Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 4
3
Illuminating Lamp Shades (WARNING: NO NUDITY)
Posted: 17 January 2013 05:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2202
Joined  2005-09-05
wancow - 17 January 2013 05:19 PM

Please post any results you get, good or bad smile

No problem…I just realised these are based on Uber not Shadermixer. I was obviously distracted due to all the talk about timtams…lol

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 January 2013 05:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

Someday I’ll turn you onto THIS:
http://www.niederegger.de/

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 January 2013 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2202
Joined  2005-09-05
wancow - 17 January 2013 05:32 PM

Someday I’ll turn you onto THIS:
http://www.niederegger.de/

Interesting…but not tim tams! lol

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 January 2013 09:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Double check the preset…it looks like it’s loading with Translucency ‘off’...

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 January 2013 09:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

I just tried it, it’s the Lamp Shade shader, I have opacity set at 95%... is it not loading properly?

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 January 2013 11:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

I’ll check again…

That’s odd.  Last night, it loaded with the Translucency value set, but the On/Off button set to ‘Off’...now it’s on. 

Anyway, this isn’t quite your settings…I had pretty much set this up before you put up yours, just kept playing with it, adding more stuff, because the scene just seemed to ‘grow’ on its own…

The shade has US on it. with Diffuse strength at 80%, no Ambient, Opacity at 100%, Translucency (using the same texture map as Diffuse) set to 20%. This one also had a Bump map that I switched to Displacement. 

The ‘main’ lighting is my envlight2 shader and low intensity distant light as a shadow caster.  The lamp is lit with a point light, set to roughly ‘incandescent’ (100W tungsten from here http://planetpixelemporium.com/tutorialpages/light.html) for a color value ..

Image Attachments
hnb.png
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 January 2013 04:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13610
Joined  2003-10-09

Just popping back with a simple brick network for translucence and controllable shadowing. Most of the bricks you see are to make a screen combination mode (invert both inputs, multiply them and invert the result). In practice you’d probably feed the output connected to Colour on the base Surface brick into the Diffuse brick of a DAZ Material brick, and the out put feeding Opacity on the base into the Opacity of the DAZ Material brick, but as the render shows this does give greater transparency for shadowing than for viewing.

Image Attachments
VariableOpacitySetup.JPGTranslucent_sphere.jpg
 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1660
Joined  2005-12-31

I’m wondering what sort of settings would be set up for different sort of shades. For example and opaque glass globe. Ideally a portion of the inside light would just pass through via translucence. But that does not really seem to work. Using a surface shader light doesn’t really work either because then you don’t have the other settings to give it the look of glass. And there really should be a light source inside to get the variable lighting that comes out the sides of the shade as apposed to the top of the glass.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Khory - 21 January 2013 01:54 PM

I’m wondering what sort of settings would be set up for different sort of shades. For example and opaque glass globe. Ideally a portion of the inside light would just pass through via translucence. But that does not really seem to work. Using a surface shader light doesn’t really work either because then you don’t have the other settings to give it the look of glass. And there really should be a light source inside to get the variable lighting that comes out the sides of the shade as apposed to the top of the glass.

Hmmm….that one requires some thought, but it probably would be easier to do using a geometry shell and the original shade with separate shaders on each, instead of trying to do it all with one shader on the shade.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 04:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13610
Joined  2003-10-09
Khory - 21 January 2013 01:54 PM

For example and opaque glass globe. Ideally a portion of the inside light would just pass through via translucence.

That’s what my network is doing, though it needs to be combined with a DAZ Material brick or other bricks to generate specularity and so on. Getting the effect of light being concentrated by passage through glass would need a caustics shader rather than regular lights, materials and cameras.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 08:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1660
Joined  2005-12-31

I copied your network earlier today Richard and I have tried having the default material in there. It seems to add the specularity but not reflection.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 08:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1660
Joined  2005-12-31

BTW.. why does DAZ crash every time I try and save a shader?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 06:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13610
Joined  2003-10-09

Reflection needs extra bricks - have you tried copying a surface with reflections into Shader Mixer as a starting point?

Not sure about the crashing - I din;t save my test scene to see how it went. Is it all SM scenes, or only some?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 09:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1660
Joined  2005-12-31

I’ve not tried saving them as a scene. Just tried to save the core shader so I could go back to it later if need be. So far about 4 have caused a crash. Including a copy of yours.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 January 2013 09:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Khory - 21 January 2013 08:26 PM

BTW.. why does DAZ crash every time I try and save a shader?

Is it saving the scene, a preset or the brick material?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 4
3