Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
How to save a morph in Daz 4 created with Zbrush?
Posted: 28 December 2012 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07

Hello everyone,

I have been following some tutorials and also read some posts but it seems I can’t find the solution.

I’m using DAZ 4.0.3.9 Pro, along with Goz bridge and Zbrush, everything is fine, I can export the model (V4) to Zbrush by using Goz and vice versa.

But ok, when I have the morph in DAZ Studio, how can I save the morph so I can use it for other models or to create a file in order to inject the morphs to the figures?

When I try to save by going to File > Save as > DSF Morph File, I get an error message that says that I must select a TriAx Weight Mapped figure in the scene to save a DSF Morph File. (I have V4 selected in the scene).

I really hope somebody could help me with this because its very frustrating, is very easy to create and export-import the morph but so hard to save it for further uses, and just by saving the scene I can’t use it to other figures.

Thank you very much in advance.
Roca

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  371
Joined  2003-10-09

Hi Roca46

You need to use the free plugin called ‘morph loader pro’. It’s included in the latest versions of Studio (you might have to upgrade if you don’t have it.) Make sure Genesis is selected (or V4 if you’re using that), start the plugin, select ‘choose morph files’ and load in your .obj.
There are several options to convert the size so make sure you’ll select the right one. If you use the plugin ‘Poserscaler’ on the zbrush side just use the Poser measurements.
The new morph will show up as a slider in the parameters/morphs category.

Good luck!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

I’ll have to look at this… I’m not on my own PC atm, but I’ll get to it.  V4 is not triax weight mapped, so that’s a hurdle, but I think you can save your morph anyway as a DSF file under Save As: Support Asset… but I have to check.  Someone might be able to get to it before me, but I’m pretty sure this is where you need to go.

Ouch, just saw you’re usling DS4.0, not DS4.5… so whatever I do might not apply.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

about V4, we can not save the morph as dsf morph file. (only triax weight map figure, can save morph as dsf,,)
and can not save the morph which you loaded as morph inject poze file in ds 4.  I think.
(there seems to be free utility made by forum member,,,  I do not clearly know,,, )

so you may need to use morph loader pro to load the morph shape as obj file which you saved ,,
when you want to mix the shape to V4 on other scene.

I recommend you update the daz 4.0.3 to 4.5.1.6 curernt newest suitable version,,

because it can simply save the V4 with the morph as scene subset.

it can keep the morph controller which loaded to ds and keep current value .

and if you hope to mix the shape you can inject other character morph file to the subset victoria 4(which keep your original morph).

==========================================================
in my pic,, left victoria 4.2  is loaded by usuall cr2 and morphs by power loader.
so she does not have controller of my mixing original morph. (because I can not save the morph as new inj file,,)
so I may need to load the morph obj file by morph loader,,,to use my original morph,,

but right victoria 4.2_sub is scene subset which I saved before.  she has every injected morph for V4.2,
and she have my mixing morph in morph>morph loader section.
of course I can inject new morph (if I get new morph,,) or remove some morph from her (which have rem file,,)
so I can mix new shape too .

Image Attachments
subsetv4.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 11:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07
Oskarsson - 28 December 2012 01:08 PM

Hi Roca46

You need to use the free plugin called ‘morph loader pro’. It’s included in the latest versions of Studio (you might have to upgrade if you don’t have it.) Make sure Genesis is selected (or V4 if you’re using that), start the plugin, select ‘choose morph files’ and load in your .obj.
There are several options to convert the size so make sure you’ll select the right one. If you use the plugin ‘Poserscaler’ on the zbrush side just use the Poser measurements.
The new morph will show up as a slider in the parameters/morphs category.

Good luck!

Thanks for your response Oskarsson but the problem is not loading the morph in DAZ but saving it elsewhere for further uses. Since I’m using Goz bridge for Zbrush, export and import the model with the morphs is very easy, but I would like to have the morph saved in a catergory for other uses.

wancow - 28 December 2012 01:36 PM

I’ll have to look at this… I’m not on my own PC atm, but I’ll get to it.  V4 is not triax weight mapped, so that’s a hurdle, but I think you can save your morph anyway as a DSF file under Save As: Support Asset… but I have to check.  Someone might be able to get to it before me, but I’m pretty sure this is where you need to go.

Ouch, just saw you’re usling DS4.0, not DS4.5… so whatever I do might not apply.

