Digital Art Zone

 
   
21 of 26
21
DAZ Studio Pro, Version 4.5.1.56, is Now Available!
Posted: 28 March 2013 07:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 301 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8774
Joined  2007-11-06
shawnlau - 28 March 2013 06:39 PM

What is the bug reporting procedure? Where does one report them?

bugs.daz3d.com

You’ll need to register for it—it doesn’t tie in to your DAZ 3D login.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2013 03:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 302 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2013-03-06
Kerya - 28 March 2013 03:55 AM

Well - there WAS a bug report somewhere ... but it was called fixed.
And as far as I remember I was told to buy a newer tablet (mine is an Intuos3) ... no way, no money.
Let’s hope you can work without problems now. smile

Make sure you’re running the latest version of the tablet driver software.  It glitches LESS OFTEN if you do.  I ran into all the problems
you describe when I first installed CS 5.5 last year.  The other reason that your sliders may be over-reacting is a lo-tek one: you may
need to replace the tablet nib.  When it wears down too far, it starts getting pressed up inside the pen too far, making the tablet think that
there’s still pressure on the nib even after you’ve raised the pen from the tablet surface.  Also, the pen sensors can get wonky if you
leave the pen laying around on its side all the time instead of using the holder stand that keeps the pen upright when not in use.
I was told by Wacom to leave the pen sitting in the holder upright for 24 hours, and if I still had slider problems, to change the nib.
If I still had problems, then it was the driver software.  I see that there was a new update for the Intuos3 driver for MacOS posted
to Wacom’s website just this week.  Maybe it’s just their Windows support guys who are rude?

But I agree, the disappearing pointer problem happens in other applications on MacOS as well, so I don’t *think* it’s Studio that’s
causing the problem.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2013 05:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 303 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  89
Joined  2003-10-09

Is DAZ still putting out beta releases to DS?  I can’t seem to find them.  Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2013 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 304 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8774
Joined  2007-11-06
chorse - 29 March 2013 05:46 PM

Is DAZ still putting out beta releases to DS?  I can’t seem to find them.  Thanks

There hasn’t been a public beta since 4.5.1.56 was released.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2013 11:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 305 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  153
Joined  2004-06-23

If it helps at all, Wacom 3, Windows7 64 bit, latest drivers and zero issues. I just tested after reading here.

No more Beta’s usually means the next full version is near.

I’ve just started really testing Studio and learning it. It seems pretty solid other than an occasional odd freeze for reasons I have not figured out yet. Always to do with rendering so far.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 02:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 306 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5967
Joined  2006-02-20
scotchfairy - 29 March 2013 03:04 AM
Kerya - 28 March 2013 03:55 AM

Well - there WAS a bug report somewhere ... but it was called fixed.
And as far as I remember I was told to buy a newer tablet (mine is an Intuos3) ... no way, no money.
Let’s hope you can work without problems now. smile

Make sure you’re running the latest version of the tablet driver software.  It glitches LESS OFTEN if you do.  I ran into all the problems
you describe when I first installed CS 5.5 last year.  The other reason that your sliders may be over-reacting is a lo-tek one: you may
need to replace the tablet nib.  When it wears down too far, it starts getting pressed up inside the pen too far, making the tablet think that
there’s still pressure on the nib even after you’ve raised the pen from the tablet surface.  Also, the pen sensors can get wonky if you
leave the pen laying around on its side all the time instead of using the holder stand that keeps the pen upright when not in use.
I was told by Wacom to leave the pen sitting in the holder upright for 24 hours, and if I still had slider problems, to change the nib.
If I still had problems, then it was the driver software.  I see that there was a new update for the Intuos3 driver for MacOS posted
to Wacom’s website just this week.  Maybe it’s just their Windows support guys who are rude?

But I agree, the disappearing pointer problem happens in other applications on MacOS as well, so I don’t *think* it’s Studio that’s
causing the problem.

Thank you!
I’ve updated the drivers and up to now no problems!
And a special thank you for the information about putting the pen upright - I always used the indentation on the holder to let it lie ...

 

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 307 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11246
Joined  2007-11-06

...well the first full week with the latest version on the nw workstation and so far, save for something glitching with the metadata, been working just fine.  I use the tree display anyway as I find it easier to bounce back & forth between the runtime and library setups (besides, I’m one of those “top down” programmers from the olden days who worked in the ancient languages of the gods wink).

