Digital Art Zone

 
     
Strange phenomenon
Posted: 30 December 2012 06:48 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2011-11-11

My older files are corrupted in some ways.
There are some strange spots around the mouth and I cannot add visemes.
(Even if I disabled everything in the inner mouth, nothing helps)
When I try to add visemes or face expressions, it goes to the neck or ear part of the figure.
When I zero the figure, the strange spots disappeare (looks everything just fine), but comes back by every expression change on the face.
When I try a fresh start with a new figure (from the scratch), there is no problem occurs with the face expressions or anything.

Image Attachments
dazforum.jpgScreenShot049.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2799
Joined  2006-07-31

I’m not a specialist in that but for me it looks like the morph is calling to wrong deformation. Could it be that some install in the past overwrote something?

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2008-10-17

It’s also possible that the lower jaw is poking through the skin. I’ve had this happen. What happens if you select the lower jaw and use the “z” transform to move the jaw back into the face?

 Signature 

“Live well, Love Much, Laugh Often”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 12:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2011-11-11

I’ve tried, reelyor.  It is not the jaw.
Just look at the attachment,  it is messed up, inside.
The problem is, that I have the same with many, many other figures too.

Image Attachments
ScreenShot052.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2011-11-11

I have opened the file in DS4, and DS4.5, the same problem comes.
So all my character files are corrupted?
Is there a way to exchange (rebuild) the base figure to a fresh one and keep all the morphs, poses and textures?
That would be a good solution for me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 02:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

What were the originals done in?

Are these saved scenes?

It looks like a variant of the ‘exploding mesh’ syndrome that sometimes happens with DS3 scenes being opened in DS 4.x.  The usual solution is to save the scene again and then reopen the newly saved scene (make a test of one scene and a backup of it…I’ve had a couple that didn’t work correctly).

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2011-11-11

It is an M4.  But my other chracters are corrupted too (V4).
Saved several times (I save often projects for more security).
So i saved again to try your idea, but the problem stayed (like a bad company).
The caracter i made originally with DS4 (not DS3).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 06:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1660
Joined  2008-05-31
kmahu - 30 December 2012 12:59 PM

I have opened the file in DS4, and DS4.5, the same problem comes.
So all my character files are corrupted?

If it happens to several characters it’s most likely something more general not releated to the character files. It would take an incredible coincidence for several different files to be randomly corrupted exactly the same way.

I imagine though that some tools made for “fixing” problems in 3D files may corrupt them as well, if they are bugged or used incorrectly.

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2013 05:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  803
Joined  2007-01-08

Presumably a dso (or more than one) that ended up corrupted or victim of a bug. Or are all the scenes so affected animated?
I’d file a bug report and attach your scene, explaining what version you created the scene in, and what you did.

Profile