Digital Art Zone

 
   
52 of 75
52
Apparently the DAZ Install Manager is about ready
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 766 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  284
Joined  2012-02-12
JonnyRay - 08 February 2013 08:55 AM
Frank0314 - 08 February 2013 08:51 AM

It’s only for DAZ 3D Content

Thanks for the quick reply Frank. smile
Unfortunate as I have a LOT of zip files to install as well, but in some ways those are easier than having to click through the DAZ setup programs.

Would be a nice “version 2” feature to be able to point it at a folder full of zip files and have it figure out how to install them as well. smile

There’s Runtime Zip and Repair by Dimension 3D at Renderosity that does this. The Zip part installs in batches, but the Repair part fixes incorrect paths within the files if there are any. I haven’t tried it yet, but am going to buy it today since they have a 15% off coupon you can find under their daily deals tab.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 767 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6185
Joined  2006-02-20

I got it - but I thought the reason for the oversight might be the confusion in the store - maybe they simply overlooked the files because of that.
Did you file a Bug report?
There is a section for the DIM now.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 768 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1003
Joined  2012-01-29
JonnyRay - 08 February 2013 08:55 AM
Frank0314 - 08 February 2013 08:51 AM

It’s only for DAZ 3D Content

Thanks for the quick reply Frank. smile
Unfortunate as I have a LOT of zip files to install as well, but in some ways those are easier than having to click through the DAZ setup programs.

Would be a nice “version 2” feature to be able to point it at a folder full of zip files and have it figure out how to install them as well. smile

That would be indeed great, but I don´t think it will happen. DAZ company is currently sporting a very business-oriented attitude (note the new EULA and other changes), part of which is that DAZ wants us to buy items mainly from DAZ store, which we then can install easily with their Install Manager. Why should they help us to install content that we bought somewhere else?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 769 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1348
Joined  2003-10-09
Kerya - 08 February 2013 09:13 AM

I got it - but I thought the reason for the oversight might be the confusion in the store - maybe they simply overlooked the files because of that.
Did you file a Bug report?
There is a section for the DIM now.

I did indeed - ID 0049251 for anyone who wants to add an other “Me too”.

Cheers,

Cliff

 Signature 

Cliff’s Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 770 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1348
Joined  2003-10-09
JonnyRay - 08 February 2013 08:49 AM

Will this tool help at all with the ZIP files that I already have from other content markets / freebies / etc? Or is this just to help download and install DAZ 3D content from my account?

Sadly, DIM only works with .ZIP files which have been designed with it in mind - so no. However, if you’re not on a Mac and the content you’ve got was zipped up correctly (for direct unzipping), it’s fairly easy to select multiple .zip files and just extract them where you want them to go. Macs apparently are less zip friendly, and as I don’t have one I can’t comment much :(

 Signature 

Cliff’s Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 771 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  371
Joined  2006-12-10
sikeus - 08 February 2013 09:12 AM

There’s Runtime Zip and Repair by Dimension 3D at Renderosity that does this. The Zip part installs in batches, but the Repair part fixes incorrect paths within the files if there are any. I haven’t tried it yet, but am going to buy it today since they have a 15% off coupon you can find under their daily deals tab.

I have that tool too, but I found it to be a bit glitchy at times. Would hang up after processing 100 ZIPs or so, didn’t always handle ZIPs where the artist had an unconventional folder structure, etc.

In the end, I found it easiest to just unzip the files enmasse in a “working” folder strucutre, then move them into my content library by hand.

Proxima Shining - 08 February 2013 09:14 AM

That would be indeed great, but I don´t think it will happen. DAZ company is currently sporting a very business-oriented attitude (note the new EULA and other changes), part of which is that DAZ wants us to buy items mainly from DAZ store, which we then can install easily with their Install Manager. Why should they help us to install content that we bought somewhere else?

No, I get that. And I understand it from a business perspective. I suppose I could devise some twisted scenarios where it wasn’t about supporting other content markets, but we all know that’d just be a cover up. smile

I was hoping the DIM might clean some of that manual process of installing zips and automate for me, but as I said it is more painful to click next, check checkboxes, click next, dropdown list boxes, click next, uncheck “view the readme”, click finish ... in the DAZ installers than handling ZIP files; so this should still be a worthwhile tool.

 Signature 

Feel free to read my 3D Tutorial collection, focusing mainly on the technical aspects of 3D rendering.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 772 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  2007-10-17
JimmyC_2009 - 08 February 2013 03:40 AM

I installed Genesis Starter Essentials through the DIM with no problems.  All of the Genesis stuff used to have to be in the same folder, but as far as I can tell, that no longer applies.  You could give it a try.  I think it would be good practice to keep them together anyway.

All of the morphs of V4 (and M4) need to go into the same Runtime folder as the base model, that still applies.

Correct, it no longer applies, however it can definitely cause issues if you have more than one version installed of genesis or of the morph packs.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 773 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  2007-10-17
bringho - 08 February 2013 03:43 AM

Sorry if this issue have been discussed during the last week but I just don’t have the time to brows through 49 pages of discussion that may point in the right direction…

Thought I should at least try the new Install Manager and download the latest edition of the DSON Importer for Poser as there is a new version out there.

I set it up as per instruction but there is no sign of the DSON Importer in the listing in the Import Manager?!?

Then I started looking for other stuff, none of the purchased apps seem to be there either.

All the radio buttons are set in the ‘Download Filters’ and IM states that it has found 1163 files ready for download.

