Digital Art Zone

 
     
Daz 4 to Bryce
Posted: 05 June 2012 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-06-09

Everytime i try to use the bridge between Daz 4 and Bryce 7.1, Daz 4 crashes, also when i save the model as an object file and import into Bryce the eyelashes basicaly turn into big black circles around the eyes, any sugestions ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15150
Joined  2003-10-09

The eyelashes, you need to find the mesh for the eye lashes, and the apply the lash transparency in the DTE.using the picture editor and blend transparency.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 06:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  207
Joined  2003-10-09

Confirmed bug with the D|S to Bryce bridge (Mac and PC:
https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=46854

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 06:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14
chohole - 05 June 2012 02:50 PM

The eyelashes, you need to find the mesh for the eye lashes, and the apply the lash transparency in the DTE.using the picture editor and blend transparency.

Thanks for the tips. I have finally succeded to render Genesis character in the Bryce,
that does not look strange due to lack of lashes and eyes transparency not properly transferred
via .obj from Daz Studio 4 Pro.

Image Attachments
AidenMix42sc02pic04x800.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 06:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

Bryce veterans knows how to fix transparency in Bryce for the characters transferred
via .obj from Daz Studio, but for the rest of us…   
Below is a quick how to fix eyelashes transparency in the Bryce.
1. Find in the transferred meshes the eyelashes (on mine transfer it was the second mesh)
and click on M to edit their material.

Image Attachments
LashesMesh.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 06:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

Click on the Texture Source Editor in the right upper corner.

Image Attachments
LashesMat.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 06:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

And finally click on the ‘copy’ on the left upper rectangle with lashes image in it and then
click on the ‘paste’ in the upper middle rectangle image (paste into selected alpha image).
Accept the changes and render.

Image Attachments
LashesAlpha.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 07:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-06-09

Thanks everyone, the tips worked great, now my models do not look like they got beat up =)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 07:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

Without the transparency fix changes the render looks like the one below.

Image Attachments
AidenMix42sc01pic02x800.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 09:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

I have tried to improve shadows by using True Ambience in the ‘Render Options’,
but the render time was over 60 times longer than without it.
Are there any other methods to improve a quality of the render without so much increasing
of the rendering time?
The render and its ‘Render Options’ are below.

Image Attachments
AidenMix42sc02pic06x800.jpg
AidenMix42sc02pic06RenderSettings.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3343
Joined  2004-10-01

@Artini - you may also want to check that Blend Transparency in the Material Options is ticked (see picture). This is usually the case if you have picture textures but seldom if you use procedurals. If it is not checked, transparency may not give you the result you expect.


TA renders are notoriously very long winded and produce noise also with the highest setting. You can check if it is worth the wait by rendering with a low rays per pixel setting - 4 or 9. The noise will be very prominent but you can judge how the light looks.


There is no true alternative to TA but using a light dome or IBL will often give you very pleasing results. If the Bryce sun is used as main light source, you can disable shadow casting for IBL and speed up the render considerably.

Image Attachments
MatOpt.jpg
 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 01:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

Thanks a lot for these great tips, Horo. I will try them soon.
Right now I am rendering another scene with the ‘True Ambience’ checked in the render options.
I was also surprised how well the Aiden materials for Michael 5 were transferred to the Bryce.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-06-09

Thanks for step by step Artini, images help a lot, Thanks Horo

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 02:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

You’re welcome, dragonsbain. And great, that you started this thread. It has helped me a lot.
I have stacked with the problem of the lack of transparency with Daz Studio exported characters
for quite a long time, so I am happy that it is easy to fix it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 02:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  782
Joined  2004-05-14

Here is another render of Michael 5 with Aiden materials wearing a Supersuit.

Image Attachments
AidenMix43sc01pic08x800.jpg
Profile