Digital Art Zone

 
     
Replacing textures in the shader
Posted: 25 December 2012 08:27 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2798
Joined  2006-07-31

Hello.

I might remember it wrong, but in DS3 when you applied a texture MAT with Ctrl, you could have been prompted to check to replace or to ignore the textures, which allowed fast texture swap while keeping texture parameters like specular strength same. I think that in DS 4.5 this isn’t working with Poser-like MATs anymore, only with DS-matposes. Am I missing something or that feature is really gone?

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 12:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9620
Joined  2007-11-06

I don’t recall DS3 being able to do that with Poser-format mats, it’s always been a feature that requires DS-format files.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 06:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8344
Joined  2009-05-14
fixmypcmike - 26 December 2012 12:20 AM

I don’t recall DS3 being able to do that with Poser-format mats, it’s always been a feature that requires DS-format files.

I wondered about that a few weeks back…this explanis alot.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 04:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  811
Joined  2007-01-08

I haven’t checked with the latest format, but in the old dsa/dsb format, the code to replace the textures was in the dsa/dsb preset itself, therefore it doesn’t work, generally with Poser presets. However it does work if you have the dsa/dsb with same name and same location as the Poser preset (there’s an icon on top left corner of the Poser preset to indicate that a DS preset will be loaded instead). A solution would be to save a deprecated dsa/dsb preset whenever you find a Poser preset that doesn’t have the matching DS preset and make sure to place it in the same Poser runtime folder containing the material preset.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 09:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2798
Joined  2006-07-31

Thanks, ReDave, this is probably what I was doing to make it work. So strange, I was absolutely sure that pz2 alone could be used for replacement in shaders but I’ve checked in DS3 and no, they can’t.

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile