Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 11
1
@ DAZ install manager: Why was there a need to create a new “public” default installation location?
Posted: 01 February 2013 01:29 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

An easy one to answer…the content used to be installed ‘system wide’.  With Vista, the preferred location became the user’s individual profile.  Of course, you could by using a custom install put it in the Public (All users) profile.  The content license is pretty much a ‘site’ license.  All this does is restore the old behavior of installing the content system wide.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

It is Windows that forced the change.  With Vista, they changed the default behavior of almost 20 yrs (18).  (Actually almost 25 yrs if you go back to DOS.)

But the content is licensed for the system, so it actually makes sense to, as a default, install it system wide…which is the way it used to be.  And no it isn’t really ‘public’.  The Public profile in Windows is the old ‘All Users’ profile.  It is still ‘local’ and under the full restrictions of the machine.  That was one of my big complaints about DS4…the license and the default install behavior did not agree.  Using the ‘Public’/‘All Users’ profile should have been done from the start., as that’s the proper location for installing something system wide.

And I suspect that there is also a practical side to this…UAE, security software, account restrictions and what not are probably easier to deal with using a default of the ‘All Users’ than individual user accounts.

And no, the content is NOT completely tied to a path.  A properly written dsf/duf file uses relative paths that use the default library locations as provided by DS itself as the ‘starting point’.  So, if the default path changes, then it’s no problem, as long as the content within that doesn’t change…so moving from My Library to My DAZ3d Library doesn’t really matter as long as what is within the two is still the same after the change and DS is aware of it.  There are more problems WITH hard coded paths than there are with files that have changed ‘default library’ locations.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2012-04-12

Where do we find this “Install Manager?”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17

First: That is the default path, and as stated by mjc1016, better agrees with the EULA.
Second: While it is the default path, there is no requirement to use the default path, if for some reason that path does not suit.
Third: If a item of content is using absolute paths, it is broken, and needs to be reported in the bug tracker. All Content should be using relative paths.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 03:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
Russ Sprouse - 01 February 2013 03:51 PM

Where do we find this “Install Manager?”

You still have to wait until it is actually released. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

Thanks Spooky smile

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15810
Joined  2003-10-09

DAZ has always permitted members of a household to share content - you don’t need a separate license for each family member who does 3D, at least as long as they are living at home.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  157
Joined  2009-06-17

When is this Install Manager coming out?  Anyone know?

I just got an email about PC members getting the DIM soon,  but I am no longer a PC member. 

When do the rest of us get this DIM? 

I may not be a PC member any more, but I did BUY DS4 Pro… 

I’ve been waiting for this to install DS4 on my new hard drive!!

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1950
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,
Wait…the video about ‘integrate Install Manager with existing content installations? (MAC)’ doesn’t…actually…address the elephant in the room, which is whether it will work to point the install manager to the CURRENT directory that stuff is installed in.

Instead he cancels out of the process at that point, leaving me…unsure if it’d work, or if it’s not valid at all.

See, I’m not like some who have TB of stuff, but I do have about 100G of content.  Some of it is free stuff, some of it is from other places, but it’s all installed to my single ‘My Library’ content tree.

If I download updates or reset downloads for items, it’s going to duplicate them if I add a second content tree that ends up having the same stuff.

So…what DOES happen if we point it to our existing ‘My Library’ tree?

— Morgan

p.s. I suppose the answer may be “...dogs and cats living together… mass hysteria!”

 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 08:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2331
Joined  2005-09-05

I haven’t watched the videos yet, I’m hoping someone can confirm for me if it is still possible to use an external hard drive for your content folder. If I’ve read Spooky’s post correctly I think I can, if I can’t I’m not going to be interested in using it and can’t see a point in watching videos on something I won’t be using.

I’m hoping that I have read it correctly and you can use an external hard drive. Can someone please confirm this?

Thanks

Pen

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 08:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1248
Joined  2004-08-24

I’ve absolutely ZERO interest in this, because I want to control what and where all my content goes. 

So my question is this - is there any plan to fix the download mess that’s been in existence since the new site started, where we can’t select JUST windows or JUST mac stuff, and where finding something to redownload is a bit of a challenge?  Or is this new shiny toy going to mean “use it or tough luck”?

 Signature 

Cheers,
Alisa

**********************************************************************
Post Count - just add 6775 to what it says here smile
**********************************************************************
Coordinator & updater for KCTC Freebies *Remembering France*

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 11:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2008-04-13

yes indeed,i think i keep my hands away form this feature.
i install manually since years and i know exactly where my folders are and i have my runtimes structured the way i want and i dont have any file conflicts,i keep mine the way it is.

and i do hope we still have the option of not using the dim once it is out in the open.otherwise bye bye daz.i get¡ tired of playing games really.

Pendraia - 01 February 2013 08:09 PM

I haven’t watched the videos yet, I’m hoping someone can confirm for me if it is still possible to use an external hard drive for your content folder. If I’ve read Spooky’s post correctly I think I can, if I can’t I’m not going to be interested in using it and can’t see a point in watching videos on something I won’t be using.

I’m hoping that I have read it correctly and you can use an external hard drive. Can someone please confirm this?

Thanks

Pen

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2013 11:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2008-04-13

you are just like me.when having a huge content i want to know where my content is and i dont let any managing feature interfering.

i know exactly on what computer is what file (more or less) and i have myself 3 workstations 2 laptops and my wife has her own machine of course. and i install all manually and always custom installation never use default (recommended)option.

i usually change my pc every two years (yes i am crazy lol) and i never lost a single file that way.
i just take my harddisk with the runtime build it in in the new pc (or clone it onto another drive)build it in and point in the daz preferences to the specific location of the folder.
that way when i start daz the content shows up.

ok i love an leave you for now (lol.

Alisa Uh-Lisa - 01 February 2013 08:24 PM

I’ve absolutely ZERO interest in this, because I want to control what and where all my content goes. 

So my question is this - is there any plan to fix the download mess that’s been in existence since the new site started, where we can’t select JUST windows or JUST mac stuff, and where finding something to redownload is a bit of a challenge?  Or is this new shiny toy going to mean “use it or tough luck”?

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 11
1