Digital Art Zone

 
     
Where is the high res version of V5 genesis?
Posted: 22 December 2012 11:57 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2008-01-05

Where is the high res version of V5 genesis?  I noticed the poly count is super low.  I need the high res version that is double the poly count of V42.  Maybe I’m supposed to be doing something I don’t know about yet?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 December 2012 12:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  152
Joined  2007-08-25

Heya,
I don’t know how to explain for Poser, but I can ( bit) for Daz|Studio. Genesis (an it’s morphs, like V5 and M5) is built off a low res framework, so the “base” geometry is very low poly, low res. When you load the figure into D|S, it is sub-divided there, making into the high res figure right in Daz|Studio. If you’re using DS, you can see this in the Parameter Tab, as shown in the image below. It’s not easy to see in the image, but if you try the Base and High Res, and view it in the Wireframe modes, the gray lines are where the object is sub-divided.
In Poser, I guess there’s a way to also subdivide, and stuff with the DSON that does pretty much the same thing, but someone else would have to explain that one. smile
Hope that makes a bit of sense there, I’m terrible at explaining :D

Image Attachments
ResExample.jpg
 Signature 

————-
2012: The world ended. We missed it. Maybe next time.
DVL_LVD @ ShareCG

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 December 2012 07:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7950
Joined  2009-05-14
laksdfj - 22 December 2012 11:57 PM

Where is the high res version of V5 genesis?  I noticed the poly count is super low.  I need the high res version that is double the poly count of V42.  Maybe I’m supposed to be doing something I don’t know about yet?

What software are you using Poser or Daz Studio?

If it is Daz Studio then when Genesis is loaded it is always Subdivided at default so if it is Poser then when you export Genesis (V5) then you need to choose the resolution on Export in the DSON Exporter.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 December 2012 03:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2007-07-23

Export V5?  She just showed up in my Poser runtime, so I double-clicked and she loaded (PoserPro 2012).  What’s this exporting stuff? And while I’m asking, where are her various eye colors and makeups?  They’re in the DAZ People section but not available to Poser.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 December 2012 04:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14288
Joined  2003-10-09

The material options should be in the Materials library, I think, though I haven’t installed the V4 PoserCFs

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 December 2012 06:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2007-07-23

Nope.  Just the V5 Bree All, which is the nude face.  No make-up faces, no eye colors, no bump settings.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 December 2012 06:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5906
Joined  2006-02-20

I am afraid it’s the same case like M5 ... Daz was a bit lazy in transporting all the options for V5/M5 to Poser ...
You only get the Bree all in Materials.
For M5 you get only Philip shaved and the Eyes textures.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 December 2012 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1494
Joined  2003-10-09

DSON isn’t an exporter, just an importer on the Poser side for DSON/Duf format content. - there may be a smoothing/subdivision option in the DSON scripts menu in Poser (I’m not home right now so can’t check).  Poser doesn’t subdivide the same way as DS but it may be that the subdiv is one of the things the DSON Importer handles thru that menu (like fitting genesis clothes to morphed genesis figures.)

 Signature 

My DAZ Store
My Free Stuff
My Deviant Art

Profile