Digital Art Zone

 
   
40 of 75
40
Apparently the DAZ Install Manager is about ready
Posted: 06 February 2013 09:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 586 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  877
Joined  2007-10-17
DanaTA - 05 February 2013 09:56 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 05 February 2013 03:28 PM

At release we did not allow for an alternative installation path for the application because of a problem with allowing it on the Mac. We are, and have been, looking at ways to address this.

I imagine the DIM was written in C++.  I haven’t done anything in that since 1991, but I do know there is a library that has functions to determine what OS we’re running on.  From there, it’s a simple If…Else.  If Mac, restrict install drive, else offer a list of available drives for installation.  This should not have been an after thought, if it was known going in that Mac had restrictions.

Dana

It was not an afterthought. It is something we have been working on to give both Operating systems an equivalent experience.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 09:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 587 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1145
Joined  0

Just to be sure I understand the whole concept before I start d/l my files

I want to download and install my files in groups depending on what type they are:  V4, V5, Genesis,  Props, Environments, Characters etc and install to separate folders on an external h/d…so I understand the way to do this is to download to the default folder with subfolders to sort contents into character, poses, V4clothing/ M5 clothing, props, environments etc

but I want to install to an external h/d so would my install path be

D;/Daz Studio/Props
D:/Daz Studio/Environments
D;/Daz Studio/Genesis

or would it have to be the same name as default just changing drive letter

D:/Users/Public/Documents/My Daz 3D Library

and then unmap my current content library in DS 4.5

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 09:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 588 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  877
Joined  2007-10-17
Kharma - 06 February 2013 09:45 AM

Just to be sure I understand the whole concept before I start d/l my files

I want to download and install my files in groups depending on what type they are:  V4, V5, Genesis,  Props, Environments, Characters etc and install to separate folders on an external h/d…so I understand the way to do this is to download to the default folder with subfolders to sort contents into character, poses, V4clothing/ M5 clothing, props, environments etc

but I want to install to an external h/d so would my install path be

D;/Daz Studio/Props
D:/Daz Studio/Environments
D;/Daz Studio/Genesis

or would it have to be the same name as default just changing drive letter

D:/Users/Public/Documents/My Daz 3D Library

and then unmap my current content library in DS 4.5

 

Your paths will work just fine.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 09:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 589 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  296
Joined  2005-09-30
whispers65 - 05 February 2013 07:25 PM

>>>>I’ll tell you what I did just as an example.  I am keeping my D|S 3.1.2.32 with all my Gen 3 and Gen 4 stuff.  Basically, that’s everything that is installed to C:\DAZ\Studio\Content.  Then I also kept my D|S Pro 4.5.1.56 but I unmapped all my existing directories, including my Content directory, My Library as well as my Poser directories. Instead, I mapped my new C:\User\Public….. path.  Then,  I exported the user data I had installed via the DIM up to that point which was only the Genesis Starter Essential files.  Then I reset the dabase, thereby wiping out all content.  I closed D|S 4.5, opened it again, and re-imported my user data.  From here on, I plan to install about 10 different items each time and categorize anew as I go along and only concentrate on Gen5 content.  I ‘m sure i will installi the Gen3 & 4 content into the C:\User\Public path as it becomes available and eliminate the old D|S 3 at some point.

 

Sounds like a great plan to me!  I don’t have DS 3 any more.  It kind of went out the door when my last computer was stolen so I only have Daz 4.5 installed and about 1/2 of the original stuff.  And with the mood I’m in tonight I’m find with leaving everything installed the way it is and just switch over to the new C:\User\Public…folder.  I think I will create a new place for all of the non-Daz stuff though to help keep it straight.  I don’t think that will mess anything up or at least I hope not.  Like you, I’m concentrating mainly on Gen5 stuff.  I haven’t used the other figures in a while.  I haven’t started Categorizing anything up to this point.  I really need to though because I spend more time searching, trying to remember how it was installed then it takes to render a pic.  LOL.

For sure - categories are a life saver.  Couldn’t live without them!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 590 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1145
Joined  0
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 09:50 AM
Kharma - 06 February 2013 09:45 AM

Just to be sure I understand the whole concept before I start d/l my files

I want to download and install my files in groups depending on what type they are:  V4, V5, Genesis,  Props, Environments, Characters etc and install to separate folders on an external h/d…so I understand the way to do this is to download to the default folder with subfolders to sort contents into character, poses, V4clothing/ M5 clothing, props, environments etc

but I want to install to an external h/d so would my install path be

D;/Daz Studio/Props
D:/Daz Studio/Environments
D;/Daz Studio/Genesis

or would it have to be the same name as default just changing drive letter

D:/Users/Public/Documents/My Daz 3D Library

and then unmap my current content library in DS 4.5

 

Your paths will work just fine.

Sounds Awesome! smile
I assume I wouldn’t even have to put the Daz Studio into the directory name, just use D:/Props etc

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 10:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 591 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  877
Joined  2007-10-17
adamr001 - 06 February 2013 07:48 AM
3Ddreamer - 06 February 2013 06:58 AM

Jury is still out on if I use it to install, and where too.
My IT-brain says clean install is good, but my Artist-heart weeps at the thought of the wasted weekends re-categorising Content Library again when I should be creating pictures.
. Clean install - lose categories
. Overwrite - wont tidy up older copies
. Copy from Clean to Original, DIM can’t uninstall
. Manual install as usual, have to keep downloads on pc so DIM will tell me about updates, using space.

