Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 11
5
@ DAZ install manager: Why was there a need to create a new “public” default installation location?
Posted: 07 February 2013 11:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06
Stefan47525 - 07 February 2013 07:57 AM
fixmypcmike - 07 February 2013 07:16 AM

No, the content is the same for Mac and PC, there were 2 versions before because the installers are platform specific.  The zip doesn’t need to be different for the 2 platforms.

Nice! Imagine a sigh of relief here. smile

fixmypcmike - 07 February 2013 07:16 AM

And yes, you CAN tell IM exactly what programs you use, and you’ll receive just the downloads intended for that system (if there are multiple versions—in some cases there is only one version for all programs.

Sounds also nice downloadwise. But what I really wanted to know is, if a download contains DS and Poser related stuff, will it install only the things I need or will it be like in the past that it will install everything inside?

For example, I got the Victoria 4 figure when it was still available for free. When I installed the package I had some files twice, .pzs’s for Poser and .dsb’s for DS for the same poses and skin textures. As a DS user I don’t need the .pz2’s, all they do is causing confusion in the Content Tab for a newbie I was (and still am :)) and wasting drivespace.

Will I be able to tell DIM that it shall only install the DS files and leave the Poser ones alone if a download contains both formats?
That would be a clever DIM I’d get on my system without second thought. smile

No, right now it installs everything in the .zip, so if the .zip hasn’t been split down to that level, IM doesn’t know which files are truly needed.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 05:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  52
Joined  2003-12-02

What about content outside of DAZ?  They don’t all have installers like DAZ does so how is that affected?  Do you just put them in the new location?

 Signature 

Resistance to the Girl is Futile…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13438
Joined  2003-10-09

Content from other stores or freebies will need to be installed manually or using a third-party tool, as before.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 11:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  337
Joined  2004-03-03

WTF?

1 Have just installed the InstallManager, and it’s put folders with .ini files and whatnot in my Public/Documents without asking. Nor can I see any waywithin the installer to change that. That is seriously NOT cool. I have and want NOTHING in my Public/ folders, and no program should force itself in there. This is monstrous behaviour: completely unnacceptable. Those .ini files should be in an AppData, and NO program shoudl insist on being having folders and files in a location like that. But it appears the only way i could move it is with hacking the .ini files in a text editor and maybe the Registry, but that would then screw up updating the software. This is not not not NOT acceptable at all.

Is this going to be changed before the final release? If yes, I’ll uninstall now and wait for the version that installs itself in an acceptable way. If no, then I’ll forget all about using this program ever right now.

2 I am NOT going to use the supplied default location to install content to, for one thing because it is again in Public, and I have and allow nothing there. I see that I can change the location, but ...

WHY am I not supposed to carry on using my current DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library? I already have several runtimes of Poser content, a Studio 2/Content and a Studio 3/Content alongside Studio/My Library. That’s quite enough, as well as being heavily organized (and I don’t use the content manager or the Smart Content tab). I simplyu do not want yet another library folder. But in the docs and the vids about the InstallManager it keeps saying ‘we strongly advise you not to use a current library’. There’s even that ridiculous video on using tthe Installmanager with existing content where he goes through showing you how to change the install location to the previous My Library, but on the last dialogue in the process then just says ‘but you shouldn’t use that’ and cancels with no further explanation.  If there;s a good reason not to it should be explained; and if it’s a good reason, why make a video showing how to do it but just end saying you shouldn’t with no explanation. Quite ridiculous.

So, again - WHY should one not use it with the existing Ds 4/4.5 My Library as the install location? What , precisely is the drawback?

3 And as for uninstalling hundreds and hundreds of DAZ products bought and installed over 8 or nine years, most installed without uninstallers, and many customized in both location and content since install ... you have to be joking.

But I suppose the cosh held over the head by DAZ is that this is the only solution that’s going to be offered the the appalling current problems over the display of the account item list on the site with it being unsearchable and with no indication of updates to products even though all the .dsf/.duf content seems to have been updating at least twice a month since DS4.5 came out. The whole situation is ridiculous: as ridiculous as a website change that was at least two whole orders of magnitude more screwed up than any other I have ever seen, and even after a whole year still hasn’t managed the rather simple thing of HAVING THE EXPIRY DATE OF SALES ON PRODUCTS SHOWN ON THE PRODUCT PAGES IN THE STORE.

You know, I’va had the distinct impression over the last two years that nobody amongst the actual decision makers at DAZ is also a user of their products - and certainly not someone who has been a user, assembling several hundred gigs of content from a variety of sources, over several years. Or they just wouldn’t have been treating existing users the way they have. Either that, or they have been having a competition amongst themselves as to who could come up with the idea or method that would drive away the biggest number of existing customers.

Now, again:

1 Will the program be changed before public (non-beta) release to allow the user to select where it will put its own folders and files rather than insisiting on Pubic/Documents?