So what is wrong?

Software, plug-ins, non-DS/non-poser content and anything that is DS content that installs outside the Content Directory is not yet implemented in the software. Content that doesn’t yet appear is likely not yet done. (Mostly that applies to content that was produced before Victoria 4, though there are exceptions on both sides of Victoria 4.)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 774 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  2007-10-17
Puntomaus - 08 February 2013 07:42 AM

I haven’t read this thread so pardon if this has been asked and answered before but when I wanted to download it I can only find a 32bit version for Windows? Really? Is there a 64bit version planned or is it going to be only 32bit?

The only reason that you would need a 64 bit version of this is if we started producing zip files that were bigger than about 2GB. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 10:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 775 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  252
Joined  2012-10-05

I installed the beta so far this morning, and so far I have to say I’m unfortunately not very impressed that it’s, at this point, going to be particularly useful to me. I recognize that this is a beta product - and probably an early-stage beta product at that, given that some key components that would make this software really helpful for me haven’t been installed - but right now, I have serious issues with the following:

1) The routine for installing products with DIM apparently requires that you install items to a different directory from the directory (in my own case, C:/Users/User/My Documents/Daz 3D/Studio/My Library) that I’ve, to date, installed all characters, clothing, props, etc. I think this needs to be fixed.
2) I don’t like it that, at this point, the beta doesn’t recognize anything except what I’ve purchased from Daz itself in the last few weeks, and doesn’t seem to recognize anything pre-existing in the above directory.  I find this particularly disappointing as I was hoping that DIM would, in addition to its main purpose, be a utility to help me easily sort out and find the add-ons that I have obtained and installed, not just from Daz, but from Renderosity, Runtime DNA, etc., since I started with Daz Studio.

At this point, and until there are some substantial improvements in DIM, I have to say that the best course for me seems to be to carry on with downloading and installing products manually just as I’ve been doing up to now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 776 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1348
Joined  2003-10-09

Just quickie… while I agree that it’s obviously an unfinished beta…

joea64 - 08 February 2013 10:10 AM

1) The routine for installing products with DIM apparently requires that you install items to a different directory from the directory (in my own case, C:/Users/User/My Documents/Daz 3D/Studio/My Library) that I’ve, to date, installed all characters, clothing, props, etc. I think this needs to be fixed.

You CAN install to your chosen directory! click the little cog in the top right and you can go and add Installation paths to install content to.

Cheers,

Cliff

Image Attachments
AddInstallLocation.gif
 Signature 

Cliff’s Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 10:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 777 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  2007-10-17
joea64 - 08 February 2013 10:10 AM

I installed the beta so far this morning, and so far I have to say I’m unfortunately not very impressed that it’s, at this point, going to be particularly useful to me. I recognize that this is a beta product - and probably an early-stage beta product at that, given that some key components that would make this software really helpful for me haven’t been installed - but right now, I have serious issues with the following:

1) The routine for installing products with DIM apparently requires that you install items to a different directory from the directory (in my own case, C:/Users/User/My Documents/Daz 3D/Studio/My Library) that I’ve, to date, installed all characters, clothing, props, etc. I think this needs to be fixed.
2) I don’t like it that, at this point, the beta doesn’t recognize anything except what I’ve purchased from Daz itself in the last few weeks, and doesn’t seem to recognize anything pre-existing in the above directory.  I find this particularly disappointing as I was hoping that DIM would, in addition to its main purpose, be a utility to help me easily sort out and find the add-ons that I have obtained and installed, not just from Daz, but from Renderosity, Runtime DNA, etc., since I started with Daz Studio.

At this point, and until there are some substantial improvements in DIM, I have to say that the best course for me seems to be to carry on with downloading and installing products manually just as I’ve been doing up to now.

RE: 2 with few exceptions virtually all DAZ Studio/Poser Content from Victoria 4 to current has been done with more being added daily. (Several times per day, actually.)

It can not know what you have installed by another method. There is no way to know where you installed it or what you have installed. About the only way to do that is to create a database of all the content in the DAZ Store, not jsut the installers, but all the content of all the installers, then scan your Hard Drives and send that to DAZ to compare the lists. (No, we aren’t going to do that.) And that presumes that you haven’t changed the names of anything.

Even then how many content files do you have named Pants, or Color 3?

There is no way to do it.

As for doing the same thing for other stores? You really expect RuntimeDNA, Renderosity or others to give us that kind of access to their stores? There are already plenty of tools on the market, some of them even free, that work with the zips from the other stores once you have downloaded them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 10:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 778 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2007-02-21
JonnyRay - 08 February 2013 08:55 AM
Frank0314 - 08 February 2013 08:51 AM

It’s only for DAZ 3D Content

Thanks for the quick reply Frank. smile
Unfortunate as I have a LOT of zip files to install as well, but in some ways those are easier than having to click through the DAZ setup programs.

Would be a nice “version 2” feature to be able to point it at a folder full of zip files and have it figure out how to install them as well. smile

Can the installer by Adrian Hudson still be got hold of? That worked well with zips, but he gave up trying to keep up with the ever-changing Daz installers.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 11:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 779 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2009-06-17

I just started up DIM again today and it said I needed to agree to the terms…  I just did that the other day.

Is this going to ask me to agree to terms every day?

Anyone else have that happen?

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 780 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2009-06-17

But on a positve note - I just got an update notification - that is very cool.

Do you have to uninstall the old file first?

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
   
52 of 75
52