Digital Art Zone

 
   
42 of 75
42
Apparently the DAZ Install Manager is about ready
Posted: 06 February 2013 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 616 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4730
Joined  2004-08-11
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 11:05 AM
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 10:40 AM

Question

So if I were to rename “My Library” to “Content” and pointed the DIM to that directory it would then overwrite all the stuff it found in the data and runtime:textures folder and then if I were to go in through DAZ Studio and move one folder at a time over to the Clothing:!Genesis Male and Clothing:!Genesis Female folders would it overwrite but retain the meta data info as discussed?  I’m just trying to figure out a way to not have two whole libraries since the old “My Library” has SO much in it already and being THAT established perhaps it’s best to just try to keep that going.

The name of your Content Directory makes no difference whatsoever.

As for the rest of it. Possibly, and probably. Remember the more manual work you do the more manual work you are going to keep having to do.

Well the only things I have split up are the clothing and character packs and a folder for fantasy characters like RAWN’s and Midnight Stories stuff. 

As for the Content VS My Library…... The zips all show that the top folder within are named “Content” but “My Library” in My Documents is of course named differently.  Your saying it makes no difference.  Wouldn’t DIM see that there is no “Content” folder and just create one and put everything in there?

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

DAZ Studio 4 Frequently Asked Questions

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 02:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 617 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2006-08-24
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 08:58 AM
Alisa Uh-Lisa - 05 February 2013 07:27 PM

I sure wouldn’t rely on this program at this point.  The most recent thing I got a few days ago was the Urban Shabby Chic product

This SHOULD have
  Boho Chic
  Urban Fashion Trend
  Urban Shabby Chic for V4

When I originally got the exe products, all were there. I just went to DIM and the only part of it that’s showing is Boho Chic.

That would be a bug, as those should all be there but for some reason the bundle is not entirely associated. Please report that to http://bugs.daz3d.com (Note that is a different log-in than the store. )

I went searching in the store and I only see the following products:

http://www.daz3d.com/boho-chic
http://www.daz3d.com/urban-shabby-chic

These are both single products (Boho requires Urban) and not super-new or old, so my first thoughts were probably wrong.  The latter’s title ends at “Chic” but the text says “...Chic for V4.”  Probably a rename of the base item.

If there was a bundle, it may have accidentally been removed from the store and downloads.  I’m thinking this may be more of a clerical issue than a problem with the program or the files it’s queuing.  Maybe the renaming of the base item messed up the bundle in the database?
_ _ _

DaWaterRat:  No worry.  :)  The early concerns before release I think were certainly valid.  This is a big change and not all of DAZ’s plans have gone as smoothly as any of us would like, including DAZ.  Info wasn’t overly forthcoming to make clear what was required, recommended and completely optional, either.  More people questioning snowballed the thread and made good info even harder to find…which, I believe, is why some of us are annoyed (is that too gentle of a word? lol) that DAZ keeps letting their marketing people out of the gate before the techs are finished writing documentation—and there’s been times it never got done.

 Signature 

                                                                                                    “I fight for the Elves.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 618 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 01:36 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 11:05 AM
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 10:40 AM

Question

So if I were to rename “My Library” to “Content” and pointed the DIM to that directory it would then overwrite all the stuff it found in the data and runtime:textures folder and then if I were to go in through DAZ Studio and move one folder at a time over to the Clothing:!Genesis Male and Clothing:!Genesis Female folders would it overwrite but retain the meta data info as discussed?  I’m just trying to figure out a way to not have two whole libraries since the old “My Library” has SO much in it already and being THAT established perhaps it’s best to just try to keep that going.

The name of your Content Directory makes no difference whatsoever.

As for the rest of it. Possibly, and probably. Remember the more manual work you do the more manual work you are going to keep having to do.

Well the only things I have split up are the clothing and character packs and a folder for fantasy characters like RAWN’s and Midnight Stories stuff. 

As for the Content VS My Library…... The zips all show that the top folder within are named “Content” but “My Library” in My Documents is of course named differently.  Your saying it makes no difference.  Wouldn’t DIM see that there is no “Content” folder and just create one and put everything in there?

If it creates a Content Directory, this is the old Content/Content bug in Content Installers and is wrong. WE have found a few products that do that and have fixed the ones we found. That doesn’t mean there might not be one that still exists.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 619 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2006-08-24

So the zip files normally have that Content folder but install without writing it?  Interesting.

I suppose that makes sense to include reference files that don’t need to be installed.

 Signature 

                                                                                                    “I fight for the Elves.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 620 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
VoltisArt - 06 February 2013 02:50 PM

So the zip files normally have that Content folder but install without writing it?  Interesting.

