Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
Do not render my model in Carrara or any other software without my permission, WTF?
Posted: 07 June 2012 04:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  214
Joined  2005-11-06
adzan - 07 June 2012 02:22 AM

It is common in the 3D market place that a license has to be bought for each software program that a model will be used in.
Many stores will charge a bundle price for a multi use license.
Even at Daz you are only buying a licence to use a model that has many restrictions on it’s use.

I don’t think it’s common at all - if you have some examples that would be helpful smile

 Signature 

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

My DAZ3D Store

My Personal Website

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 04:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  214
Joined  2005-11-06
Sockratease - 07 June 2012 10:10 AM

Ive seen single user and single workstation licenses, but never anything as restrictive as this!

I should re-release my Fractal Freebies with the restriction that they may only be used if a Cow is featured prominently in the image.

I love cows in space!

 Signature 

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

My DAZ3D Store

My Personal Website

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2012 10:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2004-05-18
adzan - 07 June 2012 02:22 AM

It is common in the 3D market place that a license has to be bought for each software program that a model will be used in.
Many stores will charge a bundle price for a multi use license.
Even at Daz you are only buying a licence to use a model that has many restrictions on it’s use.

Sorry, this is not common at all, especially on pro market (for big boys, like LW, 3D Studio Max or Maya), as a matter of fact, the more restrictions the less of the chance that company (or individual) is gonna buy the model, pro products are always bundles of multiple formats for customers convenience (otherwise they are not pro)...


I would really like to see a render of the model in question, maybe (if my skills are sufficient) I could model very similar freebie, nothing would make me happier (it would not be my first time, lol) LOL

 Signature 

Minai Lekarariba-Laminai-Tchai Ekbat De Sebat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 01:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7283
Joined  2009-07-13

No 5th element, your models are superiour to anything in this lowpoly GPU reltime render optimised program so no need to bother.
I actually have no wish to render ANY of their content in Carrara, only doing it to beta test.
I mostly find ways to get Daz content in!
Just got a bit irked when he said not to ever do it with any of HIS stuff but I do not have any of it so really no problem!
The attitude was something I wished to share as it is so very different to what we have here.
Most stuff including his is DRM protected and unexportable anyway, avatar static meshes in tpose CAN be exported as obj not rigged for vertex tweaking but he does not like his superiour meshes being tweaked either as mention randomly unsolicited on an open forum thread where I showed how to do it in Carrara!

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 06:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1808
Joined  2005-06-08
wendy♥catz - 08 June 2012 01:08 AM

. ..  The attitude was something I wished to share as it is so very different to what we have here.  Most stuff including his is DRM protected and unexportable anyway, avatar static meshes in tpose CAN be exported as obj not rigged for vertex tweaking but he does not like his superiour meshes being tweaked either as mention randomly unsolicited on an open forum thread where I showed how to do it in Carrara!

I realize you can’t say who this was or what forum it was in, but if you know what store he’s selling from I’d be interested (if only to avoid someplace that allows those licensing restrictions on products).

 Signature 

~

Hat-wearing member of the Bald Wizards Club

Eyebrow-Free Face Textures — A List

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7283
Joined  2009-07-13

not Daz/Poser software so do not worry, iClone actually.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7283
Joined  2009-07-13

I don’t really want to compromise a confidential discussion on a private forum, so not revealing details publically here, just discussing the concept of limiting use of a model to one software suite,
this could also apply to gaming assets
I believe a lot of it only can be used in that game platform ie Unity, Unreal, Cryengine etc
am interested to hear opinions and experience if any.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 08:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2006-09-30
3DLust - 07 June 2012 04:01 PM
Sockratease - 07 June 2012 10:10 AM

Ive seen single user and single workstation licenses, but never anything as restrictive as this!

I should re-release my Fractal Freebies with the restriction that they may only be used if a Cow is featured prominently in the image.


I love cows in space!


Interesting concept.


I’ve never made love in space (nor to a Cow, contrary to public opinion polls), but I bet the zero gravity could make it rather ...  challenging?

 Signature 

MOO!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 11:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03
adzan - 07 June 2012 02:22 AM

It is common in the 3D market place that a license has to be bought for each software program that a model will be used in.
Many stores will charge a bundle price for a multi use license.
Even at Daz you are only buying a licence to use a model that has many restrictions on it’s use.

While I’ve seen the stores that make you purchase each version of a model, Daz does not have as strict restrictions as you might be thinking. The only restriction is that you cannot distribute the mesh. You can import it into any program you damn well please, make animations, 2D art, etc. You can sell your works, but again, as long as you are not distributing the actual mesh. This is why Daz and Rawart have game licenses up for purchase. Games require you to distribute the mesh.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 12:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1808
Joined  2005-06-08
Vaskania - 08 June 2012 11:09 AM
adzan - 07 June 2012 02:22 AM

It is common in the 3D market place that a license has to be bought for each software program that a model will be used in.
Many stores will charge a bundle price for a multi use license.
Even at Daz you are only buying a licence to use a model that has many restrictions on it’s use.

