Digital Art Zone

 
   
78 of 100
78
JACK TOMALIN APPRECIATION SOCIETY [JAS IV]
Posted: 14 May 2013 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1156 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  868
Joined  2003-10-09

Well if you want metadata and the duf and data files yeah, unless you have installed from the exe, or mac zips then you don’t have to.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 01:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1157 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10937
Joined  2007-11-06

...I used the original installers from when the items were released and have been getting a lot of “Missing Geometry” errors when I try to load some components even though the icons for them are there. Won’t cost me anything but a little time to download and reinstall again, and if it cures the errors, it will be worth it.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 04:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1158 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10937
Joined  2007-11-06

..OK dialed the ceiling lights down to 120% and looks much better (the entire centre area of the floor was white in the first render try).

Defintely the longest render time yet on the new system, however I upped the sample rate of the ceiling lights to 64 (to get rid of jagged edges on the figures) which along with a total of 24 Uber Sphere lights (& one linear point light to add a bit of “fill” on their faces), a shading rate of .2, and all that lovely reflectivity (which would have slagged my old system) took a “whopping” 2 hrs and 42 min.

Then I saw a few small issues with the figure poses so I have to go in ad fix them (will do that later) as well as soften the corridor lights a bit as well. Still very impressed with how it came out.

..and just to check things I put my hand by the CPU cooler fan while it was rendering and noticed the system wasn’t even breaking a sweat.

Image Attachments
sweeties.jpg
 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 12:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1159 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3463
Joined  0
Kyoto Kid - 14 May 2013 04:44 PM

..OK dialed the ceiling lights down to 120% and looks much better (the entire centre area of the floor was white in the first render try).

Defintely the longest render time yet on the new system, however I upped the sample rate of the ceiling lights to 64 (to get rid of jagged edges on the figures) which along with a total of 24 Uber Sphere lights (& one linear point light to add a bit of “fill” on their faces), a shading rate of .2, and all that lovely reflectivity (which would have slagged my old system) took a “whopping” 2 hrs and 42 min.

Then I saw a few small issues with the figure poses so I have to go in ad fix them (will do that later) as well as soften the corridor lights a bit as well. Still very impressed with how it came out.

..and just to check things I put my hand by the CPU cooler fan while it was rendering and noticed the system wasn’t even breaking a sweat.

Looking good!

No idea why the scene lights are loading so bright for you, but glad to see you dialed it down a bit.. smile

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 12:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1160 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10937
Joined  2007-11-06

...doing another render with the rest of the lights toned down.

When I loaded the lights in, the ceiling lights came in at 500% intensity (reduced those to 120%), and the area lights in the corridors at 250% and 1,400% (reduced those to 150%).  Also increased the sampling rate for all lights to 64 which really sharpens the detail and lowered shading rate to 0.20.

Currently 90% after 3 hrs. (900 x 900).  System running a cool as a cucumber.

Feel like I’m in uncharted territory as I’ve never let a render run this long on the notebook for fear of cooking it to death.

——-

...OK after 3hr:16min, here it is.

Image Attachments
bestest_friends.jpg
 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 06:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1161 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2342
Joined  2003-12-06

Hmm, I’ve done a few quick test renders since installing of Aslan Court plus a few figures, and they all seemed to be severely washed out as well (especially the shiny floor). I was only doing quick see-what-they-look-like tests, though, so I never checked the light values. Have to try again with the lights turned down a bit, when I have the spare time for those long renders.

BTW, that last render with the two kids looks great. Pretty much got their morphs right now, have you?

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1162 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10937
Joined  2007-11-06

..yes, thanks to Thorne/Homespun Studios who released the merchant resource morph packs. the girls look like the way I always envisioned them. 

...and Aslan court has become part of the Grande Estate.  Lady Meg and her late husband Lord Reg always had a thing for the historic.  Her natural daughter Margo was in line to take over the curator position for the Egyptian wing at the Museum of Antiquity.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 02:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1163 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3463
Joined  0
SpottedKitty - 15 May 2013 06:12 PM

Hmm, I’ve done a few quick test renders since installing of Aslan Court plus a few figures, and they all seemed to be severely washed out as well (especially the shiny floor). I was only doing quick see-what-they-look-like tests, though, so I never checked the light values. Have to try again with the lights turned down a bit, when I have the spare time for those long renders.

BTW, that last render with the two kids looks great. Pretty much got their morphs right now, have you?

