Digital Art Zone

 
     
“Where Are My Files?”
Posted: 30 January 2013 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  695
Joined  2003-10-09

Title says it all: 

I’m running DAZ Studio 4.5.1.56 on a clean Vista with all updates.

Installed Studio4 using all default options
Installed many Genesis products.
Gn_David
Gn_Evolution body morphs
Gn_Evolution Muscular morphs
Fantasy Shapes; Gorilla; Minotaur; MS_Lycan; Swole

All worked fine for a few days.

Then last night I made a commitment to continue with Studio4 (after much soul searching) and bought the Freak5Pro Bundle.

OK, so I install Freak5 base and play with him and like what I see.

Then I install F5_Andrei and he doesn’t show up in my “Smart Content” tab nor in my “Content Library” tab.  Hmmm… so I used the DAZ uninstaller to remove F5_Andrei and reinstall him.  This time he shows up.  Go figure!!!

OK, so play with him for a while and everything seems fine I still have content in my browser tabs. I save the scene and stop Studio.  I then install F5_SavageFreak and restart Studio4 and I discover that I have nothing, absolutely NOTHING, nada, zip, bupkis, in my Smart Content tab and what’s worse I don’t even have a “Content Library” tab any more.  WTF!!!!

OK, so I look at my “Edit—>Preferences—>Content LIbrary”  and I have the image below:
There are proper looking DAZ files in those places.  So what am I missing?  HELP!!!!

Image Attachments
WhereAreMyFiles.jpg
 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 January 2013 03:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  695
Joined  2003-10-09

Here’s a snapshot of my content folder:

Image Attachments
ContentFolder.jpg
 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 January 2013 03:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7623
Joined  2006-03-19

Did you try re-importing your metadata and see if it shows up then

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 January 2013 03:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Check to see if your CMS is still running. And second it looks to me like your running the Default DS view setup. That never gives you all the menus the two Advanced setups gives.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 January 2013 03:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  695
Joined  2003-10-09
Frank0314 - 30 January 2013 03:09 PM

Did you try re-importing your metadata and see if it shows up then

Yes, but no cigar.  :-(

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 January 2013 03:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  695
Joined  2003-10-09
Jaderail - 30 January 2013 03:12 PM

Check to see if your CMS is still running. And second it looks to me like your running the Default DS view setup. That never gives you all the menus the two Advanced setups gives.

The “Services” management dialog shows the DAZ Content Manager services as “Automatic” but it does not say “Started” nor can I “Stop” or “Start” it because the options are grayed out. Hmmm.  I’m rebooting the computer.  (cures a multitude of ills).

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 January 2013 03:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  695
Joined  2003-10-09

Rebooting my computer seemed to clear up the problem.  The “AdministrativeTools—>ComputerManagement—>Services&Applications;—>Services” dialog shows the DAZ Content Manager Service as “Automatic” and “Started” and I have control of the “Start/Stop” functions again.  (*sigh*)  Don’t you just love computers!  (*sheesh*)

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 January 2013 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi LeatherGryphon smile

There should be a shortcut to “Start” and “Stop” the CMS service, in the Start menu / all programs / Daz3D / Daz content management service.

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\DAZ 3D\DAZ Content Management Service

Profile