2 WHY is it not a good idea to install to a pre-exisiting DS4/4.5 My Library? What would be the consequences of doing so?

It’s funny how, with all the prescription medicine I’m on, I spend most of my time drifting numbly, and out of everything in the world, only DAZ manages to make me incandescently angry ... repeatedly.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2006-06-18

1. Now I am confused.  I downloaded some of the free products offered yesterday to see what would happen.  Some of them appeared in the installer.  Some did not.  In particular the following did not:

Millennium Big Cat LE
Millennium Horse LE
Anime Star Fighter

For Anime Star Fighter the following were added to my available downloads (now My Downloadable Products):

A3 Base
Mech Girl A3
Mitusi Hair
Stinger

None of them appeared.  In addition, these Anime Star Fighter related ones are old products that have been offered many times.  I probably have them installed somewhere else.  I did not recall anything with the name Anime Star Fighter, though.  It appears you have to uninstall previously downloaded products, before reinstalling them with DIM.  Given my stuff is installed in several places and the uninstallers have been put in several places, how do you manage old stuff easily.

Importantly, how do you know what will work and what not.  When DIM would be most useful is when you get a large bundle that often includes old products.  DIM loses much of its attraction if you have to go back manually and check each and every available download for whether it worked or not.  And also there is the problem of whether something was downloaded before.

Does this mean DIM will never be able to manage some of the older content?

2. In addition, this morning I have an additional available download in DIM, Basicwear Unimesh fits. (The above was all done yesterday.).  I have no idea what that is associated with.  I may or may not have already installed it.  I have several Basicwear things.  I don’t see it in the available downloads either.

Can someone explain what is happening and what you have to know to use DIM blindly.

3. In addition I still have the question about what to do with Genesis Starter Essentials and about the errors in the log.  See my previous posts for more information.

Thanks.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2004-12-23

I had the same issue. Several of the free items did not appear in the download manager even though they showed up on the download page.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 12:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7486
Joined  2006-03-19

Not everything is converted yet. Just be be sure make sure you have all the boxes checked off on your filtering. If you don’t have them all checked off some of your downloads will be hidden

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

@DavidGB:

1.  Use a directory junction to redirect the folder anywhere you’d like it.  There were O/S limitations (on the Mac) that kept some of that stuff from being customizable.
2.  Install anywhere you please.  There’s nothing forcing you to use the default directory.
3.  It took me all of overnight to reinstall nearly 4000 items (almost my entire DAZ history) and it was done unattended.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 12:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2006-06-18
adamr001 - 08 February 2013 12:34 PM

@DavidGB:
3.  It took me all of overnight to reinstall nearly 4000 items (almost my entire DAZ history) and it was done unattended.

So what happened with the ones not converted yet?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 12:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

I’m waiting for them to appear in the DIM.  There have been several so far today, including two that were updates.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 12:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7486
Joined  2006-03-19
Kenneth Evans - 08 February 2013 12:49 PM
adamr001 - 08 February 2013 12:34 PM

@DavidGB:
3.  It took me all of overnight to reinstall nearly 4000 items (almost my entire DAZ history) and it was done unattended.

So what happened with the ones not converted yet?

When they are available they will automatically show up in your downloads section of DIM

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 01:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2006-06-18
Frank0314 - 08 February 2013 12:53 PM
Kenneth Evans - 08 February 2013 12:49 PM
adamr001 - 08 February 2013 12:34 PM

@DavidGB:
3.  It took me all of overnight to reinstall nearly 4000 items (almost my entire DAZ history) and it was done unattended.

So what happened with the ones not converted yet?

When they are available they will automatically show up in your downloads section of DIM

So even if some get lost, this seems like a desirable thing to do.  How did you go about it?  Uinstalling like in the video would be extremely time consuming.  It seems like you could just start from scratch, do what you did, then remove all your old directories from the content manager and add the new one.  I assume you didn’t have trouble with Genesis Starter Essentials and that things still basically work?  (Though I assume you haven’t checked all 4000 products wink )

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 02:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

If all your items are in one runtime it’s easy.  Point and go.  You may end up with a few duplicates (I did and I cleaned them up manually by comparing file dates).

If you’ve got multiple runtimes, well, that’s a little harder but still doable.  In that scenario:
Download everything but do not have it automatically install.
Select by using the filter feature, large groups of matching contents.  E.g., Filter for “Hair” if you have a hair runtime.  Batch install all hair at once.  Filter for “V4” or “Victoria 4” etc.

It’s not as fast as the single runtime re-install (which is what I did on my Mac), but it works.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 06:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  36
Joined  2006-09-04

What exactly means re-installing all content? Does it make a copy of my existing runtime or does it need the installers?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2013 09:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

In order for the DAZ Install Manager to *know* you’ve installed something *AND* where that install is, it needs to re-preform the installation.  Since the format it understands requires the new ZIP file layout, it also has to be redownloaded.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 11
5