That’s really weird, it should be rendering out like the promo images, that kinda brightness… will have to take another look when I get the chance in case something got messed up.

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 04:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1164 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3463
Joined  0

Ok, I loaded up DS4.5, the preload, and the lights, hit render and this is what I get..

Image Attachments
light_test.jpg
 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 11:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1165 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2878
Joined  2004-10-25
Kyoto Kid - 15 May 2013 12:58 AM

...doing another render with the rest of the lights toned down.

Nice render.  I haven’t had a chance to load Aslan up and play with it . . . yet . . . but I like the way this came out.

As for the long render times, yes the reflections will do that. I had my longest ever render a few months ago when I was testing The Alcove for ARTCollaborations with the included AOIBL lights.  Just under 3 hours in DS 3A, but boy did it look good when it was done.  I toned down the settings in DS 4A (hadn’t upgraded to DS 4P at that point), and it only took a little over 1/2 hour.  Big difference, but it still looked good.  I have to learn to use lower settings when testing, and leave the higher settings for when I’m ready for a final render.  cool smirk

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 01:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1166 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10937
Joined  2007-11-06
Jack Tomalin - 16 May 2013 04:41 AM

Ok, I loaded up DS4.5, the preload, and the lights, hit render and this is what I get..

...when I did the first render after loading the lights, the floor in the centre was so brightly lit it was white.  I don’t think it had too with the Linear point light I added to gove some fill light to their faces since it was very localised and the outer falloff sphere didn’t even reach the floor.

That looks a lot closer like my last post after I turned them down.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 06:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1167 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2342
Joined  2003-12-06
Jack Tomalin - 16 May 2013 04:41 AM

Ok, I loaded up DS4.5, the preload, and the lights, hit render and this is what I get..

Just did the same again, and added a couple of figures standing in the middle to see what the floor reflections look like. It’s coming out a bit better this time, I think, the roof isn’t nearly as bright as the last time I tried. Not sure about the walls and floor, it’s been nearly two and a half hours so far and only 25% done. Might have to wait until tomorrow until I’ve got a pic to post.

Come to think of it, was I using the legacy files in D|S3 the last time? Not sure, maybe that could have caused a light glitch?

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 01:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1168 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3463
Joined  0
SpottedKitty - 16 May 2013 06:19 PM
Jack Tomalin - 16 May 2013 04:41 AM

Ok, I loaded up DS4.5, the preload, and the lights, hit render and this is what I get..

Just did the same again, and added a couple of figures standing in the middle to see what the floor reflections look like. It’s coming out a bit better this time, I think, the roof isn’t nearly as bright as the last time I tried. Not sure about the walls and floor, it’s been nearly two and a half hours so far and only 25% done. Might have to wait until tomorrow until I’ve got a pic to post.

Come to think of it, was I using the legacy files in D|S3 the last time? Not sure, maybe that could have caused a light glitch?

Hmm I don’t know tbh.. I just checked DS3, and that all renders ok, and I even tried the DS3 lights in DS4.. and that renders fine too.. so colour me confused :D

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 02:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1169 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10937
Joined  2007-11-06

...well it’s nothing incredibly critical as the intensity can be adjusted though it did take a bit of time to change the settings on all the lights. 

The other issue is most GPUs cannot display more than 8 lights in OpenGL mode and UberLights don’t act the same as the regular Daz lights in the viewport (they always look overly bright no matter what adjustments are made) so one has to perform test or spot renders to see if things look right.

Never seen lights load in that “hot”.

Jack, can you check the intensity settings for the three light groups after you load them?

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 02:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1170 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3463
Joined  0
Kyoto Kid - 17 May 2013 02:07 AM

...well it’s nothing incredibly critical as the intensity can be adjusted though it did take a bit of time to change the settings on all the lights. 

The other issue is most GPUs cannot display more than 8 lights in OpenGL mode and UberLights don’t act the same as the regular Daz lights in the viewport (they always look overly bright no matter what adjustments are made) so one has to perform test or spot renders to see if things look right.

Never seen lights load in that “hot”.

Jack, can you check the intensity settings for the three light groups after you load them?

Yea, they are all the same as you quoted earlier.. 500/250/1400.. which gives the render results as I posted earlier..  Can you try posting a render when you get a sec, just the plain preload, lights and thats it.. and we’ll see how it looks your end.

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
   
78 of 100
78