Digital Art Zone

 
     
Alpha not working right for render or assembly room
Posted: 10 January 2013 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  660
Joined  2008-02-22

I am using C8.5 beta, and I made an alpha map for a characters jeans to be shorts. Works great. Saved the whole character so I could try her in other scenes.

Dropped her in Howie’s Maple Meadows to see how she worked….and the alpha map does not work in Assembly room or render? If I go to the materials, it shows, renders and works in the preview?

What would be causing it to work fine in the materials but not in render or assembly room? Any thoughts?

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 January 2013 09:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

check BOTH locations for transparency in the render room settings… If you have global illumination turned on, there are seperate controls for the transparency (and light through transparency) under the GI tab.

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 January 2013 09:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  660
Joined  2008-02-22

Ah, I did not realize that…off to check that.  Thanks

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile