Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
DAZ Studio slowing - requires restart
Posted: 19 January 2013 02:19 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02

As far back as I remember (I think I’ve been playing with this software, on and off, since 2005) I’ve noticed that the longer I work on a scene, the slower the response becomes. Eventually I need to save everything and restart.

I seem to remember way back that there were memory problems where used memory space would not be released and paging in and out became an issue which slowed down the response times. I’m no software expert so I can’t really comment, but it seems to me that whatever the problem, it has not been solved. I can say that the longer I work, the more I notice the disk activity. This might be explained by paging in and out, I don’t know for sure, but I note that the disk is constantly beavering away in the background. I thought it might be Windows doing a scan or doing some indexing but I checked and made sure the indexing service was turned off and that there was so scan scheduled. Besides. the disk activity stops when D|S is closed.

My system is Windows 7 Pro 64bit, i7 8 core and 8Gb memory so it should be up to the task. The symptoms, by the time I decide to restart, are: camera rotation slow and jerky, joint movement (bend and arm, turn the head, etc.) so unresponsive that I think I have not actually made a change - then it will suddenly jerk to some extreme position.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 03:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3039
Joined  2009-02-24

Can’t say I’ve experienced that before, and I’m also using Windows 7. I do get slowness and jerkiness at times, but only with particularly heavy scenes with lots of characters, and reloading never speeds it up as it does in your case. As such it’s hard to suggest ways to fix it. I’d be interested to see if other’s have experienced this problem before though. Perhaps there’s a common factor between your systems causing it to grind down.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 04:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02
HeraldOfFire - 19 January 2013 03:34 AM

Can’t say I’ve experienced that before, and I’m also using Windows 7. I do get slowness and jerkiness at times, but only with particularly heavy scenes with lots of characters, and reloading never speeds it up as it does in your case. As such it’s hard to suggest ways to fix it. I’d be interested to see if other’s have experienced this problem before though. Perhaps there’s a common factor between your systems causing it to grind down.

Agreed - I thought it significant that this complaint is not common here so there may be something about the way I have installed it or - well, I have no idea really. I do know that this has been a feature since I started using the software and I have replaced my PC three times since then.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 06:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

What version of DS?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 06:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02
mjc1016 - 19 January 2013 06:34 AM

What version of DS?

4.5.1.49 - A beta, I think. I installed it because the standard version was crashing regularly and this beta has proved more stable for me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 10:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

What are the rest of the system specs?

Especially video card?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 10:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02

Summary
  Operating System
  MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1
  CPU
  Intel Core i7 930 @ 2.80GHz 67 °C
  Bloomfield 45nm Technology
  RAM
  6.00 GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 763MHz (9-9-9-24) (My mistake - I though I had 8Gb)
  Motherboard
  ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6X58D-E (LGA1366) 58 °C
  Graphics
  VP2365WB (1920x1080@60Hz)
  512MB GeForce 9800 GT (CardExpert Technology) 39 °C
  Hard Drives
  352GB Seagate ST3360320AS ATA Device (SATA) 37 °C
  977GB Western Digital WDC WD10EADS-65L5B1 ATA Device (SATA) 33 °C
  Optical Drives
  HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS50 ATA Device
  ELBY CLONEDRIVE SCSI CdRom Device
  Audio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Post the full version info from the Help > About DAZ Studio screen…

How ‘tech’ are you?  If you are rather techy, I’ve got a couple of ideas to try…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 11:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02

I am not software savvy but ok with op systems and hardware.

Image Attachments
About.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 12:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

Try turning off multiple items in the scene, see if the problem remains.  I find that if I turn off figures I’m not currently working with, speed improves dramatically.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02

I take it you mean that I should make invisible the things that are not in shot? Oddly, I used to do that before I took a long leave of absence from this little hobby. Thank you for reminding me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 12:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
marble - 19 January 2013 11:57 AM

I am not software savvy but ok with op systems and hardware.

Well, in that case, give this a shot…

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx

Basically what you want to do is monitor the memory usage and see what’s going on when it starts bogging down…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02
mjc1016 - 19 January 2013 12:15 PM
marble - 19 January 2013 11:57 AM

I am not software savvy but ok with op systems and hardware.

Well, in that case, give this a shot…

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx

Basically what you want to do is monitor the memory usage and see what’s going on when it starts bogging down…

Yes, I have that but I’m afraid that some things are a bit beyond me.

 

Image Attachments
181641.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10
marble - 19 January 2013 12:13 PM

I take it you mean that I should make invisible the things that are not in shot? Oddly, I used to do that before I took a long leave of absence from this little hobby. Thank you for reminding me.

No.  Anything you don’t need at the moment.  I make use of the MFMinvisibletree script that’s around here somewhere a lot!

But say, I"m posing hands from one figure in contact with another.  If that hand is in contact with another character’s clothing, I’ll make the character wearing that clothing invisible while I’m working.  Speeds me up a lot.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 12:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  470
Joined  2005-10-02
wancow - 19 January 2013 12:21 PM
marble - 19 January 2013 12:13 PM

I take it you mean that I should make invisible the things that are not in shot? Oddly, I used to do that before I took a long leave of absence from this little hobby. Thank you for reminding me.

No.  Anything you don’t need at the moment.  I make use of the MFMinvisibletree script that’s around here somewhere a lot!

But say, I"m posing hands from one figure in contact with another.  If that hand is in contact with another character’s clothing, I’ll make the character wearing that clothing invisible while I’m working.  Speeds me up a lot.

Right - that makes sense. I’ll look for that script - it would save a lot of mouse clicks smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Do a shot of the performance and gpu graphs…a shot of the threads list. 

I’m trying to figure out why you’ve got a 2 GB ‘swap’ file (and it appears to be in use) when you are only using about 1.5 GB of physical memory…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1