Digital Art Zone

 
     
Difference between the 4.5 standard and pro version
Posted: 21 January 2013 03:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  194
Joined  2011-10-01

After updating to 4.5 PRO I can’t see any difference. Are there some that might be interesting even for beginners?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 03:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7622
Joined  2006-03-19

To my knowledge DS 4.5 is only offered in the Pro version

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 03:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  194
Joined  2011-10-01

No, I had the 4.5 standard version (as shown in the headline of the program window), after registering with the serialnumber it immediately changed to 4.5 PRO !

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 03:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14012
Joined  2003-10-09

DS will run without a serial. Several features are disabled then, assuming it’s the same as 4.0: the content creation tools, ZBrush Bridge, Photoshop Bridge. Texture Atlas. I’m not sure about Shader Mixer (though presets will still work) or some of the other shaders - the various uber shaders were part of the paid for version of DS3 but I think are now included in standard.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 04:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2814
Joined  2009-02-24

Another disabled feature is the Layered Image Editor which can be invaluable for adding decals, scars or even tears to models. As an old proverb once said, better to have and not need than to need and not have.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 07:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

HOF, you just volunteered to create a LIE tear tutorial… so sez aye! raspberry

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 09:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2007-08-10

Aye Second!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 05:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2814
Joined  2009-02-24
wancow - 21 January 2013 07:26 PM

HOF, you just volunteered to create a LIE tear tutorial… so sez aye! raspberry

If I could ever figure out how to use the LIE and still have it work alongside Reality and Luxrender, I might just. As it stands, I’m still a beginner myself, so it wouldn’t be a very in-depth tutorial.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 06:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7839
Joined  2009-05-14
HeraldOfFire - 22 January 2013 05:19 AM
wancow - 21 January 2013 07:26 PM

HOF, you just volunteered to create a LIE tear tutorial… so sez aye! raspberry

If I could ever figure out how to use the LIE and still have it work alongside Reality and Luxrender, I might just. As it stands, I’m still a beginner myself, so it wouldn’t be a very in-depth tutorial.

I have this vague feeling that Realtiy is LIE compatible HeraldOfFire…I am fairly sure I just read that the other day. I maybe be wrong though LOL

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2814
Joined  2009-02-24

Always creates blank white textures whenever I used multi-layering in Reality, either that or entirely overwrites it and removes the overlay entirely. Never really had much luck with it myself.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2011-09-13
HeraldOfFire - 22 January 2013 07:02 AM

Always creates blank white textures whenever I used multi-layering in Reality, either that or entirely overwrites it and removes the overlay entirely. Never really had much luck with it myself.

Have you tried the “collect textures” option in the Reality output tab? You also need to change the default compression so the collected textures are not compressed (as this will affect quality). I think the issue is that Studio keeps the LIE textures in its temporary cache and they become inaccessible to Lux when DAZ is closed (and possibly at times even while it is still running).

I can’t check any of this at the moment because I don’t have a computer with Reality available. I’m sure I’ve used it successfully.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 08:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
HeraldOfFire - 22 January 2013 07:02 AM

Always creates blank white textures whenever I used multi-layering in Reality, either that or entirely overwrites it and removes the overlay entirely. Never really had much luck with it myself.

The best way to use a layered image in Luxrender is to not use one…take the overlay and the texture into an image editor and combine them.  This is because, instead of looking at it as a layered image, it is most likely being interpreted as a layered texture…sort of like hair. 

Also, the ‘collect textures’ option should be the default, because Lux works best when it doesn’t have to hunt down the textures.  (from experience, it seems that no matter what, it will have problems finding something if they aren’t all in one place).  Another advantage with the collect feature, everything is one folder, so setting it up for a network/distributed render is a lot easier.  And if you need to, you can edit any of the lx files…

lxs=Lux Scene File…it’s the description of the ‘world’ and the render settings.
lxm=This is the materials file…and the one that will need to be edited if you give the combined layer/image a different name.
lxo= Geometry definition file.
flm= the ‘progress’ file…it stores a ‘film’ of how far/what has been done so far so that the render can be paused/stopped/resumed…not really editable.

As to how LIE works, yes, it stores the images in the DS TEMP folder…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile