Compatibility between V4/M4 and V5/M5 and add-ons

eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
edited December 1969 in New Users

As a new user, I get confused by the compatibility issues. Purchasing V5 and M5, I assumed I would have the latest versions, so wouldn't have to worry about outdated products.

Yet, I am looking for free stuff, and a lot does say it works for Victoria 4.

Example:
http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=365

or

http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=405

It's said that I have to apply to Victoria 4.2. Won't it work on Victoria 5? At least, I haven't been able to figure out how to install correctly Yoko and apply her to Victoria 5.

If I want to benefit from the great collection of existing characters that seem to apply only to Victoria 4, do I have to purchase Victoria 4 even though I have Victoria 5?

Comments

  • JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,247
    edited December 1969

    As a new user, I get confused by the compatibility issues. Purchasing V5 and M5, I assumed I would have the latest versions, so wouldn't have to worry about outdated products.

    Yet, I am looking for free stuff, and a lot does say it works for Victoria 4.

    Example:
    http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=365

    or

    http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=405

    It's said that I have to apply to Victoria 4.2. Won't it work on Victoria 5? At least, I haven't been able to figure out how to install correctly Yoko and apply her to Victoria 5.

    If I want to benefit from the great collection of existing characters that seem to apply only to Victoria 4, do I have to purchase Victoria 4 even though I have Victoria 5?

    V5 is based on Genesis, V4 is not. Clothing for V4 can be used on V5 via Autofit, and skins for V4 can be used on any Genesis base by changing the UV Map in the Surfaces pane.

    If you want to use V4 characters on V5, you will need to use a plugin called GenX which is for sale here in the store. You would set your base Genesis model to V4, and then apply the converted character from GenX. Genesis is a brand new figure, and is completely different to V4 so it will always be a workaround.

    If you want to transfer a V4 character to Genesis using GenX, you would also need to own V4 to do it.

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    What I am wondering is what is really the difference between the 4 and 5 generations. Are there more polygons? Any technical specification that characterizes the evolution from one model to the other?

    In other words, are v4 based models of lower quality than v5 based models?

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,371
    edited December 1969

    The base mesh of the fourth generation figures has more polygons than Genesis - over 70,000 to nearly 20,000 - but Genesis is designed to have SubDivision applied so that doesn't affect the smoothness of the final mesh. Genesis, being a weight-mapped figure and apply the SubD after posing, has better bending than the older figures, as well as useful features such as adjustable joint centres (well, the older figures could do that in DS but aren't set up to do so) and alternative uv maps (again, could be done with the older figures but wasn't).

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    Interesting. So, does that mean that what Gen X does is to adjust the v4 models to the Genesis standard by applying subD and reducing the number of polys? Or am I completely missing the point?

  • Canary3dCanary3d Posts: 1,473
    edited December 1969

    Gen X projects the shape of the V4-based character into the Genesis mesh, so that the Genesis mesh can assume the shape of that character. You need to have the V4 shape for Genesis to do this, since the morphs are additive.

    Morphs are alterations in the point positions of the mesh, without altering the basic structure or number of vertexes.

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    I am starting to get it. Does that mean that the huge collection of characters based on Victoria 4 are not usable on Genesis unless I purchase both Victoria 4, the Morph++ for Victoria 4, and also Gen X?

  • JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,247
    edited December 1969

    That is about the height of it.

    All of the Gen 5 figures are based on Genesis, and all of the Gen 4 female figures, A4, She Freak 4 etc, are all morphs of the V4 base figure.

    The (more or less) equivalent of Morphs++ for Genesis, is the Evolution Head and Body morphs. They give a great deal of range to the figure.

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Example that might help. To transfer a V4 Character that uses Morphs++ ,Elite Morphs plus the Custom morphs of the figure to Genesis you need all this. V4 Base, Morphs++ for V4, Elite Morphs for V4, and the Custom Character for V4. Then you Need the GenX plugin and the V4 Shape for Genesis as well.

    In my point of View I think its alot of NEEDS for just one Character. I do V4 for Genesis, Evolotuon Morphs Bundle for Genesis, Muscle Morphs for Genesis and then just dial my own figure that I like for Genesis. Then I use any V4 texture I like including the free ones. I save money and have pride of knowing its all my work and my idea for the new character.

