Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 18
4
OK, DAZ, seriously, what’s going on?
Posted: 28 December 2012 09:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2006-09-30
Kodiak3D - 28 December 2012 08:57 AM
Kevin Sanderson - 28 December 2012 03:36 AM

There’s a funny old saying… a watched pot never boils.

<sarcasm>
I can confirm that this old saying isn’t true.  I tried it once.  Put water in a pot, put it on the stove and high, and waited and watched.  Sure
enough, it DID boil (much to my surprise). 
</sarcasm>

Are you sure?

I doubt it.

I mean, the water may have boiled, but the pot??  They are usually made of metals with a higher boiling point that the average stove can reach.

As for Carrara Development, I thought it was still waiting for the Big Renaming to Cowrarra timed to coincide withe the long awaited release of The Millennium Cow!

 Signature 

MOO!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 10:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2007-03-03
Sockratease - 28 December 2012 09:05 AM
Kodiak3D - 28 December 2012 08:57 AM
Kevin Sanderson - 28 December 2012 03:36 AM

There’s a funny old saying… a watched pot never boils.

<sarcasm>
I can confirm that this old saying isn’t true.  I tried it once.  Put water in a pot, put it on the stove and high, and waited and watched.  Sure
enough, it DID boil (much to my surprise). 
</sarcasm>

Are you sure?

I doubt it.

I mean, the water may have boiled, but the pot??  They are usually made of metals with a higher boiling point that the average stove can reach.

Um, it was a special, super-hot stove?  lol

 Signature 

-Kodiak3d

“I wonder what tomorrow has in mind for me, or am I even in its mind at all?”
- “Crystal Ball” by Styx

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 11:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  774
Joined  2003-10-09
Dartanbeck - 27 December 2012 06:50 PM

I’m not defending Carrara over the more Pro-priced softwares, but I chose Carrara from the start because I have no intentions of modelling everything I need for my movies. Quite the opposite, I want to model as little as possible! But with Carrara, one can do what is done in Poser and/or DS while having the awesome abilities of:
- Actual mesh manipulation and morph additions
- Handling much larger scenes
- Many various methods of lighting and rendering
and I feel that Carrara has much better animation tools as well - or is it just the interface? I can barely get going in Poser, but DS seemed even worse ...

There must be more people out there who are like me in that they want to assemble scenes from purchased content and render off a bazillion animated clips with the intention of creating a movie or a short or…
When I researched software for performing this stuff while having the ability to actually model figures, Carrara stood completely alone. Completely. Well, now that I own it, it truly does what I wanted it to do BETTER than what I’d hoed it would. BETTER! And I find that to be very cool, indeed. ...

My sentiments exactly.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 03:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2012-02-14

Personally, I kinda went with Carrara as a stop-gap until next April/May when I get a bonus at work.  At that point, I’ll make a decision on whether to trade up to Lightwave or go full bore with Maya… or stick with the Daz/Carrara thing that I’ve got experience with. With the price of Carrara as low as it was over this Holiday, it was hard to turn down.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 03:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2009-09-19

what about doing something like using Carrara for what it can do, and using it together with blender for what it can do?

Blender is free, but it would take lots more learning to use both together.  Why do you have to choose Carrara versus
something else?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5233
Joined  2006-08-27

Look at your software as tools in a toolbox. Carrara is good. It has many features that the big boys have, but they may not be implemented quite as well or be a bit out of date, in which case, if you have the money for the big guns, then go for it. If you like Carrara for whatever reason, there’s no reason to get rid of it. Just because you have a new hammer doesn’t mean you have to get rid of your old one. There are also many different types of hammers for specific jobs.


Many people here use Carrara, Blender, Poser, Bryce, etc. etc. Some people use Poser as sort of a plugin for Carrara in that they may use the walk designer to generate walk cycles for use in Carrara. There’s others that may use Carrara along side Blender. It all depends on your workflow.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 04:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2008-02-22

I see it as a set of tools as well, and Carrara has some good tools, cheap, that I can’t get anywhere else near as cheap smile

Also, with things like the mjcTeleBlender stuff, there is an easy conduit to a really cool, free Cycles render engine.