I suppose that makes sense to include reference files that don’t need to be installed.

The primary reason for it is not all files get installed inside the content directory folder. For example the SDL files that comes with RSL shaders, or the extra files that come with puppeteer presets.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 621 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4730
Joined  2004-08-11
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 02:43 PM
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 01:36 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 11:05 AM
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 10:40 AM

Question

So if I were to rename “My Library” to “Content” and pointed the DIM to that directory it would then overwrite all the stuff it found in the data and runtime:textures folder and then if I were to go in through DAZ Studio and move one folder at a time over to the Clothing:!Genesis Male and Clothing:!Genesis Female folders would it overwrite but retain the meta data info as discussed?  I’m just trying to figure out a way to not have two whole libraries since the old “My Library” has SO much in it already and being THAT established perhaps it’s best to just try to keep that going.

The name of your Content Directory makes no difference whatsoever.

As for the rest of it. Possibly, and probably. Remember the more manual work you do the more manual work you are going to keep having to do.

Well the only things I have split up are the clothing and character packs and a folder for fantasy characters like RAWN’s and Midnight Stories stuff. 

As for the Content VS My Library…... The zips all show that the top folder within are named “Content” but “My Library” in My Documents is of course named differently.  Your saying it makes no difference.  Wouldn’t DIM see that there is no “Content” folder and just create one and put everything in there?

If it creates a Content Directory, this is the old Content/Content bug in Content Installers and is wrong. WE have found a few products that do that and have fixed the ones we found. That doesn’t mean there might not be one that still exists.

Well, ALL of the zips I’ve downloaded via the DIM show a Content folder as the parent folder.  See the screen shot…

Image Attachments
ContentFoldersZIPS.jpg
 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

DAZ Studio 4 Frequently Asked Questions

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 03:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 622 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 03:00 PM

Well, ALL of the zips I’ve downloaded via the DIM show a Content folder as the parent folder.  See the screen shot…

Right, but no “content” folder is created when Install Manager installs the Contents of that folder.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 623 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4730
Joined  2004-08-11
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 03:03 PM
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 03:00 PM

Well, ALL of the zips I’ve downloaded via the DIM show a Content folder as the parent folder.  See the screen shot…

Right, but no “content” folder is created when Install Manager installs the Contents of that folder.

Oh, OK! Thanks!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

DAZ Studio 4 Frequently Asked Questions

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 03:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 624 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2006-08-24
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 02:59 PM
VoltisArt - 06 February 2013 02:50 PM

So the zip files normally have that Content folder but install without writing it?  Interesting.

I suppose that makes sense to include reference files that don’t need to be installed.

The primary reason for it is not all files get installed inside the content directory folder. For example the SDL files that comes with RSL shaders, or the extra files that come with puppeteer presets.

This program is smarter than the average bear.  :D Now if we could just convince people that using it is exactly like using non-DAZ zips but faster and potentially easier…

 Signature 

                                                                                                    “I fight for the Elves.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 625 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
VoltisArt - 06 February 2013 03:09 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 02:59 PM
VoltisArt - 06 February 2013 02:50 PM

So the zip files normally have that Content folder but install without writing it?  Interesting.

I suppose that makes sense to include reference files that don’t need to be installed.

The primary reason for it is not all files get installed inside the content directory folder. For example the SDL files that comes with RSL shaders, or the extra files that come with puppeteer presets.

This program is smarter than the average bear.  :D Now if we could just convince people that using it is exactly like using non-DAZ zips but faster and potentially easier…

To do that, it may have to make up pickinick baskets and hand them out.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 04:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 626 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2011-09-13
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 03:41 PM
VoltisArt - 06 February 2013 03:09 PM

This program is smarter than the average bear.  :D Now if we could just convince people that using it is exactly like using non-DAZ zips but faster and potentially easier…

To do that, it may have to make up pickinick baskets and hand them out.

This made me laugh out loud.

But seriously, having this way of having my two computers easily show what is installed on each is a huge plus. I used to copy my whole runtime to my laptop from time to time when I wasn’t certain if I’d already installed this or that bundle on it. Now I see I can manage exactly what’s installed/uninstalled on the laptop (where space is constrained) and make sure it matches up with the big computer for whatever project I’m working on.

...so if I’m going on a picnic, I have just what I need packed lol raspberry

 Signature 

My DAZ User Gallery
Deviantart gallery: storypilot.deviantart.com

Storypilot’s Pizza Kitchen - Art Studio thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 04:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 627 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  254
Joined  2011-02-16
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 12:48 PM

Thanks Adam, I think that would be my favoured option but is this specific to Content Library Categories - I couldn’t care less about Metadata, so do I need to backup the *dsx file and re-import metadata? I thought these instructions were for people with personalised metadata they wanted to keep.