Thanks wancow,
I have been following a tutorial but I don’t have the Save as: Suport Asset in my DAZ version, so as you say it doesn’t apply, so I think the best solution is to try to update DAZ and see if the menus are the same as the ones of the tutorials.

kitakoredaz - 29 December 2012 07:02 AM

about V4, we can not save the morph as dsf morph file. (only triax weight map figure, can save morph as dsf,,)
and can not save the morph which you loaded as morph inject poze file in ds 4.  I think.
(there seems to be free utility made by forum member,,,  I do not clearly know,,, )

so you may need to use morph loader pro to load the morph shape as obj file which you saved ,,
when you want to mix the shape to V4 on other scene.

I recommend you update the daz 4.0.3 to 4.5.1.6 curernt newest suitable version,,

because it can simply save the V4 with the morph as scene subset.

it can keep the morph controller which loaded to ds and keep current value .

and if you hope to mix the shape you can inject other character morph file to the subset victoria 4(which keep your original morph).

==========================================================
in my pic,, left victoria 4.2  is loaded by usuall cr2 and morphs by power loader.
so she does not have controller of my mixing original morph. (because I can not save the morph as new inj file,,)
so I may need to load the morph obj file by morph loader,,,to use my original morph,,

but right victoria 4.2_sub is scene subset which I saved before.  she has every injected morph for V4.2,
and she have my mixing morph in morph>morph loader section.
of course I can inject new morph (if I get new morph,,) or remove some morph from her (which have rem file,,)
so I can mix new shape too .

Thanks for the information kitakoredaz, another problem is that I don’t have an OBJ file because I’m using Goz bridge for Zbrush so it sends automatically the morphs to DAZ with just two clicks.

I think that, as you say, I should update to the newest version of DAZ Studio, so hopefully I can solve this problem

By the way, this is an excellent tutorial I think, but since it is not the same version as my DAZ Studio, then the menus are different but that can be solved updating.

http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/userguide/creating_content/packaging/tutorials/saving_morphs/start

Cheers!
Roca

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 12:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07

Ok,

Now I was able to save the morph but I don’t know where to place it in order to appear on DAZ menu.

It created a folder in Studio/My Library/Data/Author/ Product/ figuretest/

Then here are two folders one called Morphs and other called UV Maps

Inside the folder Morphs: there are two folders one called Roca containing a folder called testmorph where inside there is a .dsf file

the other folder inside the Morphs folder is Author/ Base/ inside there are hundreds and hundreds of dsf files

How I can place my created morph to be used?

Roca

EDIT* Inside the folder called Figures (in my library) there is a duf file with the morph I created and a thumbnail, so I double clicked but it created a new figure with the morph injected.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 04:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  938
Joined  2007-01-04

The biggest problem is that your making morphs for a Poser figure and trying to save them in DS, which is something most try to avoid.

If you plan on distributing the morph for others to use then it HAS to be in Poser format, and you only really have two choices on how to do that with DS.

1) Get your morph into V4, then go “File > Export” and create a new Poser .CR2, your morph will be written into the file, then you use a program like Injection Pose Builder or Injection magic to strip your morph out of the CR2, it will then write it out as an Injection PZ2, which is what you distribute.

2) You can do it all in DS if you wish, in DS4 Pro we have the EXP exporter, you can use it to either make an EXP based Injection PZ2, the morph channels work the same way as V4’s ie you need to run the BAT file to create the channels, or you can use it to create a normal Injection PZ2 which will use one of the Legacy channels.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 December 2012 03:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07
Bejaymac - 30 December 2012 04:36 PM

The biggest problem is that your making morphs for a Poser figure and trying to save them in DS, which is something most try to avoid.

If you plan on distributing the morph for others to use then it HAS to be in Poser format, and you only really have two choices on how to do that with DS.

1) Get your morph into V4, then go “File > Export” and create a new Poser .CR2, your morph will be written into the file, then you use a program like Injection Pose Builder or Injection magic to strip your morph out of the CR2, it will then write it out as an Injection PZ2, which is what you distribute.

2) You can do it all in DS if you wish, in DS4 Pro we have the EXP exporter, you can use it to either make an EXP based Injection PZ2, the morph channels work the same way as V4’s ie you need to run the BAT file to create the channels, or you can use it to create a normal Injection PZ2 which will use one of the Legacy channels.

