Digital Art Zone

 
     
Greeble City Blocks 2
Posted: 12 January 2013 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4122
Joined  2011-11-25

Hi, just bought the lovely set: http://www.daz3d.com/greeble-city-blocks-2

In the promo art there is a bridge. Does anyone know what set this is from? There are people walking across it in the screenie. Looks very cool, but it isn’t in the ‘whats included’ that I can see…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 10:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  196
Joined  2004-10-09

That bridge is not available. It was modeled separately by Stonemason based on the geometries for the greeble set for the promo render (he confirmed that in a post in the old forum if I recall correctly). Most of the geometry seems to be part of Greeble block 36. You could extract it from that with a modelling program. For bridges in this kind of setting I usually use the GIS Skyway products (http://www.daz3d.com/gis-skyway and the expansion). They work very well.
Ciao
TD

 Signature 

I reject your Reality and substitute my Vue!
Check my gallery at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 11:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7630
Joined  2009-05-14

My recollection is the same as thd777

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 12:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4122
Joined  2011-11-25

Thanks. I love the greeble blocks. I did try the gis skyway- it just that it doesn’t match the texture of the other products, and was hoping I was just missing something with greeble =-)

Thanks again!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7630
Joined  2009-05-14

Matching Textures? Well you could dig out the Greebie texture maps and mess with them lining them up with the GIS textures or if it is a matter of matching the colour then playing with the diffuse colour for the GIS surfaces and see if you can get the colour close may be the easiest.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16

It is actually just the road portion of block 29 and 30. SM spoke about it in his commercial thread. Changing some mat zones to transparent will get it closer but you need to manually edit with the block the group editor in Poser.

Not sure about how to do it in Studio.

EDIT> Basically just like thd777 said (just saw it lol). Could be the road from block 36. But the idea is the same. You will have to edit it to get the bridge.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 02:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7630
Joined  2009-05-14

Here is how to make new mat zones in Daz Studio http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/14082/#204267

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile