Digital Art Zone

 
     
Transferring Daz 3 files to new laptop - help request
Posted: 26 December 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-06-12

Greetings, and Happy Holidays!

I’m not comfortable with Studio 4.5 yet, and until I can adjust it the way I like it, I prefer Studio 3.  My trauma is bad enough, going from a Windows XP laptop to a Windows 8 laptop, and I just want my “stuff” back to where I can continue my learning process with Daz Studio.

I’ve installed the software on the new laptop (Daz Studio 3 64bit won’t install on a 64bit machine, but Daz Studio 3 32bit will…?), established my content directories and found most of my content on my external hard drive, where I keep most of my DAZ/Poser content and runtime files.

However,  all my “View Categories as List” info is missing, as well as custom character and custom pose information.  I really don’t want to spend days re-establishing my content database, but what I really don’t want to lose is all of the custom poses and character info I have.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13574
Joined  2003-10-09

Content Library pane option menu (click the button in the top corner, or right-click the pane’s tab)>Migrate Old Content Database.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 09:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-06-12

Thanks for your reply, Richard!  Is the option you’re suggesting a function of Studio 3 or Studio 4, or both?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 09:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13574
Joined  2003-10-09

Sorry, that’s in Studio 4 - and you do need to have your content database for Ds3 on that machine (and a version of DS3 installed, I think - it’s not a function I’ve ever used as I’ve never managed to get around to doing any categorisation).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 10:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-06-12

OK…then how do I get the DS3 content database files from my old laptop to my new laptop?  Where would they be located, and is there an “installer” that I use, or is it a matter of cutting and pasting?  Again, thanks for your time!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13574
Joined  2003-10-09

This thread should help http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=98977

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 02:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-06-12

Thanks!  I ran the scripts, and produced a backup file…now where do I put it in Daz Studio 3 where it will find it?

Profile