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    Yes, good points... how to you do v4 for Genesis though?

    I also realised that I had the same problem with Stephanie. I bought a character based on Stephanie, and obviously the texture doesn't match with the shape. Anything I should do other than purchase Stephanie?

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited January 2013

    Yes, good points... how to you do v4 for Genesis though?

    I also realised that I had the same problem with Stephanie. I bought a character based on Stephanie, and obviously the texture doesn't match with the shape. Anything I should do other than purchase Stephanie?

    This is how I do V4 M4 for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/v4-and-m4-shapes-for-genesis and this is how I do the other Generation 4 shapes for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/gen-4-iconic-shapes-for-genesis
    Then I have all the Evolution Morphs for Genesis as well

    http://www.daz3d.com/genesis-evolution-morph-bundle
    http://www.daz3d.com/genesis-evolution-muscularity

    I hope this helps.

    Post edited by Jaderail on
  • mark128mark128 Posts: 880
    edited December 1969

    Jaderail said:
    Yes, good points... how to you do v4 for Genesis though?

    I also realised that I had the same problem with Stephanie. I bought a character based on Stephanie, and obviously the texture doesn't match with the shape. Anything I should do other than purchase Stephanie?

    This is how I do V4 M4 for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/v4-and-m4-shapes-for-genesis and this is how I do the other Generation 4 shapes for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/gen-4-iconic-shapes-for-genesis
    Then I have all the Evolution Morphs for Genesis as well.

    There is a Stephanie 4 for Genesis too: http://www.daz3d.com/stephanie-4-for-genesis

    As Jaderail suggests you can start from the V4/M4/S4 shape for genesis and use the Evolution Head and Body morphs to create something like the character you bought or your own creation that looks good in that skin.

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    So, I've been all the way to actually purchase Victoria 4.2 starter pack as well as the Gen X add-on... this has allowed me to see in the scene the v4-based characters that I had acquired. All things good so far.

    But I don't know where to find Gen X in Studio. I would like these characters to become Genesis-based, which is the point of Gen X, but I don't know how to do that. Any hint?

  • JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,247
    edited December 1969

    So, I've been all the way to actually purchase Victoria 4.2 starter pack as well as the Gen X add-on... this has allowed me to see in the scene the v4-based characters that I had acquired. All things good so far.

    But I don't know where to find Gen X in Studio. I would like these characters to become Genesis-based, which is the point of Gen X, but I don't know how to do that. Any hint?

    I am using 4.5.1.6, and GenX is available in Window > Panes (Tabs) > GenX, at the bottom of the Window drop-down menu.

    There is a good readme with GenX, and there are some videos on YouTube too, and a few threads on here too.

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    Thanks for that. It's not in my menu. I guess a reinstall is in order.

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    Oh God. I had purchased the update for Gen 4, not the full product. I had to repurchase the whole stuff. I lost 11$ in the process :(.

    Not surprisingly I got the menu now. Thanks!

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    Jimmy, since you seem to be used to Gen X... I still have a problem. As explained in the tutorial pdf, I drag my characters (in Actor format) to the Transfer tab, and the cursor turns into a +, but when I release, nothing happens.

    Can you help me figure out what they consider a "supported figure"? What format should it be and what should I ensure is has?

  • eric.lageleric.lagel Posts: 65
    edited December 1969

    OK, I realise I had to drop a .cr2 file, not a .duf one. Going on....

  • Proxima ShiningProxima Shining Posts: 1,001
    edited December 1969

    Oh God. I had purchased the update for Gen 4, not the full product. I had to repurchase the whole stuff. I lost 11$ in the process :(.

    Not surprisingly I got the menu now. Thanks!

    Hello, Eric. Regarding the 11$ you spent on the wrong product - you can simply file a support ticket to Sales Support and they will give you the money back. DAZ company has a money-back guarantee valid for all items you have bought within the last 30 days. I assume you bought the Gen4 update just now, so you are eligible for this. Just scroll down the page to Help - Contact us and send the ticket. It takes about 2-3 days before they respond. They will usually give you the money as store credit, if you want it any other way, you have to specify this in your support ticket.

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel