Digital Art Zone

 
     
Error when loading a ds file into DS 4.5 Pro
Posted: 16 January 2013 12:20 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  304
Joined  2003-10-09

I get a msg to the effect that an object needs to be selected, etc when trying to open a ds file from the FILE menu.

I’m relatively new to DAZ Studio so ... bad file/install maybe?

Should a ds file normally open using the OPEN cmd?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 02:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1677
Joined  2010-10-10

If it says an object needs to be selected then you are probably trying to load a texture. You need the original item selected before you can apply textures.

What item are you trying to load?

 Signature 

Wendy

My freestuff: http://www.sharecg.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=Wilmap

Tutorial: http://www.sharecg.com/v/69943/view/3/PDF-Tutorial/How-to-install-zip-files

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  304
Joined  2003-10-09

Yeah - it turned out to be a defective file.  That’s what I get for forgetting to take my omega3.  Thnx for the reply

Profile