Thanks Bejaymac,

I went to the part 2, but I can’t use the EXP export function, it gives me an error message that says: “Please load at least one legacy figure in the scene”
I have V4 in the scene (selected) with the morphs added from Zbrush.

Also there is a tutorial on Youtube about using EXP exporter but can’t use because of this error.

Hope someone can help!
Roca.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 December 2012 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  938
Joined  2007-01-04

Only things I can think of are either the EXP exporter is bugged in your build of DS, or your not loading V4 from her Poser CR2.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 December 2012 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

thanks much bejaymac,, II have not konown about Exp exporter (though it can access from scene option) red face

I asked same qusiton before,,how to save V4 or M4 morph in ds 4.5 and make inj files as same as product morphs (eg Aiko4,, etc).
but have not heared about Exp exporter untill now,, ^^;

I am so sorry Roca 46 , so you may need not save as obj I think.
it may better to save as Injection PZ2 (if it can work without problem,,)

on the other hand, it is not difficutl to save as obj,,
after you have used Goz bridge for Zbrush then improted V4 morph in ds.

you can just export the V4 figure with applied your morph shape (auto imported from Zbrush) .
select V4 with shape, in scene tab, then export it as obj from ds top menu,
exprot.

the obj file can be morph target which you can load anytime you want by morph loader.

on this case you need not change scale, (because you exported the shape from ds as obj , and improt it to ds,,  ,)
just set 100 % scale and save the current shape as obj.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 05:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07

Thanks Bejaymac, yep I did another test and EXP exporter worked with the default V4. Still have to do a quick test with the morphs today and see how it goes.

Yes kitakoredaz, I’m using the obj option and seems to work well between DAZ and Zbrush. If I’m able to inject a morph to other V4 figure I will explain the process here.

Thanks all!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 10:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07

Yay!!! Finally I was able to create an INJ/REM morph!

The definitive tutorial that helped me a lot with EXP Exporter is this one http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/tutorials/exp/tutorials

Highly recommend the read.

Basically what I did was:

1- Load the default V4.2 and export it as obj

2- Load this obj file into Zbrush and modify the body, then export it as obj (new one)

3- In DAZ, load Morph Loader Pro and load the new obj file created with Zbrush to use as a morph.

4- Once the morph was added to the figure (slider at 0 according to the tutorial) I used the EXP Exporter as explained in the tutorial above.

And that’s it!
Thanks all!

Roca

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 January 2013 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07

Hello all,

I’ve been doing some tests and I have some problems.

When EXP export has exported the morph, it creates lots of folders with body parts and files (that contain the morphs) and also in the Pose folder, the INJ and REM files.
That’s ok, the problem is that when I put the files created in the same folder as !DAZ/Victoria 4, everytime I load V4 it has the parameter on the right for the morph that I created and I have seen that vendors only uses the INJ/REM files in the Pose folder, but mines don’t work with only the INJ/REM, they need the deltas and all the parts of the body that uses the morph.

Hope somebody can clarify me this.

Roca.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2005-01-07

Guys, I need your help. I’m just one step to finally create this.

The problem is that EXP plugin creates the files in separate folders and these files (the tutorial says) go to the !DAZ/Victoria 4 folder.
Its ok but I don’t want the morphs in the default V4 once is loaded (then I have to click the inj file of course)

So my question is, how can I create an INJ file in order to place the files in a different folder than Victoria 4 (so it won’t load along with V4).

I have seen some INJ files and I can see that everything is about codes, I tried to put separately all the pz2 files inside a new folder in !DAZ folder and then create the INJ file linking the files from !DAZ/Project folder but nothing happens when I double click.

Is there any utility that can regroup the morph files into an INJ file?

Thanks in advance.
Roca

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4673
Joined  2004-08-11

If your thinking of upgrading to DAZ Studio 4.5.1.6 I would suggest waiting.  The GoZ bridge, at least for me, is borked.  ZBrush see DAZ Studio and confirms this but DAZ Studio can’t connect for what ever reason.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 05:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2008-07-26

Near enough to topic - and just shows how unfamiliar I am.

I have created a genesis morph in one scene file which shows up as a hexgonbridge morph slider and now I want to be able to “save” it and load it onto another genesis in the scene or to a genesis in a different scene.  But after a few hours mucking around and searching forums I don’t seem to have got anywhere other than creating a directory in “data” with a whole not of not immediately relevant .dsf files for various expression controllers

Any helpful hints anyone?  Thanks Lx

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1