Anyone any suggestions? (I’m at work so it will be hours before I can check back)

No need to lose your custom categories on a clean install. 

1. Export your userdata before you start installing with DIM. (Content Library > Context Menu > Content DB Maintenance > Export User Data).
2. Backup User_Data.dsx files from your primary (first listed) DAZ Native content directory.  They will be found in the ~runtime\support directory.
3. Reset your Content Database (Content Library > Context Menu > Content DB Maintenance > Reset Database)
4. Close DS.
5. Install with DIM *over* existing content directories. (This leaves your content from other stores in place).
6. Restart DS.
7. Re-import User Data (Content Library > Context Menu > Content DB Maintenance > Re-import Metadata > Make sure UserData is checked).
8. That should do the trick, although you may find you have two versions of some items on next scan.  This will require manual cleanup as this is most likely caused by the location of something changing between the old installer version and the new DIM version.


In the end this is less work than recategorizing everything and/or reinstalling everything from other stores.  IMO anyway. smile

Note that Userdata is based on relative paths, so even if you switch to an entirely new directory, userdata will still work correctly.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 10:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 592 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4033
Joined  2004-08-11

Question

So if I were to rename “My Library” to “Content” and pointed the DIM to that directory it would then overwrite all the stuff it found in the data and runtime:textures folder and then if I were to go in through DAZ Studio and move one folder at a time over to the Clothing:!Genesis Male and Clothing:!Genesis Female folders would it overwrite but retain the meta data info as discussed?  I’m just trying to figure out a way to not have two whole libraries since the old “My Library” has SO much in it already and being THAT established perhaps it’s best to just try to keep that going.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

RAMWorks Freebies

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 593 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  877
Joined  2007-10-17
RAMWolff - 06 February 2013 10:40 AM

Question

So if I were to rename “My Library” to “Content” and pointed the DIM to that directory it would then overwrite all the stuff it found in the data and runtime:textures folder and then if I were to go in through DAZ Studio and move one folder at a time over to the Clothing:!Genesis Male and Clothing:!Genesis Female folders would it overwrite but retain the meta data info as discussed?  I’m just trying to figure out a way to not have two whole libraries since the old “My Library” has SO much in it already and being THAT established perhaps it’s best to just try to keep that going.

The name of your Content Directory makes no difference whatsoever.

As for the rest of it. Possibly, and probably. Remember the more manual work you do the more manual work you are going to keep having to do.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 594 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  253
Joined  2008-04-09

I’m going to give the Install Manager a try, but I have a question - what if I already have the installer for a product?  I routinely keep all of the installers I download (the latest versions, anyway), so I don’t have to re-download them if I need to re-install something.

Is there some way of pointing the IM to the existing installers?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 595 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7170
Joined  2006-03-19

If you want Install Manager to manage/update your packs automatically then you will need to download the new one.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 596 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1237
Joined  2004-08-24
DAZ_Spooky - 06 February 2013 08:58 AM
Alisa Uh-Lisa - 05 February 2013 07:27 PM

I sure wouldn’t rely on this program at this point.  The most recent thing I got a few days ago was the Urban Shabby Chic product

This SHOULD have
  Boho Chic
  Urban Fashion Trend
  Urban Shabby Chic for V4

When I originally got the exe products, all were there. I just went to DIM and the only part of it that’s showing is Boho Chic.

That would be a bug, as those should all be there but for some reason the bundle is not entirely associated. Please report that to http://bugs.daz3d.com (Note that is a different log-in than the store. )

Will do.  Hopefully I did the right thing and added to another already reported bug on the same type of issue.
0049111: Bundle items not showing in Install manager

I do see that the only response to these types of reports, by the way, is “not everything has been added yet”.

And I missed a part of this that isn’t in the DIM - Urban Shabby Chic Unimesh fits
Even weirder, the only item showing in DIM (Boho Chic) isn’t even listed as being part of the Urban Chic product..

 Signature 

Cheers,
Alisa

**********************************************************************
Post Count - just add 6775 to what it says here smile
**********************************************************************
Coordinator & updater for KCTC Freebies *Remembering France*

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 597 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  253
Joined  2008-04-09

Is there some way to point the install manager to pre-existing installers?  I’ve kept all of the installers for my DAZ purchases, and I don’t want to have to re-download them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 598 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1047
Joined  2010-09-19

not that i can see

 Signature 

My deviantART page
My ShareCG freebies
Some of my music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 599 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7170
Joined  2006-03-19

Threads have been merged

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 11:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 600 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  877
Joined  2007-10-17
nightwolf1982 - 06 February 2013 11:37 AM

Is there some way to point the install manager to pre-existing installers?  I’ve kept all of the installers for my DAZ purchases, and I don’t want to have to re-download them.

Nope, Sorry.

Profile
 
 
   
40 of 75
40