So if I understand you correctly…if I follow this process and categorise outside of default DS will not precategorise content?
That’s correct. It will, if you do the Process Metadata Queue, create those same categories *after* the fact however. Skipping that entirely (and indeed, stopping it from happening at startup (there’s a checkbox on the screen) will prevent it from happening but it will also keep compatibility and “products” from populating. That’s why another reason why you stay outside of Default. Leave that to the DAZ land and pretty much ignore it. Your personal categories should be outside of Default and they’ll be ignored when you (post categorization) process the metadata queue.
Because when I did that in the past it still placed a lot of stuff elsewhere besides the unassigned folder which is why I started to categorise inside default…I had less to reassign.
You shouldn’t have to venture outside of Default > Unassigned to categorize after scanning. If you do, then there is something wrong with the way your Content Directory maps are setup.
My biggest bugbear is when new categories turn up that can’t be changed easily. For example there is a people and a figures\people having both is silly.
Agreed, but if you categorize outside of Default, who cares? You’ll never see it or use it.
I think I may try shifting it back to outside of categories…I really don’t like the way they have changed categories in DS4.
I didn’t like it at first either, however, the new features, duplicating categories, figure compatibility, product-listing made a convert of me. The key is to just stay out of the Default area except to use Default > Unassigned.