Digital Art Zone

 
   
43 of 75
43
Apparently the DAZ Install Manager is about ready
Posted: 06 February 2013 07:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 631 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2011-03-26

I managed to download and install about 830+ products.
I managed to recreate my former categories by using backups I made from .dsa and .dsx “User Product Data” files I exported from the “Product Library” Content DB Editor.

I was very happy to see that very few installed products had issues:

Edit / Update
removed items that have been added since last time I checked.

All tested with filter set do DS4.5

Wrong Version in zip:

http://www.daz3d.com/catgirl-genesis (Legacy .dsf version in .zip instead of Core .duf version)

http://www.daz3d.com/worlds-of-fantasy-medieval-house (Poser version instead of DS version)


Included metadata not working:

Maybe caused because of relative file paths changed before zipping?

http://www.daz3d.com/keira-for-stephanie-5 (Legacy .dsf Version)
http://www.daz3d.com/diner-waitress-for-genesis-female (Legacy .dsf Version)

http://www.daz3d.com/future-flight (Core .duf Version)
http://www.daz3d.com/stalker-girl-guns-for-genesis (Core .duf Version)

- - -

Products not found in DIM:

http://www.daz3d.com/carhop-for-genesis-female
Curbside Cuties texture add on is available

http://www.daz3d.com/dynamic-supersuit-set-3-the-mystics
The other dynamic supersuit-sets 1,2,4 are available

http://www.daz3d.com/gen-4-iconic-shapes-for-genesis
G4 and F4 shapes missing
A4 and H4 shapes available

http://www.daz3d.com/knotty-tails-hair-for-genesis
Colors for Knotty Tails Hair available


http://www.daz3d.com/ultimate-dynamic-tee
Everyday for Ultimate Dynamic Tee available

http://www.daz3d.com/dark-warriors-for-gis
GIS for Genesis is available

http://www.daz3d.com/the-fabricator
I noticed that all related products have been added.
My personal guess is that it is held back in order to deceide if before converting it to .zip the naming Fabricator / The Fabricator in the content library and the metadata should be adjusted to match the related shader products.

- - -

Products not found in DIM and in DAZ store

War Brotherhood for Genesis
I found the installer 12121_WarBrotherhoodGenesis_1.2_dpc.exe on my system.
I do not rember anymore if it was a limited time Bonus when purchasing War Dog for Genesis
or if I got it because I also have the M4 version.

 

- - -

Anyway I post this here in case someone is checking.
Things are being added and fixed very quickly at the moment.

- - -

I am very happy how the DIM helped me reinstall the whole runtime in only about three days working on it on and off.
I was very worried that I would loose up to two weeks to get everything working again.

Happy installing everyone! wink

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 07:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 632 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4730
Joined  2004-08-11

A4 and H4 Shapes I got but your right, there is no G4 & F4 Shapes for Genesis in the DIM downloads

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

DAZ Studio 4 Frequently Asked Questions

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 07:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 633 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3804
Joined  2012-02-06

After weighing the pros and cons, it seems like the clean install option is best for me. Off to start now…will report back to tell how it’s going.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 07:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 634 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7978
Joined  2006-03-19
linvanchene - 06 February 2013 07:35 PM

I managed to download and install about 830+ products.
I managed to recreate my former categories by using backups I made from .dsa and .dsx “User Product Data” files I exported from the “Product Library” Content DB Editor.

I was very happy to see that very few installed products had issues:

All tested with filter set do DS4.5

Wrong Version in zip:

http://www.daz3d.com/catgirl-genesis (Legacy .dsf version in .zip instead of Core .duf version)


Included metadata not working:

Maybe caused because of relative file paths changed before zipping?

http://www.daz3d.com/keira-for-stephanie-5 (Legacy .dsf Version)
http://www.daz3d.com/diner-waitress-for-genesis-female (Legacy .dsf Version)

http://www.daz3d.com/future-flight (Core .duf Version)
http://www.daz3d.com/stalker-girl-guns-for-genesis (Core .duf Version)