Still impressed at how fast the render times are even with transmaps like hair & foliage while using raytracing and UE.  Did a test pic of my namesake set in the WPS II which rendered in around 6 minutes (and looked incredible).  The last time I tried to render a scene using this set with a UE light set (in 3 Advanced 32 bit) it was maybe 20% complete after about 40 - 45 minutes.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 02:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 308 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2013-03-06

Hah.  I just had the “Mouse pointer goes *pouf*” problem while using my plain old Apple Magic Mouse (the thing that came with this iMac).  The kicker is that the pointer still *works*, it just can’t be seen.  That actually sounds like a problem with Daz, not the Wacom tablet drivers.

The only choice is to quit out and restart.

By the way, why isn’t there a “CLOSE” in the file menu?  That’s *always* been part of the Mac UI.  I can’t remember ever seeing a real program (not a hack) that broke that rule.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 03:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 309 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-03-31

I am a new user of daz studio.
registered, downloaded installer,
there was 2 objects (Genesis Starter Essentials 478MB,  Poser CF 21 MB). I choose them. And installer finished.
BUT THERE NO PROGRAM NO EXE, NO SHORTCUT,
WHAT KIND OF PROGRAM IS THIS, OR AM I SO STUPIT THAT I CANT FIND A LITTLE START EXE,

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME, I AM GETTING CREAZY.

FINALLY I DECIDE TO DOWNLOAD FROM CNET. 600MB
BUT I DONT KNOW IS IT RIGTH VERSION, And my serial is suitable.

I PURHESED DAZ 3D STUDIO 4.5 PRO.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 03:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 310 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14441
Joined  2003-10-09

The Install Manager is for content, not applications. To get the application you need to go to the Available Downloads page of your account: https://www.daz3d.com/downloadable/customer/products/

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 03:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 311 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-03-31
Richard Haseltine - 31 March 2013 03:25 PM

The Install Manager is for content, not applications. To get the application you need to go to the Available Downloads page of your account: https://www.daz3d.com/downloadable/customer/products/


OHH GOD BLESS YOU
YOU ARE A HERO

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 08:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 312 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2006-12-17

excaim  After installing the latest version of Studio Pro and registering, the program will not activate my content creator plugins. It recognizes the Pro registration, and even after installing the Content Creator package as additional encouragement, it doesn’t ask for a serial number for that package and nothing changes.

The Pro version should recognize the appropriate serial number and automatically activate the content creator plugins - but so far it doesn’t. Have tried exiting the program and re-start. Have tried re-entering the serial number. etc.

See screen captures. What might fix this?

Image Attachments
Broken_Plugins.JPGRegistered.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 08:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 313 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8774
Joined  2007-11-06

Installing the CCT separately probably overwrote the versions built into DS with older versions.  Uninstall the CCT, then reinstall DS.  Make sure that it says Pro in the window title.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 09:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 314 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2006-12-17

That was the solution, thank you.

First I manually removed the broken plugins, (since I could not locate the CCT uninstall shortcut), then I reinstalled the latest version of Studio Pro.

All the other content and plugins of other vendors remained in place perfectly, as the new install removed the previous install, then reported that it was “cleaning legacy plugin items”, and then completed the full install.

The result was Studio Pro, registered still without additional entry by myself, and all the plugins including some new ones I purchased today were all “GREEN” and ready to function.

Obviously with this new version of Studio Pro one does not want to install the Content Creator Toolkit except if there were any reason to do a roll back to the previous release. So for now I am packing away the Content Creator Toolkit and all previous installers for those specific plugins that are also in stand alone packages.

So other users, just install the latest version, activate the serial number for the Pro features if you need do, and stop there.

Again, thank you for the prompt answer and solution.

Image Attachments
Plugins_Fixed._.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 April 2013 06:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 315 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2003-11-09
scotchfairy - 30 March 2013 02:37 PM

Hah.  I just had the “Mouse pointer goes *pouf*” problem while using my plain old Apple Magic Mouse (the thing that came with this iMac).  The kicker is that the pointer still *works*, it just can’t be seen.  That actually sounds like a problem with Daz, not the Wacom tablet drivers.

The only choice is to quit out and restart.

By the way, why isn’t there a “CLOSE” in the file menu?  That’s *always* been part of the Mac UI.  I can’t remember ever seeing a real program (not a hack) that broke that rule.

Hi!
Don’t know if I’m doin’ this right or not, if not , sorry.

On my PC when pointer goes “poof”, I manouver (invisible) it to “Viewport options” top right hand corner of viewport and left click, it re-apears.

Profile
 
 
   
21 of 26
21