While I’ve seen the stores that make you purchase each version of a model, Daz does not have as strict restrictions as you might be thinking. The only restriction is that you cannot distribute the mesh. You can import it into any program you damn well please, make animations, 2D art, etc. You can sell your works, but again, as long as you are not distributing the actual mesh. This is why Daz and Rawart have game licenses up for purchase. Games require you to distribute the mesh.

I’m pretty sure that’s true of all (if not, almost all) stores selling content set up for use in DAZStudio and/or Poser, isn’t it?  Here, Rendo, CP, RDNA, etc — if I wanna use ‘em in Blender or whatever there’s no legal reason why I can’t.  I’ve seen merchants at Rendo selling DS/Poser-ready versions of something they’re also selling Vue versions of, but that’s an ease-of-use issue — the license never says that I can’t use the Vue versions in DAZStudio or vice versa, I just won’t be getting the specific set-up features the merchant added to each.

 Signature 

~

Hat-wearing member of the Bald Wizards Club

Eyebrow-Free Face Textures — A List

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 01:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  898
Joined  2008-11-01
3DProclivity - 06 June 2012 04:08 PM
Vaskania - 06 June 2012 03:15 PM

Oh how I wish whatever software it is wasn’t beta. I’m curious to see this guy’s self-praise. I could use a good chuckle. raspberry

Although, he’d hate me. I’d probably render his stuff in every program I can think of, including Photoshop Extended, just to be a smartass. LOL

Sideways and upside down to boot! *evil grin*

In fact, I’d render renders of his models holding other renders of his models. lol

LMAO!!!  You’re sooo funny!  smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 10:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  110
Joined  2005-09-23
Loaar - 07 June 2012 02:53 AM

Ive seen people only provide one format for a model, and sell other formats (Vue, 3ds etc) as separate products, but I’ve never seen a licence that forbids the use of a model to only one software. Considering how many software packages come with exporters for various other softwares it all seems a bit stupid. Maybe I just don’t buy enough models from other marketplaces?

That is strange. For example, we license models by format, and when people license directly from us, they also get the 3DS version too, and then leave it to the limitations of software to work it out. We license our .max files only as a part of our PRO license (which includes real time playback rights). However nothing stops anyone from importing the 3DS version into 3D Studio MAX if they want. Licensing should have some correlation with usage, as its through usage that one can gain expanded value. We only have two types of license: ART and PRO. That keeps it simple.

Ive seen some really weird, obscure types of license - if a vendor is really clueless on licensing, then don’t license from them. If they can mess up a license, they can mess up support, make crazy demands later, etc.

 Signature 

chikako


Meshbox Design, Art Director
Content Creators Guild (3D News, Product Releases)
FREE Toon People SlimGirl and SlimBoy Models

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 10:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  110
Joined  2005-09-23
wendy♥catz - 08 June 2012 07:01 AM

not Daz/Poser software so do not worry, iClone actually.

Wendy - I think what you are talking about is the iClone 3D Exchange license.

Boiling it all down, if you build a model using 3D Exchange, you are locked in several different ways. You cannot sell your iClone character model outside of their store for example. iClone is a really neat product that is hobbled by really terrible licensing terms.

Now, there is a solution for that, and I will share grin

You build and rig your model in another software (and/or license models for it)  that can export to iClone supported format. Then as needed, you export on your own, for your own use.

iClone is really an end of pipeline product anyway.

 

 Signature 

chikako


Meshbox Design, Art Director
Content Creators Guild (3D News, Product Releases)
FREE Toon People SlimGirl and SlimBoy Models

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7283
Joined  2009-07-13

yes, it was an iclone vendor but not bringing this up to cause issues about them and their software,
only the concept of models being only for use in one software by demand of their seller
it is the main reason I do not use very much iClone content in iClone BTW
I want to use my purchases in ALL my software depending on what I want to do.
For example, I recently discovered Houdini which has cool fluids and imports Daz figures animated as FBX, (and other inc secret beta stuff) would love to learn how to make fluid sims with them as part of a video, would not render my whole movie in it, just that bit, and so on.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  110
Joined  2005-09-23
wendy♥catz - 11 June 2012 12:19 PM

yes, it was an iclone vendor but not bringing this up to cause issues about them and their software,
only the concept of models being only for use in one software by demand of their seller.

They may simply be repeating what they are required to repeat as a part of their license, having produced their product with 3D Exchange.

 Signature 

chikako


Meshbox Design, Art Director
Content Creators Guild (3D News, Product Releases)
FREE Toon People SlimGirl and SlimBoy Models

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2