Digital Art Zone

 
     
Export Clothes to Daz 3D
Posted: 05 June 2012 07:21 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2011-08-13

Hello.  What setting do i use to export Clothes to Daz 3D?  Everything i do is wrong.  Theres little info on the subject and im getting really hacked off now.  They always end up being to big or to small.  AAAAAGGGGHHH Whats going on?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 10:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  265
Joined  2005-08-20

Export them to the proper scale.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 11:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  392
Joined  2006-02-03

Probably the last person that you should take advise from on Daz Studio, but I did try it once just to see what to do.

1.  Exported the genesis figure from Studio to Hexagon (send to Hexagon)
2.  Modeled the shirt
3.  Sent back to Studio with the ‘send to) button.

It was a perfect fit because it’s a one for one transfer.

There is a transfer utility in Daz Studio, but haven’t worked with it, just watched the video on Youtube.

I found that objects (OBJ file format) imported from Hexagon into Studio come in at 10X smaller.  So if the default is 100%, then you should import it at 1000%.

That’s pretty much kludging the process though and probably not recommended. heh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  269
Joined  0
Nafyus101 - 05 June 2012 07:21 AM

Hello.  What setting do i use to export Clothes to Daz 3D?  Everything i do is wrong.  Theres little info on the subject and im getting really hacked off now.  They always end up being to big or to small.  AAAAAGGGGHHH Whats going on?

What I can offer is a walk-trough of my work-flow.

Export the figure you are creating something for as an .obj-file. This is for use as a mannequin. Save is somewhere you will find it again.
First remember to zero your figure.
When exporting make sure the scale is set to Poser in the export dialog box.

When importing the mannequin into Hexagon: I use an import scale of 100 %
I have a master mannequin Hexagon-file for every DAZ figure I’m making models for, that I make copies of when I start something new.

After the modeling is done (remember to hide the mannequin, or it will be exported as well….been there, done that to many times)
export the model to an .obj file with an export scale of 0,01 %

Then when importing into DAZ Studio for rigging,  make sure the scale is set to Poser in the import dialog box.

Hope this is somewhat helpfull grin

 Signature 

My freebies : http://www.sharecg.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=Varsel

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 11:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1543
Joined  2008-01-01

Agree with Varsel, with the exception that I import Gen 4 models at 500% and export at .002% - also remember to strip out the materials on the mannekin - I keep keep a library of mannekins ready for Hex.

Haven’t tried doing anything for Genesis - do the same proportions work with it, not being a Poser figure?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 02:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  269
Joined  0
Roygee - 05 June 2012 11:04 PM

Haven’t tried doing anything for Genesis - do the same proportions work with it, not being a Poser figure?

Yes it does. Studio follows the same Poser measurement scale as Poser do, so the Genesis mesh has to be exported out in the same way.

And good point about stripping out the materials.

 Signature 

My freebies : http://www.sharecg.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=Varsel

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 11:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1543
Joined  2008-01-01

Thanks, Varsel - I’ll keep that in mind for when and if Genesis gets working correctly in Carrara grin

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 02:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2011-08-13

Thank you everyone for your help.  I didn’t notice the “send to” options.  Me being stupid sorry.  Also is there anyway to apply my own face to a figure.  Like in Poser with the head room or whatever they call it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 12:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1543
Joined  2008-01-01

Also is there anyway to apply my own face to a figure.  Like in Poser with the head room or whatever they call it?

There are a number of ways of doing this - none of which is easy 1-2-3D.  Daz Studio has a paid plugin which seems to be about the easiest - then there are some other paid apps, such as FaceGen.  The free FaceWorx works well, but takes some work to get really good at.

Then again, you could model your head from photos - look for tutes from CGDreams or Ryan Kittleson on how to do this. 

Basically, you would model a head then substitute that for the head in the model.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 12:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2009-01-27
Nafyus101 - 09 June 2012 02:40 AM

Also is there anyway to apply my own face to a figure.  Like in Poser with the head room or whatever they call it?

 
Believe it or not, making a texture using your own face is the best place to start. Then all you have to do is shape a given model’s head to come even sloppily close to your own head shape and apply the texture. I’ve done it with myself and it gets downright eerie.
 
Never underestimate the power of a good texture image.  smile

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile