Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to delete previews in the SMART CONTENT / UNASSIGNED folder
Posted: 28 December 2012 07:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2011-10-01

Saved scenes, characters or something else is still visible after I deleted them. So the preview is overloaded with pic links I don’t need anymore. Is there a way to delete them?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8128
Joined  2009-05-14

Funny I was just doing this a few hours ago.

Smart Content Pane click on the small Options Box (top right or left of the pane) Click on Content DB Maintenance See image 1

Then follow image 2

Close and restart Daz Studio

Image Attachments
DB_main.jpgDB_main2.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2011-10-01

Thank you very much, dear Szark. The professional visualizations are astonishing me (but that’s not what I want do have explained lol )!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8128
Joined  2009-05-14
Wolpi - 28 December 2012 12:25 PM

The professional visualizations are astonishing me (but that’s not what I want do have explained lol )!

Humm ok what do you need explaining then Wolp as I am at a loss with what you need.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2011-10-01

My problem is, that the option “Content DB Maintenance” doesn’t appear when I click that options box! (I’m working with DAZ 4.5 but not the pro version)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6747
Joined  2005-08-15
Wolpi - 21 January 2013 08:16 AM

My problem is, that the option “Content DB Maintenance” doesn’t appear when I click that options box! (I’m working with DAZ 4.5 but not the pro version)

When you bought DS 4.5 through the store, you will have got a serial number added in your ‘My Account’ area for it.  All you need to do, is go to Help > Register DAZ Studio, and enter the Pro serial number, then exit and restart DAZ Studio.  That will make all options available.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 12:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8128
Joined  2009-05-14

Yeah I would do what Jimmy suggested but if you do not want to then have you tried another Pane like the Content Library Pane instead.

You would be surprised what you might find if you really look harder. wink Seriously spend sometime clicking everything you can find, open this that and the other. I do this for at least a week with a new piece of software before I go searching for tutorials. Then I am able to follow the help a little easier with having familiarised myself with the User Interface. There is always a Cancel button.

See a term that you don’t understand, pop that word in to Google…sometimes it works on its own but you may have to provide some extra context in the search parameters.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2011-10-01

Thank you very much, JimmyC! You made me think about serial-numbers and registration and so I found, that I could update my standard version to 4.5 pro. I just did so but this doesn’t seem to be the reason, why my little box doesn’t contain the content database maintenance menu.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 01:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8128
Joined  2009-05-14

It could be down to your Layout settings. Found Under Windows > Workspace ?Select Layout and Windows > Style > Select Style. You can change your layout and save these settings via Windows > Workspace > Save Layout as and Style > Save Style as

The if things go wrong you can always quickly return to how you want your layout.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 03:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2011-10-01

Nor was this the solution to my problem. But a nice option I didn’t know before!
The unassigned folder with all its (most empty) previews is growing and growing.
When I click on “Display the Actice Pane Options” - Box it opens only three options:

Make Pane undockable
Make Pane Group undockable
________________________

Close Pane

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 January 2013 05:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6747
Joined  2005-08-15

You will find it in the ‘Content Library’ pane in exactly the same place.  It is only the very latest version of DS 4.5 that has it in Smart Content (where it should have been to begin with)

See image below.

Image Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 January 2013 03:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2011-10-01

Thank you, Jimmy! I found it, I chose the both “remove ...” tabs, accepted - but nothing was deleted!  rolleyes

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 January 2013 04:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6747
Joined  2005-08-15



Did you try the ‘Re-import Metadata’ from the same place?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 January 2013 02:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

I think,, if Wolpi just hope to remove reference to “UNASSIGNED” in category,
(so that,, saved scene etc show in as “UNASSIGNED”)

on this case,, you may need not use content DB maintenance,, etc.
it can reomve orphan files, but, unassgined files are not orphan files.

open content library
Categories>Default>Unassigend> your files.

simply Right click the file ( image) or directory of category.

then select ” remove referrence.” (file)  or “delete” (directory)

it remove only the refference to UNASSGINED”

after that, you may need “reflesh” (right -click on database icon (catgory) in content library)
some times to remove icon.  but it work.

though you can not remove “Unussigend ” category from content library, I think.
you can delete only files reference and sub directory from Unassigned. 

but in smart content, “Unassigend ” has gone out tongue rolleye
so you may keep safety your secret scene,,may be,,,

however if you save new secret scene, and you do not categorize it,,
it must be shown in unassgined category in smart content view ^^;
so you may need often delete directory from category unussigned,,

Image Attachments
unassigne1.JPGdeletecategory.JPGunussgine2.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 January 2013 11:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  314
Joined  2012-03-20

Thank you for this post! It actually spurred me to upgrade to 4.5

Amy

 Signature 

Bouncing Dog Graphics
http://bouncingdog.blogspot.com/

http://www.estarbooks.com
Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Pulp and Speculative Fiction ebooks!

Profile