Digital Art Zone

 
   
10 of 75
10
Apparently the DAZ Install Manager is about ready
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 136 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  235
Joined  2005-09-03

“....Are there any features added in the DIM that will help users who actively used the metadata / CMS to organize their runtime to make sure all the work done before is not lost by reinstalling content?...”

You can export your User configured Metadata…..and when you re-import tell it to over-ride the Product’s MD.  I do it all the time when I mess with my database alot.  (I create MD for all my “non-DAZ” purchased content as well.)

I have a full Toon section totally seperated from all my other MD.  Works like a charm.  smile

 Signature 

Kat
_______________________________________
My Digital Art Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 137 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2005-04-05
DAZ_Spooky - 02 February 2013 11:55 AM
Sunfire - 02 February 2013 11:43 AM

Hmm… There is one thing I haven’t seen mention of, so I am going to assume that it won’t really work with it and that is Poser.

Am I right in assuming that Poser, and Poser users who buy content here, was not taken into account when the DIM was made and the new default location was set up so for those who use Poser it really won’t change anything and would in fact be easier just to download the zips on their own without the manager?

No, you are not right in making that assumption. smile

So then how does that work if the default location is designed for Daz Studio, and it is best to install in the default location and the default location for Poser is considerably different?

You say we can change the default location, can we also change the default install from DS install to Poser?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 138 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
Sunfire - 02 February 2013 12:19 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 02 February 2013 11:55 AM
Sunfire - 02 February 2013 11:43 AM

Hmm… There is one thing I haven’t seen mention of, so I am going to assume that it won’t really work with it and that is Poser.

Am I right in assuming that Poser, and Poser users who buy content here, was not taken into account when the DIM was made and the new default location was set up so for those who use Poser it really won’t change anything and would in fact be easier just to download the zips on their own without the manager?

No, you are not right in making that assumption. smile

So then how does that work if the default location is designed for Daz Studio, and it is best to install in the default location and the default location for Poser is considerably different?

You say we can change the default location, can we also change the default install from DS install to Poser?

I never said it was best to install to the default location.  I said the new default location better matches the EULA., but it is just a default location, and if that location does not suit you, you can set it to something else. We have to choose a default location to tell the software to install somewhere, if you don’t tell it where to install.

As for telling it what to install, smile we set it up much better than that.  LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 139 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2882
Joined  2006-07-31

If I would be doing press release for DIM, I’d start with a phrase “DIM isn’t mandatory. You can download and install your files manually just like before, the only thing affected is a default folder of installation and you can change it for what you like, no problems.”

Once that is clear I’d add “Now, why not try that shiny new toy and see what sort of handy things it does? Look, there is a list of features: ... ” smile

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 140 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2011-03-26
Digital Lite Design - 02 February 2013 12:08 PM

You can export your User configured Metadata…..and when you re-import tell it to over-ride the Product’s MD.  I do it all the time when I mess with my database alot.  (I create MD for all my “non-DAZ” purchased content as well.)

Digital Lite Design, thank you for chiming in.

I am aware of the “User Data”. But I strongly feel that this is only an option for users who do not actively create metadata “Products” and save them out to runtime/support.

For “casual” users the “User Data” is a way to retain some small adjustments.

Example:
You have a chainmail shirt that was categorized as “armor”
The user feels that he also wants to find it in the category “shirt” and “outerwear/tops” and adds checkmarks in those categories as well.

For small adjustments like that the “User Data” is very useful for users who do not want to be bothered with all the details of metadata creation.

- - -

But if you make advanced adjustment to “Products” by using the Product Library / Content DB Editor” and set up File Types, Tags, Compatibility Bases and Scene IDs you will want to have that work saved out as .dsx files to runtime/support

The .dsx files are a product specific backup of all adjustments you have done to a “Product”.

In contrast the User Data is a collection of ALL adjustments the User made that are NOT saved to /runtime/support but to a separate User Database in

C:\ProgramData\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases

What is needed are easier ways to import and export the Product .dsx files

- Batch exporting of all Product .dsx files from “Content DB Maintenance - export metadata”
- a Search field to enter product names and Ids in “Content DB Maintenance - import metadata”
- The import queue of metadata at start up has to be “fixed” so no metadata is skipped when importing long queues.

I was hoping to find some of those features done with the DIM.
You can find a longer version how I come up with the need for those features in the other thread.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/16099/#235916

Guess at this point I can only wait until the release find out myself what is covered by the DIM, if any of it.

Update / Edit:

I am aware that I am now specualating about features that may or may not be included.

But what else is to be expected when new videos and a newsletter create exceitment right before the weekend?
A lot of questions are raised. All customers can do is raise questions in the forum and then wait around again for the release.

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 141 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  549
Joined  2007-02-16

I have a non-complaining related question that I hope can be answered LoL

Does the program report file sizes BEFORE attempting any kind of download?  This is a very very very much needed feature for those of us on dialup, especially with daily or monthly time limits and most especially if the resume support really wasn’t included. I can’t spend hours waiting on a download to finish only to find out it’s going to run past my 8 hour session limit and then have 8 hours of my 250 monthly hours wasted when I could have used it for something else -_-  Please tell me there are size listings :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 142 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
atryeu - 02 February 2013 12:39 PM

I have a non-complaining related question that I hope can be answered LoL

Does the program report file sizes BEFORE attempting any kind of download?

Yes

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 143 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2882
Joined  2006-07-31
DAZ_Spooky - 02 February 2013 12:43 PM
atryeu - 02 February 2013 12:39 PM

I have a non-complaining related question that I hope can be answered LoL

Does the program report file sizes BEFORE attempting any kind of download?

