Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 75
3
Apparently the DAZ Install Manager is about ready
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  665
Joined  2006-11-10
Frank0314 - 01 February 2013 05:16 PM

I downloaded and install just over 600 packs in a matter of an hour, hour and a half

Do they wind up categorized usably? I can’t see the videos atm due to a shoddy connection.

 Signature 

Old post count: 3,394,206

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2005-02-27
Frank0314 - 01 February 2013 05:16 PM

I downloaded and install just over 600 packs in a matter of an hour, hour and a half

It would be more like a week and a half for me with my download speeds. Not that I’d even get that far, I’d hit my bandwith limit way before then.

So I guess this is just for those with superfast unlimited bandwith internet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14035
Joined  2003-10-09
DAZ_Spooky - 01 February 2013 04:58 PM

You will not need to reset your order history, the software handles that for you.

Is there an option to limit how much it grabs? I dn’t know about the US, but in many parts of the world there are caps on monthly bandwidth with punitive top-up fees for going over (and soem of us have big histories).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2012-01-29
DaWaterRat - 01 February 2013 05:17 PM

And not just the Damn videos.  I can’t stand video tutorials, and if that’s all the explanation you’re giving, then you may as well be giving none, because I won’t go watch them.

I agree with this. I prefer written manuals. Videos are not much help for me.

Those video tutorials might be very informative but not everyone can learn from videos as easily as from written word. Also, they take AGES to watch (while a written text can be read through in a short time) and when you want to return to some specific information and don´t remember the exact part of the video in which to look, you have to watch the whole video again (while in written text you can just hit Ctrl+F). Plus it is very problematic (at least for me) to work with a program and follow a video tutorial for this program at the same time, while a text I can just print out and have it in front of me - so the text is easy to follow and I don´t have to swith there and back or replay the video. Etc. etc….

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2007-09-10

Maybe I missed it while skimming thru the three pages of comments, but where and when can we download the DIM?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2012-01-29
Xfitz - 01 February 2013 05:52 PM

Maybe I missed it while skimming thru the three pages of comments, but where and when can we download the DIM?

Nowhere, it is not available yet. But it should be soon (not “DAZ soon”). I just got a newsletter in which it is stated that PC members will be contacted about it next week.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2829
Joined  2006-07-31

Is this a thread to ask questions about DIM? I have a couple.

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2012-01-29
Kattey - 01 February 2013 05:59 PM

Is this a thread to ask questions about DIM? I have a couple.

Apparently it is.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2829
Joined  2006-07-31

Thanks!

Questions I have

1) Will DIM be mandatory? I.e. can I install my stuff old way, through download and manual installation routine?

2) I’ve noticed somebody mentioned cloud system. What role it will play if any?

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2704
Joined  2010-11-30

And another question:

I have both Studio 3 and Studio 4 installed. (Studio 3 runs much faster than Studio 4.)  How will DIM affect my Studio 3 “content” directory?

 Signature 

Rob Kelk (a.k.a. “the guy with all those freebie lists”)

Come take part in the Freebie Challenge, or the RRRR, or any of the other contests. I think Jaderail would have wanted that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2704
Joined  2010-11-30
Richard Haseltine - 01 February 2013 05:34 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 01 February 2013 04:58 PM

You will not need to reset your order history, the software handles that for you.

Is there an option to limit how much it grabs? I dn’t know about the US, but in many parts of the world there are caps on monthly bandwidth with punitive top-up fees for going over (and soem of us have big histories).

We have those in Canada - if this is going to take more than 5GB to implement, then it’s a non-starter for many of us. (I’m lucky in that my ceiling is 200GB… but that includes all those videos that DAZ3D gives is in lieu of a real manual.)

 

 Signature 

Rob Kelk (a.k.a. “the guy with all those freebie lists”)

Come take part in the Freebie Challenge, or the RRRR, or any of the other contests. I think Jaderail would have wanted that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  538
Joined  2011-04-12
DAZ_Spooky - 01 February 2013 04:30 PM

I decided to ignore most of the tools and simply uninstalled everything, then re-installed everything to the correct places. It took less than 3 hours (Your mileage may vary.) and I wasn’t tied to the computer while it worked.

Some of us aren’t so lucky.  Given my connection speed and the size of my content directories, redownloading everything would take me over a hundred hours if I weren’t doing anything else online at the time.  And given the nature of my connection, those hours would not all be consecutive.  I’d estimate that it would probably take me a month or more to complete the job.

 Signature 

Not interested in the giant leap backwards that is “Genesis 2”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2829
Joined  2006-07-31
robkelk - 01 February 2013 06:27 PM
Richard Haseltine - 01 February 2013 05:34 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 01 February 2013 04:58 PM

You will not need to reset your order history, the software handles that for you.

Is there an option to limit how much it grabs? I dn’t know about the US, but in many parts of the world there are caps on monthly bandwidth with punitive top-up fees for going over (and soem of us have big histories).

We have those in Canada - if this is going to take more than 5GB to implement, then it’s a non-starter for many of us. (I’m lucky in that my ceiling is 200GB… but that includes all those videos that DAZ3D gives is in lieu of a real manual.)

Wow, my ceiling is only 80Gb/month :/
Which provider you have?

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2704
Joined  2010-11-30
Kattey - 01 February 2013 06:28 PM
robkelk - 01 February 2013 06:27 PM
Richard Haseltine - 01 February 2013 05:34 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 01 February 2013 04:58 PM

You will not need to reset your order history, the software handles that for you.

Is there an option to limit how much it grabs? I dn’t know about the US, but in many parts of the world there are caps on monthly bandwidth with punitive top-up fees for going over (and soem of us have big histories).

We have those in Canada - if this is going to take more than 5GB to implement, then it’s a non-starter for many of us. (I’m lucky in that my ceiling is 200GB… but that includes all those videos that DAZ3D gives is in lieu of a real manual.)

Wow, my ceiling is only 80Gb/month :/
Which provider you have?

National Capital Freenet, only available in Ottawa. But there may be a Freenet near you…

 Signature 

Rob Kelk (a.k.a. “the guy with all those freebie lists”)

Come take part in the Freebie Challenge, or the RRRR, or any of the other contests. I think Jaderail would have wanted that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 06:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2361
Joined  2003-12-06
adamr001 - 01 February 2013 04:09 PM

Anything NOT downloaded by the Install Manager will be required to be RE-downloaded if you want the Install Manager to manage things.  However, it will happily install over existing installs and ignore (not change) any custom categorization/metadata.

IF you’ve moved things around inside of their relative paths (e.g., moved an item from “pose/bob” to “pose/joe”), it’ll just install it in the original path and you’ll end up with duplicates.

These two statements, taken together, mean the lovely shiny new Install Manager will be absolutely useless to me.

I have bought a huge amount of DAZ content — I have to re-download all of that just to get the Manager to deign to acknowledge its existence?

I have re-organised almost all of my installed content, partly due to shoddy/inconsistent/incomprehensible folder naming back in the early days, partly due to grouping all the scattered-hither-and-yon Poser folders of an average product into one. I know where to find everything. If I let the Manager have its way, I’ll never be able to find anything again.

Sorry, DAZ, I suspected this way back when it was first discussed, but now I know using the Install Manager would be a waste of time for me, and seriously mess up my installed content. It would be great for someone just starting out, but for us long-time users who have a heavily customised content library/Runtime, there’s a very good chance it will be useless or worse.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 75
3