Digital Art Zone

 
     
DAZ 4.5 Constantly crashes on MAC
Posted: 08 January 2013 03:52 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  574
Joined  2012-11-06

Hi,

Does anyone else have this issue?  DAZ routinely crashes on me.  Sometimes just after opening the application.  Sometimes when opening projects.  It is really frustrating.

I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 on Core i7 with 16Gb of memory.

Thanks.

 Signature 

Get updates on the progress of Capsized the Movie!

“Just because I don’t know the meaning of my art, does not mean it has no meaning.” - Salvador Dali

My Video Portfolio
My Art Portfolio
My Music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Which version of DAZ Studio?

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2007-12-12
adamr001 - 08 January 2013 04:13 PM

Which version of DAZ Studio?

adam001..in the title “DAZ 4.5 Constantly crashes on MAC.”  grin

 

 

 Signature 

Specs: Win7 x64 • Gigabyte GTX 570 • Gigabyte P45T-ES3G • Intel Core2 Quad 3.0ghz • 16gb Ram
Click For My Rendo Gallery Old Post Count 910

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8678
Joined  2007-11-06

4.5.1.6 or something else?
What does “Troubleshooting > About Your Video Card” say?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 07:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  574
Joined  2012-11-06

Sorry, let me clarify that.  4.5.1.6 Pro Edition (64 Bit)

I have tried reinstalling everything and rebuilding the DB several times.  Doesn’t seem to matter.

 Signature 

Get updates on the progress of Capsized the Movie!

“Just because I don’t know the meaning of my art, does not mean it has no meaning.” - Salvador Dali

My Video Portfolio
My Art Portfolio
My Music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 10:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
cipher_X - 08 January 2013 05:57 PM
adamr001 - 08 January 2013 04:13 PM

Which version of DAZ Studio?

adam001..in the title “DAZ 4.5 Constantly crashes on MAC.”  grin

 

There’s something like 5 versions of 4.5 out…the original release, an interim beta, 4.5.1.6, and two more betas…and yes, the exact version number is very material, because there are certain crash issues that have been addressed by the various updates.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 04:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5592
Joined  2005-08-29

Where does it crash? Can you post the first lines of the backtrace and I’ll know if it is the classic crash with the CMS, that you best fix by going to Content DB Maintenance doing:
- Mark all as seen
- Condense Database
- Process Metadata queue

That will keep DS floating until you install more content, then you need to repeat that.

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 08:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2003-10-09

I have pretty much the same problem on my MAC.  I hope there’s a solution to this.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 08:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Rain - 13 January 2013 08:26 PM

I have pretty much the same problem on my MAC.  I hope there’s a solution to this.

It would really help, if you like the original poster, provided the requested information…

Exact OS version, exact DS version, the lines from the backtrace and so on.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 09:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  526
Joined  2003-10-09

Same version of DS, on a Mac and I don’t have any issues. Not that that is helpful.

Profile