Digital Art Zone

 
     
Creating a full-body Genesis morph from a Hexagon model?
Posted: 07 June 2012 02:08 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2012-05-24

In a past question regarding using a Sculptris model to create a DS morph, I was told to export Genesis as .obj, import into Sculptris, modify, export finished model as .obj, and use Morph Loader Pro to import the .obj into DS as a morph. But I found that I was unable to make the required changes to the Genesis model that I would need to create the shape that I want (I’m not very skilled with sculpting).

So I thought maybe I’d try a workaround by importing my Sculptris .obj (made from triangles) into Hexagon, then send from there to Daz Studio (which only takes quads, from what I understand). It worked, I got the model into Daz Studio… but I don’t know what to do with it now. I don’t know how to rig it from scratch or make it into a Genesis mesh.

Any help would be appreciated! I feel so close but so far away…

ETA: I should have made it more clear that the Sculptris OBJ I imported to Daz Studio from Hexagon is an ORIGINAL Sculptris model made from scratch, NOT a model that was modified from the Genesis OBJ.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 04:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2008-02-08

Use MorphLoader Pro to import the obj as morph.

Just select Genesis, open morph loader pro.

1) Select Chose morph files.. (and select your obj)
2) Expand the now new item and change whatever you like (name etc.), if you made the char from another morph select reverse deformation
3) Accept and hope the mesh is still 1:1 after export-import into other apps.

Now you should have the morph in the parameter property group you gave (standard is: Morphs -> Morph Loader.

That’s it.

 

 

Image Attachments
MorphLoader.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2003-12-10

Well you should set the subdivision level to zero exporting from DS, or else you’ll get an error message. The reason is, that obj files are exported with that subdivided mesh as set in the mesh resolution tab.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 10:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2012-05-24

I followed those instructions for Morph Loader Pro. Unfortunately something isn’t right… I got a warning message saying that geometry did no match and the morph could not be loaded. :( Help!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2003-12-10

told u so, wink set subdivision level to 0.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 10:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2012-05-24

If I’m understanding right, I only need to set the subdivision level to 0 if I’m exporting Genesis from DS to be modified and imported back as a new morph… I guess I wasn’t quite clear enough with my first post. I am NOT using a model that was modified from the Genesis model. I am using a model that is completely made from scratch in Sculptris, and imported into DS using Hexagon as a middleman so that DS would accept the triangulated Sculptris OBJ. I’m hoping it’s possible to convert it to a Genesis morph.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 10:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2003-12-10

Oh, that is more complicated. Anyway polygoncount should allways be the same or else you’ll get errors. this is true for all apps I know. Trying by seting subD- level to o seems to be the best solution.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 11:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2012-05-24

I was afraid that it would be. Maybe I should give up on this plan and just try to figure out some other way to make the changes to Genesis that I need. Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 09:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2012-05-24

Ok, so I made a test morph using the Genesis basic female model. So how do I select “reverse deformation” like in PaulSW’s instructions? In Morph Loader Pro, “reverse deformation” just has the word no next to it, and I see no way to change it. So what did I do wrong now?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 10:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

just “R click” where you want to change option.
and you can choose which (yes or no)

Though I do not know you used hexagon bridge or not,
the image is same when you load your.obj file by morph loader pro.

.

 

 

Image Attachments
ml.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 12:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2012-05-24

Thank you!

Something still isn’t working here though… my morphs load into DS successfully but when I apply them, they destroy the Genesis model. Have to work a little more on this…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 04:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  933
Joined  2007-01-04
Chiza.alba - 08 June 2012 12:26 AM

Thank you!

Something still isn’t working here though… my morphs load into DS successfully but when I apply them, they destroy the Genesis model. Have to work a little more on this…

For a morph to work the mesh has to keep the same vertice order as the main mesh, if it doesn’t what you get is a mesh that explodes into something with a lot of spikes when you dial the morph.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile