red cube sitting on a green plane, with a dzSpotLight set about 350 units above and to the right, with Decay set to 2 and with Intensity set to 1M % (ONE MILLION PERCENT!!!). Pretty friggin’ dim.  I’m thinkin’ the decay model on these lights is broken.

Image Attachments
Test_001.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14318
Joined  2003-10-09

Sorry, the start/end stuff was in relation to the uber lights - the Shader Mixer lights don’t have that (which is a pain as it’s a good way to stop the system wasting time calculating shadows once the light is going to be invisible anyway). Yes, you do need to set the Intensity high with the DS falloff lights - though I’m surprised it’s that bad with 1. Note that, as far as I know, the decay is always an integer - I’ve certainly had little sign of success plugging a fraction into the uber lights.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14
Richard Haseltine - 05 February 2013 02:34 PM

Sorry, the start/end stuff was in relation to the uber lights - the Shader Mixer lights don’t have that (which is a pain as it’s a good way to stop the system wasting time calculating shadows once the light is going to be invisible anyway). Yes, you do need to set the Intensity high with the DS falloff lights - though I’m surprised it’s that bad with 1. Note that, as far as I know, the decay is always an integer - I’ve certainly had little sign of success plugging a fraction into the uber lights.

Supposedly, you CAN use non-integer values for decay, but that’s software-dependent and not universally supported. I’m just amazed that a one-megawatt spotlight (assuming DAZ light units are measured in watts) barely illuminates a scene with a real-life decay setting of 2. Even with their enhanced features, these lights are looking less and less useful to me, now that I see how they actually perform.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14

Same setup, except this time the light’s Intensity has been set to 10M% (ten million percent), with a Decay of 2. Is there even such a thing as a 10 mega-watt lamp?

Image Attachments
Test_002.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 04:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Sarsifus - 05 February 2013 02:42 PM

I’m just amazed that a one-megawatt spotlight (assuming DAZ light units are measured in watts)

They aren’t.

And as far as it goes, these aren’t DAZ creations…they are just translations of standard RSL lights.  So, the ‘features’ and controls are RSL.  Which means, ‘not real world equivalent’.  It’s just a scale that pretty much is how much on/off the light is compared to a lower/higher value on the slider. 

So you need to quit thinking that 10,000,000 is actually ‘ridiculous’...because that figure has no ‘wattage’ or any other unit attached to it.  And when you look at it, 350 ‘units’ above the object could be very significant, if the fall off is /cm.  So that if 350 units is in cm, and every cm the light level drops by 1/4…by 350, you’ve got next to nothing left (1400x less)...even if it’s meters, 3 and half meters is going to be something like 14 times less…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14318
Joined  2003-10-09

What is your gamma setting, in Render Settings>Advanced?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14
Richard Haseltine - 05 February 2013 05:16 PM

What is your gamma setting, in Render Settings>Advanced?

Gamma is set to 1 by default, and I’ve never changed it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1418
Joined  2011-11-16
mjc1016 - 05 February 2013 04:00 PM
Sarsifus - 05 February 2013 02:42 PM

I’m just amazed that a one-megawatt spotlight (assuming DAZ light units are measured in watts)

They aren’t.

And as far as it goes, these aren’t DAZ creations…they are just translations of standard RSL lights.  So, the ‘features’ and controls are RSL.  Which means, ‘not real world equivalent’.  It’s just a scale that pretty much is how much on/off the light is compared to a lower/higher value on the slider. 

So you need to quit thinking that 10,000,000 is actually ‘ridiculous’...because that figure has no ‘wattage’ or any other unit attached to it.  And when you look at it, 350 ‘units’ above the object could be very significant, if the fall off is /cm.  So that if 350 units is in cm, and every cm the light level drops by 1/4…by 350, you’ve got next to nothing left (1400x less)...even if it’s meters, 3 and half meters is going to be something like 14 times less…

Daz Studio 4 units are set in Centimeters. 1 unit =1cm. That would probably explain the huge drop-off.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14
mjc1016 - 05 February 2013 04:00 PM
Sarsifus - 05 February 2013 02:42 PM

I’m just amazed that a one-megawatt spotlight (assuming DAZ light units are measured in watts)

They aren’t.

And as far as it goes, these aren’t DAZ creations…they are just translations of standard RSL lights.  So, the ‘features’ and controls are RSL.  Which means, ‘not real world equivalent’.  It’s just a scale that pretty much is how much on/off the light is compared to a lower/higher value on the slider. 

So you need to quit thinking that 10,000,000 is actually ‘ridiculous’...because that figure has no ‘wattage’ or any other unit attached to it.  And when you look at it, 350 ‘units’ above the object could be very significant, if the fall off is /cm.  So that if 350 units is in cm, and every cm the light level drops by 1/4…by 350, you’ve got next to nothing left (1400x less)...even if it’s meters, 3 and half meters is going to be something like 14 times less…

Sorry, but what exactly do you mean by “RSL lights”? Googling the term brings up “Roberts Step-Lite System is a unique lighting system designed to provide an aesthetic solution to the problem of lighting interior and exterior steps, handrails and cove moulding for commercial, as well as residential applications ” as well as “In a remote-source lighting (RSL) system, light from a single source is carried over a distance to one or more light outlets, or is emitted evenly along the way”. Which were you referring to?

These are both real-world light applications, and any real-world light application will be measured in terms of lumens or candlepower or wattage, and a faithful model of that ought to show it (and I’d say someone has made some attempt to make these script lights somewhat faithful). To say that the value is essentially meaningless in a real-world context is a little difficult for me to grasp. It’s just very odd that the light from a dzSpotLight at its default setting of 100% Intensity with a real-world decay of 2 will attenuate pretty much completely before it even leaves its source.

Maybe I should add that I’m not doubting you—it just strikes me as odd that someone would go to the trouble of creating a light model that incorporates such real-world features as decay, and then totally ignore the fact that the light emitted by such a source should be referenced or measured in terms of real-world units like lumens, candlepower, or wattage.  I hope that makes some kind of sense. It would make a lot of sense—to ME, at least—for someone to create a light model and say “with a real-world decay of two, let’s set the default Intensity at 100 watts”, which means that someone could create an instance of such a light and know that it will illuminate a fairly good-sized room by itself.

I also found this: “RSL - Directional Light Source Shaders” (http://www.fundza.com/rman_shaders/lights/directional/index.html)—which appears to be a discussion of light models/shaders in Maya and RenderMan. And isn’t 3Delight derived from or related to RenderMan? It’s a pretty technical read, and just skimming through it, I’m not seeing anything directly relevant to this discussion.

 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 06:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2009-04-14

In another test, I set the dzSpotLight’s intensity back to 100% and its Decay to 2, and parked it about 5 units (5 cm.) directly above the cube, at which point, it rendered out to a small circle of light perhaps 5 cm. in diameter—which means that with a real-world Decay of 2 and with its default Intensity setting of 100%, this light is about as powerful as a small pocket flash-light with a dead battery.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2