Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Measurements, is it possible?
Posted: 26 January 2013 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-09-22

Is it possible to model by measurement? If I want a cube that is 9 x 6 x 3.5 can it be done?

Is it legal to as to hire help modeling this project?
I just need some computer components that I can move around as I want in the model.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  277
Joined  2005-09-15

Is it legal to as to hire help modeling this project?

Eh!  ?????????????????????

Need the above clarified a touch please.

 Signature 

Cheers, Fanners.raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 03:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-09-22
RedSquare - 26 January 2013 03:14 PM

Is it legal to as to hire help modeling this project?

Eh!  ?????????????????????

Need the above clarified a touch please.

Hypothetically speaking, if I were to say something like…

I have looked on Elance and a few other sites for freelancers using Hexagon; needless to say I am trying this myself because I found none. I am in need of someone that can apply images to cubes (seems simple in the tutorial but I get a complete mess) and able to scale objects to perfection. This is the important part.

I will provide the images (unless they prefer to get their own) and measurements. Main goal is accurate measurement on every item. I am using Hex to redesign a computer chassis and need the computer component models to insure precise fit.
 
I used Hex a few years ago and did some work on my own so I came back to it, but I have either forgotten everything I learned then or it has changed in the recent version.

Example of what I am doing, likely take some of you seconds to do this one. Motherboard is 12” x 10.7” x .3” cube then apply image to surface. Save in a format I can open with hex 2.5.
If you want to show off a little LOL great but I am not rich by any means so be nice with quote.

What I mean by legal, if I were to actually make the above statement would it get me band from the site?

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6757
Joined  2005-08-15

You don;t need to use a scale for this.  Make a cube like shown below X = 12, Y = 3 and Z = 10

As long as the ratio is concerned, it is correct.  Just pretend that it is inches.  The cube is in the 3D world, so it doesn’t even exist never mind have correct dimensions.

To apply your image to the surface, got ot the UV and Paint tab, use the icon on the toolbar called ‘Cubic Projection’, click on it, and it offers you to make All sides the same, opposite sides the same, or all six faces to be different.  If you only want the image on the top face, select the end one, to map all six faces.

Create a Shding Domain for the top face, and then apply your texture which would need to have a ratio of 12 x 10

If you need any more help, just ask.

Image Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 04:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-09-22

total noob. maybe one day i will get this :(

Image Attachments
hexfubar.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 04:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6757
Joined  2005-08-15

I can’t really see what you are doing there, the image is very poor quality.  Don;t worry about the image size when posting to the forums, the software can resize it, the users can click to see the full image.

What is the size of the image that you are trying to apply.  Right click on the image icon, and look in Properties > Details, that will give you the size in pixels.

Did you do the UV Mapping before applying the image, and did you creaate a Shading Domain and then apply the texture?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 04:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-09-22

Four steps, I know i can resize the image on the overlay but I don’t remember how. Everything i do just messes it up more.

Image Attachments
hex1.pnghex2.pnghex3.pnghex4.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6757
Joined  2005-08-15

It looks like you have not created a Shading Domain first, but you are doing well smile

Select the top face on the cube, and then go to the Shading Domains tab, and hit ‘New’.  Once that has been created, apply a your material to that domain, and it should only appear on the top face.

Image Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6757
Joined  2005-08-15

Sorry, I have gone a bit astray in my instructions.  When you go to the UV Map stage, just select the one big face, and then create a shading domain for the top face only, and apply your image.

That should get all of the image on just that one face.  It’s been a while since I have done it myself


Image Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

And if you really need the precision you’ve hinted at in the first post, then Hex is the wrong software for the job.  You would really need some CAD software…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-09-22

does the happy dance…
thank you. that was a true task LOL.

like i said. a few seconds for you, hours for me. cannot wait to see what i come up with on the video cards. there are 5 sides that need images :(

Image Attachments
happydance.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6757
Joined  2005-08-15

That looks really well, although your MoBo could do with a bit of memory smile

Well done, you’ll soon get the hang of it, you seem to be a very quick learner.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-09-22
mjc1016 - 26 January 2013 05:21 PM

And if you really need the precision you’ve hinted at in the first post, then Hex is the wrong software for the job.  You would really need some CAD software…

at $875 a cad program will have to wait.  for one or two projects a year hex will do. I understand where you are coming from, but if I can be within a few mm I am sure I can fudge the actual build. Speaking of mm, can hex be converted to metric?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-09-22

I’m just tired of making cardboard cutouts to mark and make this work. Thinking I can do this here. See what I like and don’t like move things around and build off that. Right now I have 3k in computer parts sitting in a box waiting for a home.  But at least with this I can save the models and reuse them later, cardboard cutouts don’t last long and never work well, you cannot move them around as much.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 05:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6757
Joined  2005-08-15

You can set it to mm or inches, and a few more as shown below, but I don’t think it makes any difference to the size in the viewport anyway.

There is a manual in the Docs folder which may tell you a bit more about it.

Image Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 07:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Yeah, if are doing it just for mock-ups, Hex should be fine…but, you’ve left a great opening…you don’t need to spend $900 on CAD software.

For those times where you need CAD but don’t want to spend a bundle…

http://free-cad.sourceforge.net/

Open Source CAD software that’s loaded with features (more than I ever really need…for those few times I can’t do what I want in Blender, Hex or some other modeller..)

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1