Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Compatibility between V4/M4 and V5/M5 and add-ons
Posted: 07 January 2013 05:38 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

As a new user, I get confused by the compatibility issues. Purchasing V5 and M5, I assumed I would have the latest versions, so wouldn’t have to worry about outdated products.

Yet, I am looking for free stuff, and a lot does say it works for Victoria 4.

Example:
http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=365

or

http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=405

It’s said that I have to apply to Victoria 4.2. Won’t it work on Victoria 5? At least, I haven’t been able to figure out how to install correctly Yoko and apply her to Victoria 5.

If I want to benefit from the great collection of existing characters that seem to apply only to Victoria 4, do I have to purchase Victoria 4 even though I have Victoria 5?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2013 05:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7100
Joined  2005-08-15
eric.lagel - 07 January 2013 05:38 PM

As a new user, I get confused by the compatibility issues. Purchasing V5 and M5, I assumed I would have the latest versions, so wouldn’t have to worry about outdated products.

Yet, I am looking for free stuff, and a lot does say it works for Victoria 4.

Example:
http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=365

or

http://www.artraiders.com/download_page.php?file_id=405

It’s said that I have to apply to Victoria 4.2. Won’t it work on Victoria 5? At least, I haven’t been able to figure out how to install correctly Yoko and apply her to Victoria 5.

If I want to benefit from the great collection of existing characters that seem to apply only to Victoria 4, do I have to purchase Victoria 4 even though I have Victoria 5?

V5 is based on Genesis, V4 is not.  Clothing for V4 can be used on V5 via Autofit, and skins for V4 can be used on any Genesis base by changing the UV Map in the Surfaces pane.

If you want to use V4 characters on V5, you will need to use a plugin called GenX which is for sale here in the store.  You would set your base Genesis model to V4, and then apply the converted character from GenX.  Genesis is a brand new figure, and is completely different to V4 so it will always be a workaround.

If you want to transfer a V4 character to Genesis using GenX, you would also need to own V4 to do it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 07:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

What I am wondering is what is really the difference between the 4 and 5 generations. Are there more polygons? Any technical specification that characterizes the evolution from one model to the other?

In other words, are v4 based models of lower quality than v5 based models?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 08:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15815
Joined  2003-10-09

The base mesh of the fourth generation figures has more polygons than Genesis - over 70,000 to nearly 20,000 - but Genesis is designed to have SubDivision applied so that doesn’t affect the smoothness of the final mesh. Genesis, being a weight-mapped figure and apply the SubD after posing, has better bending than the older figures, as well as useful features such as adjustable joint centres (well, the older figures could do that in DS but aren’t set up to do so) and alternative uv maps (again, could be done with the older figures but wasn’t).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 09:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

Interesting. So, does that mean that what Gen X does is to adjust the v4 models to the Genesis standard by applying subD and reducing the number of polys? Or am I completely missing the point?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1472
Joined  2003-10-09

Gen X projects the shape of the V4-based character into the Genesis mesh, so that the Genesis mesh can assume the shape of that character.  You need to have the V4 shape for Genesis to do this, since the morphs are additive.

Morphs are alterations in the point positions of the mesh, without altering the basic structure or number of vertexes.

 Signature 

My DAZ Store
My Free Stuff
My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 02:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

I am starting to get it. Does that mean that the huge collection of characters based on Victoria 4 are not usable on Genesis unless I purchase both Victoria 4, the Morph++ for Victoria 4, and also Gen X?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 03:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7100
Joined  2005-08-15

That is about the height of it.

All of the Gen 5 figures are based on Genesis, and all of the Gen 4 female figures, A4, She Freak 4 etc, are all morphs of the V4 base figure.

The (more or less) equivalent of Morphs++ for Genesis, is the Evolution Head and Body morphs.  They give a great deal of range to the figure.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 05:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Example that might help. To transfer a V4 Character that uses Morphs++ ,Elite Morphs plus the Custom morphs of the figure to Genesis you need all this. V4 Base, Morphs++ for V4, Elite Morphs for V4, and the Custom Character for V4. Then you Need the GenX plugin and the V4 Shape for Genesis as well.

In my point of View I think its alot of NEEDS for just one Character. I do V4 for Genesis, Evolotuon Morphs Bundle for Genesis, Muscle Morphs for Genesis and then just dial my own figure that I like for Genesis. Then I use any V4 texture I like including the free ones. I save money and have pride of knowing its all my work and my idea for the new character.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 05:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

Yes, good points… how to you do v4 for Genesis though?

I also realised that I had the same problem with Stephanie. I bought a character based on Stephanie, and obviously the texture doesn’t match with the shape. Anything I should do other than purchase Stephanie?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 06:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22
eric.lagel - 09 January 2013 05:58 PM

Yes, good points… how to you do v4 for Genesis though?

I also realised that I had the same problem with Stephanie. I bought a character based on Stephanie, and obviously the texture doesn’t match with the shape. Anything I should do other than purchase Stephanie?

This is how I do V4 M4 for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/v4-and-m4-shapes-for-genesis and this is how I do the other Generation 4 shapes for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/gen-4-iconic-shapes-for-genesis
Then I have all the Evolution Morphs for Genesis as well

http://www.daz3d.com/genesis-evolution-morph-bundle
http://www.daz3d.com/genesis-evolution-muscularity

I hope this helps.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 January 2013 06:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  820
Joined  2012-09-24
Jaderail - 09 January 2013 06:09 PM
eric.lagel - 09 January 2013 05:58 PM

Yes, good points… how to you do v4 for Genesis though?

I also realised that I had the same problem with Stephanie. I bought a character based on Stephanie, and obviously the texture doesn’t match with the shape. Anything I should do other than purchase Stephanie?

This is how I do V4 M4 for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/v4-and-m4-shapes-for-genesis and this is how I do the other Generation 4 shapes for Genesis http://www.daz3d.com/gen-4-iconic-shapes-for-genesis
Then I have all the Evolution Morphs for Genesis as well.

There is a Stephanie 4 for Genesis too: http://www.daz3d.com/stephanie-4-for-genesis

As Jaderail suggests you can start from the V4/M4/S4 shape for genesis and use the Evolution Head and Body morphs to create something like the character you bought or your own creation that looks good in that skin.

 Signature 

DAZ Gallery

Renderosity Gallery

Deviant Art Gallery

My Art Studio Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

So, I’ve been all the way to actually purchase Victoria 4.2 starter pack as well as the Gen X add-on… this has allowed me to see in the scene the v4-based characters that I had acquired. All things good so far.

But I don’t know where to find Gen X in Studio. I would like these characters to become Genesis-based, which is the point of Gen X, but I don’t know how to do that. Any hint?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 04:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7100
Joined  2005-08-15
eric.lagel - 12 January 2013 04:13 PM

So, I’ve been all the way to actually purchase Victoria 4.2 starter pack as well as the Gen X add-on… this has allowed me to see in the scene the v4-based characters that I had acquired. All things good so far.

But I don’t know where to find Gen X in Studio. I would like these characters to become Genesis-based, which is the point of Gen X, but I don’t know how to do that. Any hint?

I am using 4.5.1.6, and GenX is available in Window > Panes (Tabs) > GenX, at the bottom of the Window drop-down menu.

There is a good readme with GenX, and there are some videos on YouTube too, and a few threads on here too.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 04:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

Thanks for that. It’s not in my menu. I guess a reinstall is in order.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2013 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  2012-12-22

Oh God. I had purchased the update for Gen 4, not the full product. I had to repurchase the whole stuff. I lost 11$ in the process :(.

Not surprisingly I got the menu now. Thanks!

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1