Digital Art Zone

 
     
More than one Genesis in scene
Posted: 01 February 2013 02:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-04-13

Hi folks, I have had some trouble putting more than 1 genesis figure into a scene.
Things seem to slow down alot, and often the scene crashes during render.
I call this slowing down, a sort of heaviness, overload.
I have noticed that figures seem to ‘lighten up’ when I parent all clothes and hair into the Genesis figure.
What I am saying is that, the scene tab no longer lists, Genesis, then the hair type, then clothes shoes, etc.
The list in the scene tab is only Genesis.
Is this idea correct?, that by parenting items, the figures use up less power?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 02:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7681
Joined  2006-03-19

What are your system specs?

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 02:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-04-13

Thanx for the reply.
I am running XP 32 bit, 3.0 ghz chip.
4 gb ram, Quadro 580 card.
Lots of space.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6624
Joined  2005-08-15

I have no idea what parenting items that are already fitted to Genesis would do, I can’t see how it would help

The viewport uses OpnGL for it’s display, and according to the web, your card has 512 MB of memory.  It may not be enough.  Genesis is fairly low polygon, about 19,00 at base level, compared to V4 who was about 70,000

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

XP Home or XP Pro?

Is that a 1 GB version of the video card?

If you are running a 32 bit version of XP you are limited to less than 4 GB of usable RAM…XP will reserve the top 1 GB for itself (leaving you starting at 3 GB)  and a 1 GB video card will eat up close to another gig, due to the way XP maps the addresses (at least without the 3 GB switch…which, according everything I’ve ever heard was usable on Pro only).  So you are starting out at about 2 GB…and that’s not counting any other running apps, DS or any textures loaded.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-04-13

I do use alot of V4 and M4 clothes and hair.
I have also noticed wierd stuff, such as the render crashing when 3Delight reaches the eyes!
This happens with Daz Horse 2, also.
Say, while we are chatting- If a ‘Prop’ or ‘Actor’ looks good - as it is - , should ‘mats’ which are provided always be aplied?
And one more please!
Do you know how to adjust the mouth area of Genesis short beard or M4 long beard?
The pictures in the advertisements have the characters with their mouths open, yet I cannot figure out how to move the beard and ‘Stache’ when the characters mouth is open.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3570
Joined  2012-02-06

I think the 32-bit part may be significant; my system specs are similar to yours—worse actually—except that mine is 64-bit. And while it’s slow, I can manage up to nine Genesis figures. A couple of tricks that may help…

* Leave your figures untextured, undressed, and un-haired as long as possible, ideally adding the textures, clothes, and hair just before rendering
* Or, switch the view from “Texture Shaded” to something less resource-intensive, such as wireframe or smooth shaded. The control to do this looks like a little sphere with a dropdown menu triangle, next to the camera menu on the viewport.

Not sure what to suggest about the render crashes. You could try upgrading to the latest version of DS (if you don’t have it already)...that might help. I know that on my system, upgrading from DS4.0 to DS4.5 helped a lot.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3570
Joined  2012-02-06

I’ve had the same issues with Short Beard for Genesis…I found a thread with some information that may help you: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/10457/

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-04-13

WOW!, This stuff sounds great.
I first purchased Daz Pro 4, then intalled 4.37?
Then 4.5 35?——- Something like that, is there a newer version?
Also I have noticed that - since installing the latest - the new genesis essentials box ( In the smart content tab)
has a yellow yield triangle and exclamation/ question mark on it.
The content is there when I ckick on it, yet I wonder If I should re install?
All of my evolution morphs for shaping disapeared - from the shaping tab - when I installed the latest 4.5.
They are available in the parameters, so I have not freaked out.
I have assumed they are issues with the version.
PS, My computer is at home so I am a bit sketchy on some stuff here, at a net cafe.
Non the less thanx to all. For real!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 07:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2405
Joined  2003-12-06

Did you update only the D|S program? The Genesis Essentials have also been updated, this should really be done to match the D|S version.

Also, you mentioned the Evolution morphs: it sounds like you don’t have the update for this either. One gotcha, due to the nature of the update, you must uninstall the old Evolution morph sets before installing the new ones.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 10:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

OKAY, NO matter what, the more figures you add to a scene, the more bogged down it is going to get.  What you can do is make figures invisible while you work.  Make clothing invisible when interacting with two characters at once.  If a character is touching the other character’s clothing, make the clothing visible and the underlying character invisible.  This will dramatically speed up your computer.  and just make everything visible when you are ready to render.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 04:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-04-13

Hi folks, thanx for the tips, they are working.
Do any of you know about a step by step instruction to uninstalling?
I have to uninstall an old version of both evolution morphs and the forest.
I plan do a major clean up soon, yet must complete some character scenes before I take the risk of losing them is a overhall.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Easy Uninstall: Re-Install the set (Items) you have installed, Make sure you pick Create Uninstaller (it will just install over your other installed files unless you have moved them in the folders by hand) once that is done browse with a file broswer to the My Library folder (or your content folder) and open the Uninstallers folder. Run the Uninstaller.

This is foolproof as long as you have not moved files in the folders by hand.

If you did not Keep the installers for the content I’m afraid I can only suggest finding the ReadMe file and then Delete each folder that is listed in the View Files Installed section of the readme.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 February 2013 07:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1405
Joined  2011-11-16

One thing that has helped me with clearing up render crashes is to render to RIB and then do my final render using the free 3DLight standalone render engine, opposed to the built-in one in Daz.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 04:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  718
Joined  2012-07-21
Skyshorr - 01 February 2013 02:03 PM

I have noticed that figures seem to ‘lighten up’ when I parent all clothes and hair into the Genesis figure.
What I am saying is that, the scene tab no longer lists, Genesis, then the hair type, then clothes shoes, etc.
The list in the scene tab is only Genesis.
Is this idea correct?, that by parenting items, the figures use up less power?

No, they just move to a different place in the scene tab. You can click the arrow in front of Genesis in the scene tab to expand the hierarchy, in there you’ll find the parented items.

Image Attachments
parented.jpg
 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
me at DeviantArt

Profile