Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Area Light Help
Posted: 27 December 2012 04:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2009-05-14

Two images, indentical light at 100% the only diifference is one has ambient

There is no increase of light when ambeience is engaged.

The only time that I know of when Ambience increases light output is when GI is used.

and last a sphere with a transmap applied

Image Attachments
UberAmbOFF.jpgUberAmbON.jpgUberAmbONFallOffONGel2.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 04:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2301
Joined  2007-12-07

A little late to the party, but yes - I do recall that at some stage Ambient had to be set to On before the UberArea light would actually emit light.  I’m not sure when that changed but seeing as the default setting after application of the shader is/was for it to be off it is a happy update in my book! smile

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 05:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2009-05-14

Simon I could kiss you but I would wager you don’t have the legs for it. smile

I agree a welcome change that sneaked by me….

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 05:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2301
Joined  2007-12-07
Szark - 27 December 2012 05:03 AM

Simon I could kiss you but I would wager you don’t have the legs for it. smile

I agree a welcome change that sneaked by me….

Oh, but I do have the legs for it ... they’re ruddy good at running away! smile

I only noticed it when I did a render using UberArea lights, lit blue touch-paper and retired for the night in the certain knowledge that it would take ages to complete.  When I woke it was with the jolting certainty that I’d forgotten to turn on Ambient and I’d have to cancel and restart ... imagine my bouncy happiness (also confusion!) when I noticed that the lights were lit! smile

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 05:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  340
Joined  2004-04-07
Szark - 27 December 2012 04:53 AM

The only time that I know of when Ambience increases light output is when GI is used.

That’s the problem! It shouldn’t do that. smile

 

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 05:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  2012-02-05
prixat - 27 December 2012 04:14 AM

a couple of ways round it, I reduced the intensity to 0 and just relied on ambient.
(or you could reduce the overall exposure, that’s labeled ‘Gain’ in the render settings)

So for now ‘Ambient’ gets a reprieve LOL

If anyone has a use for diffuse or opacity in an arealight I’d like to see it. grin


Ha! a challenge.

Also, shame on you for cutting the poor woman in half; there are laws against that you know…


Edit: hrmph forgot to say what I wanted to say…

So here goes; the burned out specular highlights may not have anything to do with light intensity (I’ve found that 100% for area-lights is not very bright at all) but more with specular maps or more to the point not having any…

 Signature 

My images on Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 06:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2009-05-14
prixat - 27 December 2012 05:34 AM
Szark - 27 December 2012 04:53 AM

The only time that I know of when Ambience increases light output is when GI is used.

That’s the problem! It shouldn’t do that. smile

 

I know you know more than me about all this so could you help me out by expaining why it shouldn’t…pwease. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2009-05-14
SimonJM - 27 December 2012 05:15 AM
Szark - 27 December 2012 05:03 AM

Simon I could kiss you but I would wager you don’t have the legs for it. smile

I agree a welcome change that sneaked by me….

Oh, but I do have the legs for it ... they’re ruddy good at running away! smile

I only noticed it when I did a render using UberArea lights, lit blue touch-paper and retired for the night in the certain knowledge that it would take ages to complete.  When I woke it was with the jolting certainty that I’d forgotten to turn on Ambient and I’d have to cancel and restart ... imagine my bouncy happiness (also confusion!) when I noticed that the lights were lit! smile

LOL

What a nice surprise Simon…I really thought I was going more mad than I am already with this and it does surprise me that some of the other users had no idea about this. This was something I learnt in my first year.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 December 2012 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2006-10-05
prixat - 27 December 2012 03:54 AM

...and got an image with 200% and some burnt out highlights:

Yeah, that’s what I’d expect to happen with a surface that has diffusion, specularity, and reflection tuned on.  It’s very easy to get over-lighting and blow-outs, when those three add up.  It usually takes a bit of tweaking of the relative strength multipliers to get it to look right.

