Digital Art Zone

 
     
Loading an Image into the Scene
Posted: 07 January 2013 05:44 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2011-10-01

Is it possible to load a jpg or png file as background into the scene? (I’m working with DAZ 4.5)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2013 06:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7075
Joined  2005-08-15

Yes, it is.

You can go to Edit > Backdrop, and load your image, or you can simply load a plane Primitive, and apply the image as a texture in the Surfaces pane in the Diffuse channel.  It really depends on what you want to do?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2013 07:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2733
Joined  2003-12-06

One small gotcha if you use the backdrop setting — the pic you use should be as close as you can get to the same proportions as your final render. It doesn’t have to be exactly the same pixel dimensions, as long as the ratio of width to height is similar. If it isn’t, then DAZ|Studio will make it fit — with results varying from hilarious to ridiculous.  smirk

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 12:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2011-10-01

Thank the both of you! By the way: Which resolution would you recommend for a nice render?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7075
Joined  2005-08-15

You can’t alter the resolution of a render.

What you can do, is to make the render large enough for printing at a certain DPI resolution.  For exaplle, if you want a 10 inch x 8 inch print at 300 DPI, you would set the render size to 3000 x 2400 pixels.  The size in inches multiplied by the DPI.

Profile