Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 5
1
compatibility with DAZ 4.5
Posted: 15 January 2013 02:36 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2012-12-21

Good Morning

I need a precise answer to this question:

Is the following addon “Temple of Mars” here—->http://www.daz3d.com/temple-of-mars compatible or not with DAZ Studio Pro 4.5 . I really find the information given in the shop not precise and misleading. Those addons are not given for free and the least one can expect is something more precise than this

“Notes No
Compatible 3D Figures N/A
Compatible 3D Software DAZ Studio, Poser”—————-> Gosh which version of DAZ this is!!!!!

I’m not a fortune teller or reading in a crystal ball! Sorry to be a bit nervous about the matter, but the shop administrators should be a little bit more concerned about their customers who are not all specialists in this matters or at least beginners as is my case..

Thanks in advance.

 Signature 

Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 06:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8351
Joined  2009-05-14

DAZ Studio Only and for any version of Daz Studio.

In the description at the end it states This product is for DAZ Studio only.

In the What’s Included & Features tab of that product page

•Temple of Mars Model (.DAZ) the format .daz tells me it can be used in daz Studio 2. 3, 4 and 4.5
If the format was .duf then it would be DS4.5 only.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 06:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7100
Joined  2005-08-15

In the Product Description it says : This product is for DAZ Studio only.

It also says : Compatible 3D Software DAZ Studio, Poser

Very confusing, and needs to be fixed.  It should work in most versions of DS, DS3, DS4 and DS4.5, but I cannot be certain.  It uses DSA files for applying the textures, which means they should run correctly in any version of DAZ Studio.

If you buy this item, and it does not work for you, or even if you just don’t like it, DAZ 3D have a 30 day money back policy, and I have never had any problems getting my money back at any time.  I know it is not a definitive answer, but there are problems at the moment with the new store setup.  Someone else may know for sure, so hang on for a little while.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2012-12-21
JimmyC_2009 - 15 January 2013 06:19 AM

In the Product Description it says : This product is for DAZ Studio only.

It also says : Compatible 3D Software DAZ Studio, Poser

Very confusing, and needs to be fixed.  It should work in most versions of DS, DS3, DS4 and DS4.5, but I cannot be certain.  It uses DSA files for applying the textures, which means they should run correctly in any version of DAZ Studio.

If you buy this item, and it does not work for you, or even if you just don’t like it, DAZ 3D have a 30 day money back policy, and I have never had any problems getting my money back at any time.  I know it is not a definitive answer, but there are problems at the moment with the new store setup.  Someone else may know for sure, so hang on for a little while.

So Jimmy you completely agree with me to say it is not precise .

I understand the possibility of returning the addon Jimmy but It would be less troublesome for the customer as well as the necessary time to refund him by Daz in case of return for the addon not working. We’re here in the computer and software business and one of the major rules of this field of activity is preciseness.

Anyway I’ll try this environment which could help in my development and following your yesterday’s advice in doing so Pete.

Thanks to both of you

 Signature 

Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 07:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2012-12-21

While You’re both here can one of you give me the meaning of BUMP 3D? I’m such an ignorant! and foreigner to make things woth!lol!

 Signature 

Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 07:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17139
Joined  2003-10-09

Do you mean Bump maps ?

They are grey scale images used to simulate raised details in an image, rather than using real geometry, which would make the poly count much higher, and slow down the rendering.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 08:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2012-12-21
chohole - 15 January 2013 07:16 AM

Do you mean Bump maps ?

They are grey scale images used to simulate raised details in an image, rather than using real geometry, which would make the poly count much higher, and slow down the rendering.


I’ve met the word in the software and in 3D papers so honestly I can’t remember in which cases what was refered to? Perhaps you could council me on a source where I could find the major words used here and their definitions.

 Signature 

Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 08:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17139
Joined  2003-10-09

Well there is this, but it may be rather intimidating

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/46/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 08:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2012-12-21
chohole - 15 January 2013 08:38 AM

Well there is this, but it may be rather intimidating

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/46/

I’m courageous and hardy! I will survive!lol!

 Signature 

Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 09:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17139
Joined  2003-10-09

cool grin

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2012-12-21

Chohole, good morning,

Tell me , is there a way to bend a plane so as to have two different angles for the foreground an background of my street pavement? Or should I position two different planes one being the continuation of the first with its own angle?

 Signature 

Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 05:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17139
Joined  2003-10-09

Ummm   I hate to admit this, but I am not the best person to ask about this problem, because, although I can answer the general questions I actually don’t use Daz Studio.  I am sure Szark or Jimmy will be along soon to answer this question for you.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 05:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8351
Joined  2009-05-14

I am here.

jvdesuit1 when you mean bend do you mean curved or sharp angles Can you draw a picture to show us?

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 05:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8351
Joined  2009-05-14
chohole - 15 January 2013 08:38 AM

Well there is this, but it may be rather intimidating

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/46/

I am ashamed to say I have never seen this before cho…great resource..thank you chohole

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 06:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2012-12-21
Szark - 16 January 2013 05:10 AM

I am here.

jvdesuit1 when you mean bend do you mean curved or sharp angles Can you draw a picture to show us?

Yes It can be both cases; either a street having in the beginning a certain angle of steepness or even flat then after a few yards the steepness increases regularly; that would be the most realistic way to do it; although you can have a complete sharp angle the best comparison would be some of the streets of San Francisco with their regular succession of steep angle then crossed by another street which is perpendicular to the climbing one:

 

Image Attachments
profiles_of_the_street_1.jpg
 Signature 

Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 January 2013 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8351
Joined  2009-05-14

Sorry about the dely, had a visitor, went for a short walk to the shops then had to prepare the evening meal.

Yes we can manipulate a mesh with the D-Form tool but like I have said before I can take you through the process as I don’t have access to Daz Studio at all. I know you don’t like English Vidieos but doing a google search is the only thing I can suggest unless others know of some written tutorails on the D-Form Tool. smile

Google Secrch for Vids

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 5
1