- - -

Products not found in DIM:

http://www.daz3d.com/carhop-for-genesis-female
Curbside Cuties texture add on is available

http://www.daz3d.com/dynamic-supersuit-set-3-the-mystics
The other dynamic supersuit-sets 1,2,4 are available

http://www.daz3d.com/gen-4-iconic-shapes-for-genesis
G4 and F4 shapes missing
A4 and H4 shapes available

http://www.daz3d.com/knotty-tails-hair-for-genesis
Colors for Knotty Tails Hair available

http://www.daz3d.com/the-firearm-pack
M5 Firearms with Expressions and Poses available


http://www.daz3d.com/ultimate-dynamic-tee
Everyday for Ultimate Dynamic Tee available

http://www.daz3d.com/dark-warriors-for-gis
GIS for Genesis is available

http://www.daz3d.com/the-fabricator
I noticed that all related products have been added.
My personal guess is that it is held back in order to deceide if before converting it to .zip the naming Fabricator / The Fabricator in the content library and the metadata should be adjusted to match the related shader products.

http://www.daz3d.com/softbootzz

- - -

Products not found in DIM and in DAZ store

War Brotherhood for Genesis
I found the installer 12121_WarBrotherhoodGenesis_1.2_dpc.exe on my system.
I do not rember anymore if it was a limited time Bonus when purchasing War Dog for Genesis
or if I got it because I also have the M4 version.

‘Katumi Dress’
‘Katumi Dress Textures’
Those just seem to have vanished. Product name Change?

- - -

Anyway I post this here in case someone is checking.
Things are being added and fixed very quickly at the moment.

- - -

I am very happy how the DIM helped me reinstall the whole runtime in only about three days working on it on and off.
I was very worried that I would loose up to two weeks to get everything working again.

Happy installing everyone! wink

If you are having issues with packs or things are missing file a bug report at https://bugs.daz3d.com

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Ravenwood Cemetery*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 09:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 635 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1454
Joined  0

About the different download files, I only use Daz Studio 4.5 , no Poser, under the download filters do I now only need to check Daz Studio 4.5, or do I have to also check off Studio 4 and Poser 9 and DSON Importer for Poser?  Will I be missing support files? 

Sorry if this has already been answered and I just didn’t see it in all these pages of questions and answers

 Signature 

“If you get a chance….Take it!  If it changes your life….Let it!.  Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 09:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 636 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1334
Joined  2011-09-13
Kharma - 06 February 2013 09:04 PM

About the different download files, I only use Daz Studio 4.5 , no Poser, under the download filters do I now only need to check Daz Studio 4.5, or do I have to also check off Studio 4 and Poser 9 and DSON Importer for Poser?  Will I be missing support files? 

Sorry if this has already been answered and I just didn’t see it in all these pages of questions and answers

Yes, only check DS 4.5, and you’ll be good smile

You would only end up missing something if it’s accidentally mistagged, and that would be a bug. I’ve seen them fix a couple of these already, and so it looks like this will not happen often once they get through making sure all the content available already is tagged properly.

 Signature 

My DAZ User Gallery
Deviantart gallery: storypilot.deviantart.com

Storypilot’s Pizza Kitchen - Art Studio thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 10:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 637 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1454
Joined  0

Thank you so much for replying Storypilot smile  I also have another question or 2 ...I d/l just one file genesis essentials to see where it would download to as the default path, but my default path is set in DIM as

C:\Users\Public\Documents\DAZ 3D\InstallManager\Downloads

but in explorer if I follow the path throught the directories it goes

C:\Users\Public\Public Documents\DAZ 3D\InstallManager\Downloads

does the extra word Public make any difference or is that how it is supposed to be in Windows7


and if I just check the DS 4.5 box it shows StudioCF files for some products also, which means I must have to install both files

example: Aiko 4 and Aiko4 StudioCF

 Signature 

“If you get a chance….Take it!  If it changes your life….Let it!.  Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 10:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 638 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1334
Joined  2011-09-13
Kharma - 06 February 2013 10:18 PM

Thank you so much for replying Storypilot smile  I also have another question or 2 ...I d/l just one file genesis essentials to see where it would download to as the default path, but my default path is set in DIM as

C:\Users\Public\Documents\DAZ 3D\InstallManager\Downloads

but in explorer if I follow the path throught the directories it goes

C:\Users\Public\Public Documents\DAZ 3D\InstallManager\Downloads

does the extra word Public make any difference or is that how it is supposed to be in Windows7


and if I just check the DS 4.5 box it shows StudioCF files for some products also, which means I must have to install both files

example: Aiko 4 and Aiko4 StudioCF

That Public/Public Documents thing, that looks Ok, and it shouldn’t matter, but I use a Mac, so I can’t say definitely.