None of that changes the fact, though, that the ambient settings of a surface shader have no influence whatsoever on the light emitted by an area-light shader attached to the same surface.  They are two separate entities.

Here’s a simple test bed that shows it: a pure white plane, ball and cube, lit by a planar area light, emitting pure green light and having pure red ambient colour. If the two mixed, the scene should be lit in yellow - but it is not.  Only the colour set on the light shader has any influence on the actually emitted light.

 

Image Attachments
Render_1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  150
Joined  2003-10-09

Thank you all for the input I found in this thread. I now have a better understanding of how area lights work. smile Gonna experiment a little bit when I get home. I usually use them to light up stuff from 3-D-C at Rendo but I get mixed results…

 Signature 

Erdehel’s deviantart page

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 09:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

I’ll have to check, but I think that Opacity can be used to give an ‘invisible’ emitter…in other words set to 0 should turn off the visibility of the item without affecting it’s light output.

Yep, exactly what it does…

Render 1 Sphere opacity is 100%
Render 2 Sphere opacity is 0%
Render 3 is using the ‘eye’ icon to turn off the sphere’ visibility…

All three are rendered with ‘low quality’ render settings for maximum speed…

Image Attachments
ambsphere1.jpgambsphere2.jpgambsphere3.jpg
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 10:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  894
Joined  2007-01-04
mjc1016 - 28 December 2012 09:18 PM

I’ll have to check, but I think that Opacity can be used to give an ‘invisible’ emitter…in other words set to 0 should turn off the visibility of the item without affecting it’s light output.

Yep, exactly what it does…

Render 1 Sphere opacity is 100%
Render 2 Sphere opacity is 0%
Render 3 is using the ‘eye’ icon to turn off the sphere’ visibility…

All three are rendered with ‘low quality’ render settings for maximum speed…

There’s an option in the Arealight shader called “Fantom”, turn it “on” in the surfaces tab and you don’t have to mess about with Opacity, the pic is a quick spot render showing the Area disc lighting up Genesis, as you can see fantom is on.

Image Attachments
Fantom.jpg
 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2012 11:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Bejaymac - 28 December 2012 10:20 PM
mjc1016 - 28 December 2012 09:18 PM

I’ll have to check, but I think that Opacity can be used to give an ‘invisible’ emitter…in other words set to 0 should turn off the visibility of the item without affecting it’s light output.

Yep, exactly what it does…

Render 1 Sphere opacity is 100%
Render 2 Sphere opacity is 0%
Render 3 is using the ‘eye’ icon to turn off the sphere’ visibility…

All three are rendered with ‘low quality’ render settings for maximum speed…

There’s an option in the Arealight shader called “Fantom”, turn it “on” in the surfaces tab and you don’t have to mess about with Opacity, the pic is a quick spot render showing the Area disc lighting up Genesis, as you can see fantom is on.

Yes, Fantom works, too…but with the Opacity, you can still use maps to give a pattern to the emitter,,,just create a normal transmap and enable Ambient, with a bit of color and you have a shaped, glowing emitter…

While not quite the same, mesh lights/area lights are loads of fun.  I once modeled a light bulb, down to a simple filament.  Then used that in a flashlight, with a carefully modeled parabolic reflector.  Then I rendered it in Lux, with an volume defined.  The reflector was set to a mirror material, the filament was a mesh light and the bulb was a glass material…and when all was said and done, it looked great…but I didn’t get a chance to save the final image, as my network went down.  I should go back and render that one over again…I should have the scene file somewhere,  I know I’ve got the models. 

I wonder what it would be like doing that in DS 4.5 with UA

Image Attachments
altransmapped.jpg
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 01:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Or something like this…

Two area lights…one overhead and other is the ‘screen’ with an transmap and the ambient turned on…that’s over top of a slightly large square primitive, with a slight amount of ambient strength (5%, I think) in the same green as the the light color.

Image Attachments
altransmapped2.jpg
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2