They are.

That doesn’t help. What I am looking for is what I need to do for my own Categories in Content Library, I don’t use Smart Content or Metadata so backing it up and restoring it doesn’t interest me.

There is an advanced feature to try to help clean up installing over an existing directory. (As Chris mentioned earlier in the thread.)

I’ve just read through most of the thread again trying to find this, only one I found was to Advanced Filtering so far. I am not planning to install until I have everything downloaded (last on the list by size is Genesis Essentials, and the first I want to install) so I’ll continue looking.

 Signature 

Meg

Interested in Male Figures, Male clothes, Male Hair, Contemporary settings and vehicles

DS4.7Pro on W7 64bit laptop and desktop

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 04:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 628 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2006-08-24
3Ddreamer - 06 February 2013 04:26 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 12:48 PM

Thanks Adam, I think that would be my favoured option but is this specific to Content Library Categories - I couldn’t care less about Metadata, so do I need to backup the *dsx file and re-import metadata? I thought these instructions were for people with personalised metadata they wanted to keep.

They are.

That doesn’t help. What I am looking for is what I need to do for my own Categories in Content Library, I don’t use Smart Content or Metadata so backing it up and restoring it doesn’t interest me.

Easiest way I’m aware of is to treat these just like you would zips from other stores.  You could install everything via DIM to a dummy folder then rearrange as needed before copying into your existing runtime, or manually open up each zip one-at-a-time and copy its contents directly to where you need them.  The number of products/zips would really define which of the two is easier at a given time.

 Signature 

                                                                                                    “I fight for the Elves.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 629 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  254
Joined  2011-02-16

Thanks for that but that sort of defeats trying to use DIM for uninstalling. It is an option I’ve considered, but I don’t rearrange the install folders, I do all my sorting using categories in Content Library so they make sense to me, which is why I don’t want to have to recreate them. I back the database up with a batch file (Adamr’s I think) and my whole runtime to an external hard disk at the end of each day’s work, that is probably enough. I just wanted to make sure there is nothing else to protect things.

 Signature 

Meg

Interested in Male Figures, Male clothes, Male Hair, Contemporary settings and vehicles

DS4.7Pro on W7 64bit laptop and desktop

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 630 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1232
Joined  2004-08-24
VoltisArt - 06 February 2013 02:39 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 08:58 AM
Alisa Uh-Lisa - 05 February 2013 07:27 PM

I sure wouldn’t rely on this program at this point.  The most recent thing I got a few days ago was the Urban Shabby Chic product

This SHOULD have
  Boho Chic
  Urban Fashion Trend
  Urban Shabby Chic for V4

When I originally got the exe products, all were there. I just went to DIM and the only part of it that’s showing is Boho Chic.

That would be a bug, as those should all be there but for some reason the bundle is not entirely associated. Please report that to http://bugs.daz3d.com (Note that is a different log-in than the store. )

I went searching in the store and I only see the following products:

http://www.daz3d.com/boho-chic
http://www.daz3d.com/urban-shabby-chic

These are both single products (Boho requires Urban) and not super-new or old, so my first thoughts were probably wrong.  The latter’s title ends at “Chic” but the text says “...Chic for V4.”  Probably a rename of the base item.

If there was a bundle, it may have accidentally been removed from the store and downloads.  I’m thinking this may be more of a clerical issue than a problem with the program or the files it’s queuing.  Maybe the renaming of the base item messed up the bundle in the database?.

The second item is a bundle of sorts though not designated that way.  If you go back and read the product page from Urban Shabby Chic, you’ll see that it says “This product was previously available as 3 separate products: Urban Shabby Chic for V4, Urban Shabby Chic V4 Unimesh Fits, and Urban Fashion Trend.”  Apparently it also includes Boho Chic which isn’t listed in the description (and which as I mentioned above is the only file that DIM pulled up, not the other 3.  It’s a bit of a general mess in any case, as there are a number of issues with it.

I never got it when it initially came out so don’t know if it’s been renamed, as you say or has the same product number .  Either way, it doesn’t make sense -  if it just wasn’t being recognized as a bundle, then you’d think only the original product would be showing up in DIM.  Hopefully they can figure it all out…

As I mentioned, I got Urban Shabby Chic on Jan 31st and the normal downloads have exes for all four products from it.

 Signature 

Cheers,
Alisa

**********************************************************************
Post Count - just add 6775 to what it says here smile
**********************************************************************
Coordinator & updater for KCTC Freebies *Remembering France*

Profile
 
 
   
42 of 75
42