Digital Art Zone

 
   
7 of 34
7
Tutorial Uber Area Lighting: The Basics
Posted: 09 May 2013 10:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 91 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8350
Joined  2009-05-14

Thanks Mustakettu85, I am glad I could help after all the help you have given me. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 05:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 92 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  173
Joined  2003-10-09

Ok, I’ve run up against something odd.

Is there some limit to the NUMBER of area lights in a scene?

Is it possible to have both area light primitives and surfaces of a larger prop with the light base applied?

Working on something, setting up my primitives and its going swimmingly.  Realize some surfaces would be fine to just apply a light shader to them… wham, all of my lights no longer emit light.  This is troubling.  Can’t figure out why this is happening.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 06:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 93 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2751
Joined  2003-12-06

Odd, AFAIK the only limit on the number of lights of any type (unless you’re letting your graphics card do the render) is if it sends the total render time sky-high and you decide you can’t wait a few weeks for it to finish. If there weren’t any actual error messages pop up, does anything weird show up at the end of the log file after you loaded the last set of lights? (Help menu>Troubleshooting>View Log File and scroll to the end.)

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 09:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 94 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12581
Joined  2007-11-06

...excellent point.  For example Jack’s Aslan court has something like 40 Uber area lights in it. Not all will be shown by your GPU in OpenGL mode (most can only handle up to eight lights), but they are there.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 04:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 95 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8350
Joined  2009-05-14

I can’t add much more to what has already been said, thanks Spotty and Kyoto.

Never come across a limit to be honest.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 07:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 96 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16
evilded777 - 15 May 2013 05:36 PM

...
Is it possible to have both area light primitives and surfaces of a larger prop with the light base applied?...

The Armoury scene here uses 3 area lights and a LP light to create the fire effect. I probably did overkill on the area lights but it worked for what I was trying to do, and… I’m still learning also wink

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 02:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 97 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  173
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t see to have been able to duplicate the issue with a different prop.
But then my tests were with the Beta, and my working machine was still 4.5

More testing is called for.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 03:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 98 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  173
Joined  2003-10-09

Just does not seem to work with this prop.  More testing is in order, but I need to finish this first.

If anyone else wants to test, please feel free I’d love to hear your experiences.  I have tried with both uber area light “objects” (tube, etc), primitives with the shader applied…. but all I am getting are the light surfaces from the prop (now, I may have been getting them before but not had the lights attenuated properly to be able to actually see the results in the test render).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 06:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 99 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  181
Joined  2003-10-09

I want to create a source of ambient, omnidirectional light.  Is it possible to do this using Area Lights on an invisible sphere or hemisphere?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 02:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 100 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8350
Joined  2009-05-14

Ambient as in no AO??

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 10:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 101 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  181
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks Szark!!  I will study AdamR’s tutorial.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 11:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 102 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12581
Joined  2007-11-06

...OK maybe this can be answered here.  Set up a scene using Jack’s Aslan Court with the provided lights.  When I rendered the first time the lights were literally “white hot” in that all the details of the floor were washed out.  The intensity settings were 500% for the Ceiling lights 1,400% for the corridor area lights and 250% for the back lights (all uber area lights).  I also used one linear point light set ata falloff of 100 intensity 60%) to provide a small amount of fill light on the character’s faces.

To get it to look right I had to adjust the intensities as follows (something like 40 lights).

Ceiling Lights 120%
Corridor & Back Lights:  150%

Now Jack did a test render with the lights “as is” (with the original intensity settings) and it looks fine.  Not sure why the light in mine was so blazing hot.  It shouldn’t have been the linear point light as the outer falloff limit globe didn’t even reach the floor.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 11:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 103 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8350
Joined  2009-05-14

I can’t check as I don’t have that product Kyoto sorry but yes strange.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 104 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12581
Joined  2007-11-06

...when I get back home, I’m going to just load the set and lights “as is” and render to show Jack.  I’m wondering if there isn’t something in my setup of 4.5/4.6 that might be causing this as I’ve seen this happen before.  Strange though that it doesn’t occur with Lantios or Cloud9, both of which I use a lot.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 105 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  819
Joined  2012-09-24
Kyoto Kid - 17 May 2013 11:04 AM

...OK maybe this can be answered here.  Set up a scene using Jack’s Aslan Court with the provided lights.  When I rendered the first time the lights were literally “white hot” in that all the details of the floor were washed out.  The intensity settings were 500% for the Ceiling lights 1,400% for the corridor area lights and 250% for the back lights (all uber area lights).  I also used one linear point light set ata falloff of 100 intensity 60%) to provide a small amount of fill light on the character’s faces.

To get it to look right I had to adjust the intensities as follows (something like 40 lights).

Ceiling Lights 120%
Corridor & Back Lights:  150%

Now Jack did a test render with the lights “as is” (with the original intensity settings) and it looks fine.  Not sure why the light in mine was so blazing hot.  It shouldn’t have been the linear point light as the outer falloff limit globe didn’t even reach the floor.

I have this set. I just tried a small test render with the default light set. It renders fine.

The view port looks white hot and the details are all washed out. The reason for this is that Jack left all the AreadLight HeadLamp blockers in the scene. There are 33 or so of the headlamp blockers. If you delete all but one of the headlamp blockers the viewport will look more normal.

Did you do a 3Delight render or one of the preview renders

Image Attachments
test.jpg
 Signature 

DAZ Gallery

Renderosity Gallery

Deviant Art Gallery

My Art Studio Thread

Profile
 
 
   
7 of 34
7