Digital Art Zone

 
     
32-vs 64 bit MAC-PRO!
Posted: 04 June 2012 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

This is addressed to MAC users using carrara! I am considering buying a used EXON INTEL MAC PRO. Its hard to come across the Westmiere class which is the last version of the mac-pro, IT runs 64 bit. AS far as I can tell ITS the onlt client based machine MAC that does run 64 bit.

1) Do any of you have a MAC- PRO running 64 bit and is it really that much faster specially rendering Carrara?

2) PC people - Is 64 bit that much faster for rendering on your machines?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2012 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7653
Joined  2009-07-13

yes to the second question, I have a real computer and 64bit is definately faster but I have the 32bit also installed as it works better rendering in that at the same time even multiple instances than two lots of 64bit!
(yes I HAVE rendered in 5 instances of Carrara simultaneously!!!)
buy a PC mate and then you can have apples and your cake and eat it too!
runs Hex better too I hear!!
not knocking Mac but you can get a better PC for the same money and you have a Mac already so why not extend your options.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2012 01:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2006-02-03

There is no Quicktime Movie in the 64 bit version as there is no 64 bit Quicktime.

Of course, as far as i know, one can get both versions of 32 and 64 bit Carrara, with QT being in the 32 bit.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2012 03:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  157
Joined  2008-05-12

As long as you dont use OS X 10.7 you should be fine

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 04:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2008-03-27
RichardChaos - 04 June 2012 09:31 AM

AS far as I can tell ITS the onlt client based machine MAC that does run 64 bit.

I don’t understand this part of your post. I’m running a nearly two year old iMac, and it’s 64-bit.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  281
Joined  0

not sure if this answers the nquestion but if you want to run the 64bit kernel restart holding the numbers 6 and 4.  then you will be running in 64 bit only

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5408
Joined  2006-08-27
wendy♥catz - 04 June 2012 10:22 AM

yes to the second question, I have a real computer and 64bit is definately faster but I have the 32bit also installed as it works better rendering in that at the same time even multiple instances than two lots of 64bit!
(yes I HAVE rendered in 5 instances of Carrara simultaneously!!!)
buy a PC mate and then you can have apples and your cake and eat it too!
runs Hex better too I hear!!
not knocking Mac but you can get a better PC for the same money and you have a Mac already so why not extend your options.

Wendy, please skip the editorializing if you don’t know what you’re talking about. wink  A Mac is just as much of a “real” computer as a “PC.” In fact, if the OP wanted, he could partition his HD or add another HD formated for Windows, and have the ability to natively boot into either OS X or Windows. That’s two computers for the price of one! Additionally, from what I’ve read (at least when Apple switched to the Intel chips), the Mac hardware in some instances runs Windows better than a PC box. That was a couple years ago, so I don’t know how well that holds true today.

It’s true that some here have had issues with Carrara 8.xx (especially the 64 bit version) but from what I’ve read here and the bug tracker, I’m 95% convinced it’s the Carrara devs. that have the issue, as I have access to a pretty current iMac, with OS X (prior to latest version I believe) and have had no issues. It’s a pretty clean system.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 02:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7653
Joined  2009-07-13

sorry EP, was tongue in cheek dig at Rich who is a facebook friend and every time I post about computer issues, he tells me to get a real computer, a Mac! LOL!
I realize out of context to a third party it looked a bit like an OS war!

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2012 02:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5408
Joined  2006-08-27

My bad. No offense taken then. Richard bait all you want! Maybe you’ll get him to start posting in all caps again! gulp

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 06:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Okay as far as I can tell from what I have researched as far asa a MAC PRO as I am not interested in an imac anything! THE only MAC PRO TOWER that runs under a dedicated 64 bit is the “WESTMERE” mac 5,1 line which was their last line and is still the current machines.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_Pro

If I am gunna buy a USED machine It will be the last Major Computer I ever buy! I have the money or will in the next few months, so I would like a 64 bit machine. And they are almost impossible to find as yet

Why buy used mac ? Well its like a car! AS soon as you drive a new car off the lot it depreciates 4000-8000 bucks.

