Digital Art Zone

 
     
Mouse behaviour, Studio 4.5, Windows 8 (64 bit), VMware Fusion
Posted: 27 December 2012 04:26 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-12-20

Hello,

I wonder if anyone has seen this issue and can point me to a solution. I am trying to run DAZ Studio 4.5 Pro on Windows 8 (64 bit) which is running inside a virtual machine in VMware Fusion 5. Fusion 5 comes with OpenGL 2.1, and Studio claims everything is OK (see output “Current Hardware Features” further below). It starts up w/o any issue and displays genesis. The problems arise when I try any of the mouse operations in view port (orbit, rotate, pan, zoom) ... the image just jumps around erratically, apparently completely unrelated to what I do with the trackpad (which is handed through to the virtual machine as a 2-button mouse). The same issue shows up when I try to rotate the whole figure (select all, go to “Pose & Animate”, General -> Transforms -> Rotation -> X Rotation” for example. The slider just jumps around).

Posing individual limbs works fine, though.

—> Any ideas?

Cheers,
  Chris

Here’s the output of “Current Hardware Features”:

 

Current OpenGL Version:
2.1 Mesa 7.12-devel (git-8cad948)


OpenGL Provider:
VMware, Inc.


Hardware:
Gallium 0.4 on SVGA3D; build: RELEASE;


Features:

MultiTexturing
Supported

Shadow Map
Supported

Hardware Antialiasing
Supported

OpenGL Shading Language
Supported

Pixel Buffer
Supported


Pixel Buffer Size
1024 x 1024


Maximum Number of Lights
8

Number of Texture Units
8

Maximum Texture Size
8192 x 8192

————————> There are no error messages in the log file

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-12-20

... I also tried different external mouses to rule out mac book pro’s touch pad being the source of error here ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 04:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-12-20

... running natively on the MBP of course works fine also ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2013 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-12-20

Here’s the solution:

You need to connect a separate mouse exclusively to the VM, bypassing the host OS. To do so, connect a second mouse to your Mac or PC, and follow VMware Knowledge Base article 1033435. (http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1033435)

Cheers,
  Chris

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2013 08:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-12-16

I have the same problem running Parallels 7 on a MBP.

I looked on the Parallels website but could not find an equivalent fix that was given by Chris for VMware.

Does anyone know how to resolve this problem.

Thanks.

Profile