Digital Art Zone

 
     
adding lights without other lights going away?
Posted: 04 February 2013 08:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  146
Joined  2008-09-17

can this be done?
especially point lights,
i load in some candles and then attach point lights to each ones flames,
now how do i add a light set to the scene without those point lights going away??

 Signature 

www.bloodyrosesdesigns.com
The Aldara Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 February 2013 09:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

You should be able to hold down the control key (CTRL) when clicking on the lights.  This will bring up a dialog box with options to add, replace selected, replace all (why replace all is the default I’ll never understand).

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 February 2013 09:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  146
Joined  2008-09-17

thank you didn’t know that worked with lights…..

 Signature 

www.bloodyrosesdesigns.com
The Aldara Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 February 2013 11:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2909
Joined  2004-04-14

make sure you dont have another light selected when you make a new one.

only have another light selected if you intend on copying it.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 07:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  761
Joined  2003-10-09
ssweete - 04 February 2013 09:55 PM

thank you didn’t know that worked with lights…..

It works with all the various types of presets - MATs, Poses, cameras, lights.

Also, if you set your preferences in the Options tab, when you hold SHIFT and click a preset, your prefs will be automatically applied.

mac

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 08:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

You can also change your preferences, if you look in Edit > Preferences > Content there are options to control how DS behaves when you load a new anything with a current anything of same type selected.

I have mine set to “always add” iirc, there’s also “always replace” (default) and “prompt” etc.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

When saving light sets, you can also save them as a Scene Subset.  This will allow you not only to save lights that will not replace those that are already in the scene, but also allow you to save them with nulls, either to group them or as light targets or both.

I’ve taken to saving everything as scene subsets for this reason.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile