Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to turn a whole scene continuously?
Posted: 25 December 2012 03:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2011-10-01

There is the option to change fix angles of view but
I think there must be the possibility to change the sight of view
or the position of a whole scene stepless.
grrrBut how?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 December 2012 04:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2821
Joined  2004-10-25

If I’m understanding you correctly Wolpi, you can parent the whole scene in a Null object, and then you rotate the Null and everything parented to it will turn with it.

I’ve attached a screenshot of the Null icon below.  I’m using DS 4.0 Pro and I’ve customized where my tool icons appear in the UI, so yours may be located somewhere else.

All you need to do is select every thing you want to move together in your Scene Tab, click on the Null icon, and when the dialog box opens, you can name the Null as you wish, and then click on the Parent Selected Item(s) to Null, and click the Accept button.

Then you would select the Null in your Scene Tab and using the Parameters Tab, you can rotate it as you wish, and everything will move together.

Image Attachments
CreateANull.jpg
 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 December 2012 04:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  910
Joined  2008-11-27

Or if you use DS4.5 you select all objects you want to rotate/move and put them into a group (menu create/new group), sometimes I’ve had problems using a Null as some parented items do rotate when I rotated the Null - but just around their own axis :D

 Signature 

Markus

My store at DAZ: http://www.daz3d.com/sedor

Member of the Bald Wizards Club (BWC).

My facebook artist page: https://www.facebook.com/WatmaScunn

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 04:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2011-10-01

Thank you very much, Miss B and sedor! I will try both ways. But I must say I thought there would be a far more easier way to turn the view of all I can see by scrolling or pushing or moving a tasksymbol ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2012 07:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2821
Joined  2004-10-25
sedor - 25 December 2012 04:58 PM

Or if you use DS4.5 you select all objects you want to rotate/move and put them into a group (menu create/new group), sometimes I’ve had problems using a Null as some parented items do rotate when I rotated the Null - but just around their own axis :D

AHA!  I use DS 3 Advanced more than DS 4 Pro so hadn’t noticed that separate rotation of items in a Null.  Hmmm I’m using DS 4.0 rather DS 4.5, so I don’t have the “new group” option, but I’ll need to make a note of it in case I ever upgrade some time in the future. Thanks for that tidbit.  wink

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 03:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  339
Joined  2004-04-07

Wolpi
Are you talking about rotating for animation or just moving around when setting up a scene?

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 09:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2011-10-01

Perhaps the solution is so easy that you all don’t understand what I mean (by the way: I’m German and not too fit in English).

When I’m creating a character and want to watch it from different angles I use the green slider “rotate”. I think, that’s not the right way because then I’m changing the position of the figure. I found some fix angles of viewing on the top (right, left, above, ...) but I want to change the point of view stepless sliding. And that’s even more difficult if I want to rotate the whole scene or several figures together.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 09:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

With any of the Advanced Styles you should have this on your viewport. That will just rotate around your selected item, if no item is selected it will rotate around the World Center.

Image Attachments
Capture_Camera.PNG
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 09:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2011-10-01

Thanks a lot! But it seems only be working in the cameramodus, not with presets.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 10:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  339
Joined  2004-04-07
Wolpi - 27 December 2012 09:44 AM

Thanks a lot! But it seems only be working in the cameramodus, not with presets.

That’s correct. The FRONT, BACK, TOP presets are fixed (zooming/panning only).

Rotation only works with cameras and perspective view.

I spend about 90% of the time in perspective view.  grin

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 12:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2011-10-01

Don’t you think this is an enormous handicap of the program?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 12:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7656
Joined  2009-05-14
Wolpi - 27 December 2012 12:14 PM

Don’t you think this is an enormous handicap of the program?

No it is common for many programs to have Orthographic cameras. Why can’t you use the Perspective camera or load as many cameras in to scene as you like. I don’t and never felt it limiting at all.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 12:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Need a TOP View Rotating Camera? Just Make one. It’s that easy.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 01:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  910
Joined  2008-11-27
Wolpi - 27 December 2012 09:20 AM

Perhaps the solution is so easy that you all don’t understand what I mean (by the way: I’m German and not too fit in English).

When I’m creating a character and want to watch it from different angles I use the green slider “rotate”. I think, that’s not the right way because then I’m changing the position of the figure. I found some fix angles of viewing on the top (right, left, above, ...) but I want to change the point of view stepless sliding. And that’s even more difficult if I want to rotate the whole scene or several figures together.

*dang* okay, totally misunderstood what you wanted to do…

:D Manchmal ist das Naheliegende doch zu weit weg und man denkt viel zu weit/kompliziert raspberry

 Signature 

Markus

My store at DAZ: http://www.daz3d.com/sedor

Member of the Bald Wizards Club (BWC).

My facebook artist page: https://www.facebook.com/WatmaScunn

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 03:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  191
Joined  2011-10-01

Finally with your help I found the whole solution myself. My problem was much too easy for you to understand it:
I have to create a camera. Then I can choose it in the view menu. Then I click orbit rotate or drag - hold - drag into the window and move !

Thank you all and sorry that this was a real problem for me.
red face

Profile