Digital Art Zone

 
     
Posing problems
Posted: 14 January 2013 01:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2011-08-12

Hi, I’m experiencing some problems with posing in Carrara 8.5 Beta
sometimes when I select the Hip on Genesis and go to move it up or down on a specific axis I accidentally select another bone in the figure and wind up dragging genesis into a strange and often uncomfortable looking pose. The real problem though is that clicking undo doesn’t take back the change I accidentally made to the pose. Any idea why this is happening and how I can avoid or fix it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 January 2013 02:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  276
Joined  2007-07-13

When you want to move, rotate or change size of something, just move the small window arrow above the blue/green/red arrow until it changes to a cross, press the left mouse button and move the arrow to move, the circle to rotate or the box to change size.

Image Attachments
Carrara_Cross.jpg
 Signature 

- Live Long and Prosper -
My DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/1589

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 January 2013 07:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1346
Joined  2008-01-01

I think Son of Belmont is referring to the selection of a bone switching to another as you click.  The arrowhead invariably lies on top of another bone and when you click it, the selection changes to the underlying one.  This seems to be even worse with Genesis.  About the only way to avoid this is to zoom in real close and angle your viewpoint so that the arrowhead is not overlaying another bone.

To fix a “mistake” on posing Genesis you need to go to the animation tab and use one of the zero options - “send bones to reference position”  is greyed out, so is not an option.

This could so easily be fixed if the bones were changed to solids instead of those horrible dotted lines.  I’ve been asking for this for years and it is always ignored.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 01:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2011-08-12

Thanks
that’s exactly what I meant

I’ve got a new question now
how to I put a key frame on all of Genesis’ bones? I can’t seem to select more than one of them at a time.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 January 2013 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Son of Belmont smile

hopefully this pic will help answer both questions.

Use the Quad view, (or other multi-views) to see the figure from different directions, this allows you to zoom in on the hip (or any other hard to grab area, and select the movement arrows, without selecting another bone,

Use Puppeteer to create a pose dot,. then click that pose dot to apply it to the figure, which will create a key-frame for all the figures bones.

smile

Image Attachments
Gen_pose_select.jpg
Profile