As far as the StudioCF files, yes those you install both. smile

 

 Signature 

My DAZ User Gallery
Deviantart gallery: storypilot.deviantart.com

Storypilot’s Pizza Kitchen - Art Studio thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 10:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 639 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1136
Joined  2003-10-09

I found many missing files that were not old ones (many of the same as ones listed above). I’ll file a bug report to the tracker and add more as I discover them. I’ve only gone through about 900 of the 4300 or so files the DIM said I had. (There’s more than that but the really old files aren’t available yet.).

I suspect many of the problems found with some files vis-a-vis metadata already existed. I’ve posted several times about problems using Smart Content tab in Studio and sensing that a lot of stuff was missing or misplaced or mislabled. But identifying what’s missing is hard especially when the installation paths make browsing your content a nightmare.

I don’t know if everyone’s noticed but there’s a column in the ‘installed’ tab labeled: SMART. If it doesn’t have a checkmark I presume metadata may be missing. There are a lot of blank cells in front of me as I look at it.

QUESTION:

Can you make the DIM’s default Library the Studio default? Is it just a matter of positioning it at the top of the list? Can you rename it to My Library?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 640 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  157
Joined  2009-06-17

Anyone else missing all the “millenium” products -  Horse, cat, big cat…

Well,  some 258 products installed while I was sleeping.  Last time I reinstalled my content (about the same amount) it took me 2 days. only 900 some to go (not including the missing items)

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2013 12:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 641 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  234
Joined  2005-09-14

Sorry for sounding dense but what is a *Symbolik Link*? As I would like to move the download folder onto an external drive where I keep all my stuff backed up on grin. Thank you and take care grin.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2013 01:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 642 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  44
Joined  2003-10-09
islandgurl31 - 07 February 2013 12:38 AM

Sorry for sounding dense but what is a *Symbolik Link*? As I would like to move the download folder onto an external drive where I keep all my stuff backed up on grin. Thank you and take care grin.

You don’t need a symbolic link to have your download folder on an external drive - just set your download folder to your preferred location.
You will find the settings in settings/ downloads - see below

However if you want to enter the world of sym links - here is a guide

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/16226/complete-guide-to-symbolic-links-symlinks-on-windows-or-linux/

Image Attachments
Schirmfoto_2013-02-07_060557a.jpg
 Signature 

“Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.”
- Robert A.Heinlein

Intel Core i7-4790 @ 3.60 GHz, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760,
Windows 8.1 Pro X64 / Windows 7 Ultimate X64 Dual Boot
Poser Pro 2014 / Reality 3

http://tastiger.dhs.org/

Joined <——Actually been around since the first freebie ever when the site was still called Zygtote

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2013 04:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 643 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2006-08-24

Kharma, that’s correct.  Public Documents is the display nick-name of the folder, but Documents is the actual folder name.  One of those silly things Windows does to try to be more friendly, like calling the regular Documents folder My Documents.  We see the “friendly” name in Explorer but programs see the real name…users are confused and hijinks ensue.  Thanks, Microsoft!  :P

islandgurl, Tastiger is correct.  To clarify, we’re only needing symbolic links to move the program to another drive.  Download and installation locations can be directly changed via the Download Filters button, which gives you the screen shown above.

 Signature 

                                                                                                    “I fight for the Elves.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2013 04:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 644 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2006-08-24

O…I wanted to make a note regarding my older post about the symbolic links:

Moving non-Microsoft programs off your system drive and replacing them with symbolic links:  Fun and easy!

Moving Microsoft programs or the Programs folders off your system drive:  TERRIBLE IDEA.  BAD ELF!  PUT IT BACK!

Yeah…I got into hacking the Registry trying to make that idea work and wound up having to go back to the start and just move the individual folders inside Programs.  It probably would have eventually worked, but if I’d kept at it I’d probably still be messing around in safe mode trying to make Windows ignore the guy behind the curtain pulling levers.  There are too many dependencies, permissions and ownership issues to get past.  Just.  Don’t.  Do it.

 Signature 

                                                                                                    “I fight for the Elves.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2013 04:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 645 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6575
Joined  2006-02-20

VoltisArt: thanks for the warning!
Note to myself: no symlinks for Microsoft stuff!

c:\users\public documents\DAZ 3D\InstallManager\ManifestFiles <—this one will be symlinked, oh yeah!

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
   
43 of 75
43