That being said…...I was just considering upgrading from C7P to C8P…since there is a sale.  (sorry to the boycott folks, I may be spending)

I believe C7P is 32 bit, and C8P is 64 bit, right?

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 04:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
Kevin Sanderson - 28 December 2012 08:51 AM

I would bet all the devs are working on Genesis and getting duf to work. They stand to make more money if they get all the problems with content ironed out.

But as Kodiak mentioned, they assigned adding German language to Carrara. Maybe they want to lure some of the C4D crowd in Germany.

The thing that keeps coming up is that to use DAZ content, it’s much easier and takes less time to use Studio and Carrara. To get the content into other apps, there is all the re-rigging, texture issues, etc. to deal with.

Can’t argue with that; I could if I actually knew different lol

Actually as bad as it sounds when I was trying to decide between carrara and C4D, I went with carrara because there were a couple of people on the Eovia forum I knew from the Kerkythea forum red face

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  491
Joined  2003-10-09
3doutlaw - 28 December 2012 04:43 PM

I see it as a set of tools as well, and Carrara has some good tools, cheap, that I can’t get anywhere else near as cheap smile

Also, with things like the mjcTeleBlender stuff, there is an easy conduit to a really cool, free Cycles render engine.

That being said…...I was just considering upgrading from C7P to C8P…since there is a sale.  (sorry to the boycott folks, I may be spending)

I believe C7P is 32 bit, and C8P is 64 bit, right?

C8P is 64 bit and 32 bit… use what you need.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 06:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  491
Joined  2003-10-09
ManStan - 28 December 2012 04:47 PM
Kevin Sanderson - 28 December 2012 08:51 AM

I would bet all the devs are working on Genesis and getting duf to work. They stand to make more money if they get all the problems with content ironed out.

But as Kodiak mentioned, they assigned adding German language to Carrara. Maybe they want to lure some of the C4D crowd in Germany.

The thing that keeps coming up is that to use DAZ content, it’s much easier and takes less time to use Studio and Carrara. To get the content into other apps, there is all the re-rigging, texture issues, etc. to deal with.

Can’t argue with that; I could if I actually knew different lol

Actually as bad as it sounds when I was trying to decide between carrara and C4D, I went with carrara because there were a couple of people on the Eovia forum I knew from the Kerkythea forum red face

 

I got into Carrara when a guy who knew more about how to do what I wanted to do with DAZ/Poser characters suggested it years ago. He told me it was the closest to LW at the time in quality, was much more affordable, and could easily work with DAZ/Poser stuff. He was right! I had RayDream so the upgrade made even more sense.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 07:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2008-02-22
Kevin Sanderson - 28 December 2012 06:01 PM

C8P is 64 bit and 32 bit… use what you need.

OK…but C7P was only 32 bit right?  ...just want to make sure I am getting bang for the buck here.

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 08:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1387
Joined  2011-01-03
3doutlaw - 28 December 2012 07:51 PM

OK…but C7P was only 32 bit right?  ...just want to make sure I am getting bang for the buck here.

Assuming you have at least 4 GB of RAM (preferably 8 GB or more); then you’ll get your bang.

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 09:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

Yes, C8 is 64bit - but only use that version with a 64bit system.

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 09:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2008-02-22

Yep, I got Win7 64 bit, with 8gb ram….but C7P always seems to drag. (though it uses all 8 processors to render)

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 09:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1387
Joined  2011-01-03
3doutlaw - 28 December 2012 09:05 PM

Yep, I got Win7 64 bit, with 8gb ram….but C7P always seems to drag. (though it uses all 8 processors to render)

That is because a 32-bit application is limited to a virtual address space of 2 GB. On a 64-bit system, a process can address up to 8 TB (8192 GB). So the more RAM you have, the more a process’ VAS can stay in memory and not get swapped to your paging file.

That was Greek right? wink

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 18
4