Yes

This is actually a very handy feature

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 144 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  270
Joined  2012-02-12

I think my question may have gotten lost in the discussion. smile

When a product is installed, will DIM automatically open up the readme in a web browser? (Or is there a user setting option that will allow us to have that automatically happen?)

Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 145 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  549
Joined  2007-02-16
DAZ_Spooky - 02 February 2013 12:43 PM
atryeu - 02 February 2013 12:39 PM

I have a non-complaining related question that I hope can be answered LoL

Does the program report file sizes BEFORE attempting any kind of download?

Yes

Thank you for such a fast reply.  That’s something I guess.    One more question as well, while on the topic of this.

Originally it was said that the program would only download the updated files for a product that was updated and we could select 1 thing at a time to download. Is this the case still, or for an updated product will we need to download the entire zip again instead of just the selected updated parts of the file?

Thank you again.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 146 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
sikeus - 02 February 2013 12:51 PM

I think my question may have gotten lost in the discussion. smile

When a product is installed, will DIM automatically open up the readme in a web browser? (Or is there a user setting option that will allow us to have that automatically happen?)

Thanks.

It is easier than that. Just click on a button, before after, or during download and/or install.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 12:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 147 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
atryeu - 02 February 2013 12:52 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 02 February 2013 12:43 PM
atryeu - 02 February 2013 12:39 PM

I have a non-complaining related question that I hope can be answered LoL

Does the program report file sizes BEFORE attempting any kind of download?

Yes

Thank you for such a fast reply.  That’s something I guess.    One more question as well, while on the topic of this.

Originally it was said that the program would only download the updated files for a product that was updated and we could select 1 thing at a time to download. Is this the case still, or for an updated product will we need to download the entire zip again instead of just the selected updated parts of the file?

Thank you again.

Product, not pieces of a product.  (I would hate to think what the server overhead on that one would be, especially keeping track of who needed what part of what product.)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 148 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  235
Joined  2005-09-03
linvanchene - 02 February 2013 12:31 PM
Digital Lite Design - 02 February 2013 12:08 PM

You can export your User configured Metadata…..and when you re-import tell it to over-ride the Product’s MD.  I do it all the time when I mess with my database alot.  (I create MD for all my “non-DAZ” purchased content as well.)

Digital Lite Design, thank you for chiming in.

I am aware of the “User Data”. But I strongly feel that this is only an option for users who do not actively create metadata “Products” and save them out to runtime/support.

For “casual” users the “User Data” is a way to retain some small adjustments.

Example:
You have a chainmail shirt that was categorized as “armor”
The user feels that he also wants to find it in the category “shirt” and “outerwear/tops” and adds checkmarks in those categories as well.

For small adjustments like that the “User Data” is very useful for users who do not want to be bothered with all the details of metadata creation.

- - -

But if you make advanced adjustment to “Products” by using the Product Library / Content DB Editor” and set up File Types, Tags, Compatibility Bases and Scene IDs you will want to have that work saved out as .dsx files to runtime/support

The .dsx files are a product specific backup of all adjustments you have done to a “Product”.

In contrast the User Data is a collection of ALL adjustments the User made that are NOT saved to /runtime/support but to a separate User Database in

C:\ProgramData\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases

What is needed are easier ways to import and export the Product .dsx files

- Batch exporting of all Product .dsx files from “Content DB Maintenance - export metadata”
- a Search field to enter product names and Ids in “Content DB Maintenance - import metadata”
- The import queue of metadata at start up has to be “fixed” so no metadata is skipped when importing long queues.

I was hoping to find some of those features done with the DIM.
You can find a longer version how I come up with the need for those features in the other thread.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/16099/#235916

Guess at this point I can only wait until the release find out myself what is covered by the DIM, if any of it.

smile  Not necessarily.  I have been doing Metadata since the beginning.  I have done A LOT of metadata. LOL While I save out a weekly copy of my Support folder (zipped) I also save out the User Data and allow it to do it’s job.  It saves me when I have forgotten to actually save out a product’s Support files.  Which with the amount I do, is often. 

Metadata is a part of DAZ Studio, and from what the Videos say, DIM is a stand alone product meant to install, track and manage product files for just that purpose.  Downloading and installing.  I wouldn’t expect it to also be a management tool for Metadata, as that has it’s own tools that do the job they are supposed to.  Integration of multiple tools can be good, but they can also be a nightmare.

The forums have yelled for years about an easy way to install products.  Looks like we may be getting just what we asked for.  I’d hope it does just that.

 Signature 

Kat
_______________________________________
My Digital Art Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 01:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 149 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2011-03-26
Digital Lite Design - 02 February 2013 01:07 PM

Metadata is a part of DAZ Studio, and from what the Videos say, DIM is a stand alone product meant to install, track and manage product files for just that purpose.  Downloading and installing.  I wouldn’t expect it to also be a management tool for Metadata, as that has it’s own tools that do the job they are supposed to.  Integration of multiple tools can be good, but they can also be a nightmare.

The forums have yelled for years about an easy way to install products.  Looks like we may be getting just what we asked for.  I’d hope it does just that.

Digital Lite Design, thank you for your patience. It seems, I got off track there somewhat with my speculation.
As soon as everything is set up for the DIM to be working I guess it will do exactly what it was intended to do.

What got me worried is just the things I have to do before the DIM can work as intended.
Anyway guess there is really no point in speculating around anymore.

I will have to wait and see what the DIM does.

Then it will become clear if the quick solution of “User Data” will prevent me of mass exporting and importing .dsx files.

 

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2013 01:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 150 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  277
Joined  2005-09-30

Will there be a nice Help document with step-by-step instructions for the various install scenarios included in the purchase of the new DIM?

Profile
 
 
   
10 of 75
10