I Use to be scared about used machines but made the leap over 5 years ago and those have outlasted and have required less maintenance than from the many I bought new! I have had to replace at least once every hard drive in the MACS I bought new! All my used machines have required no such efforts! KNOCK WOOD! SHeet I bet I just Jinked myself.

I had not thought of 10.7 issues as whatever used mac-pro westmere I am gunna find is gunna be running it more than likely and even if its running a lower OS! I am gunna have to buy a DVD MAC OS install Disk and thats definitely gunna be 10.7? DAMN the luck!

My basic question was for anyone using a MAC as there animation machine is if 64 bit was all that much faster than 32 bit?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 03:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2005-05-30

I think you are mistaken about he 64 bittedness of macs.

Certainly ALL Mac Pro’s since 2008 use the 64 bit kernel by default. (see the list below from the Apple site).
As you know the main thing about 64 bit applications is that they can access much more memory, so much more complex files can be created. So put as ram as you can afford into your mac.
I am using the 64 bit version of Carrara on my iMac and it is working well with OSX Lion.

Having said all this it is important to note that even if you cannot or do not boot kernel into 64-bit mode, you can run your 64-bit apps as 64-bit, and they can take advantage of all the memory in the machine.

You can see which kernel you are using in System Profiler:

Choose About This Mac from the Apple () menu.
Click More Info.
Select Software in the Contents pane.
Look for “64-bit Kernel and Extensions: Yes (or No)” under the System Software Overview heading.

If your Mac uses the 32-bit kernel by default, but supports the 64-bit kernel, you can start up using the 64-bit kernel by holding the 6 and 4 keys during startup.


Good luck.


These Macs use the 64-bit kernel by default in Mac OS X v10.6.
Mac Pro (Mid 2010)
MacBook Pro (Early 2011)
iMac (21.5-inch and 27-inch, Mid 2011)
These Macs use the 64-bit kernel by default in Mac OS X Server v10.6 (they can also use the 64-bit kernel in Mac OS X v10.6, but do not use it by default).

Xserve (Early 2008) and later
Mac Pro (Early 2008) and later
Mac mini (Mid 2010)

These Macs support the 64-bit kernel, but do not use it by default.
iMac (Early 2008) and later
MacBook Pro (Early 2008 through Mid 2010)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 08:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Thanks for your knowledge . It looks like I am gunna have to spend the scratch on a WESTMERE machine and I want as much power as I can get at this time because I am pretty sure this will be the last big computer expenditure in my life.

SInce you stated that it looks like mid 2010 is the time mac went 64 bit. WHICH means a MAC PRO “WESTMERE” if I get you right which is still theyir current line!

Of course I would like as much power as possible and have run across a couple of refurbished WESTMERES on Apples site at from $4,000- 5,500 OUCHHH! APPLE has always been very proud of their stuff even when its used but WOW! for another 1500 I could buy a new one! BUT both these machines have 12 cores and thank god finally a 1 gig powered factory installed Graphics card.

I have hoping with all this power I could do most of my rendering on that machine and be done with it!

I find it entertaining every time I buy a new mac and pass the older ones around the room and make room for the next one I use them as render machines but think MAN how did I get by using those older machines, but they all still work in fact I have 2 older G-4s Crunching rendering now! UGH a week now!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 09:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  202
Joined  2005-08-31

RichardChaos,

You might want to wait a couple of weeks. The rumor is that Apple will release a long awaited upgrade to the MacPro next week at WWDC. If that happens it usually lowers the price on older models. It also tends to flood the market with used equipment. You might get a better deal once the new models are released.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 01:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Thanks man Your right these used WESTMEREs Will be 2 grand less in 2 weeks! I read the so called rumors ! Can’t wait to see whats under the hood of a new MAC PRO!

Rumors has it this will be the last TOWER MAC! MAC is gunna discontinue the towers after this next run SO I better get one

Profile