Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 3
3
Are There any Daz Users that have 110.1 Almost Human For Alfa Seed Almost 110.1
Posted: 18 April 2013 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  140
Joined  2008-05-09
cwichura - 18 April 2013 07:34 PM

You could try a geometry shell.  I’d even set the offset to 0.  You’d use an opacity map for both the ‘robotic’ shell and the ‘human’ shell to mask out the other side.  Then you could use separate shader definitions for each.

That idea was so intriguing, I had to try it out, so here’s a quick test render.  The skin part uses the Skin lighting model (duh) while the metal parts use the Glossy Metallic lighting model.  Lights are one of Lantios’ sets.

Image Attachments
Almost_Human_Test.jpg
 Signature 

My deviantArt Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 01:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1009
Joined  2012-02-04

That looks to have worked reasonably well.  Exporting to LuxRender, I’d make the robotic and skin parts separate materials and use a mix material to select between the two.  I imagine you could set up a similar network in Shader Mixer to select between two DAZ Default Shaders as well, and it would probably render faster than the geometry shell trick.  But the geometry shell is probably easier for most folks to configure.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage
Set Focal Distance script for DAZ Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 05:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2747
Joined  2004-04-25
MaloneXI - 18 April 2013 05:23 AM

Hi all.

I just got this model. Really impressive on paper , but I don’t understand how to use it , how to load the cyborg. I have Vicky 4 of course , and the alice morph , but I don’t understand what to do ...

Can somebody help me ?

Thanx a lot.

The product will work in Poser out of the box for the default V4 and the Alice 5 body shape (which you can pick for free at RDNA).  To use it one default V4 body shape, you must use the utility poses to hide body parts and the inj morphs to make the visible parts of the body fit the cyborg parts.

AS always includes an extensive readme.  Before using, it is often a good idea to read it.  Especially if you are not familiar with using their products.

When you purchased, did you buy the actual cyborg parts?  Sometimes buyer mistake texture and expansion packs for the original product.

What other problems are you having?

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 06:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  140
Joined  2008-05-09
cwichura - 19 April 2013 01:50 AM

That looks to have worked reasonably well.  Exporting to LuxRender, I’d make the robotic and skin parts separate materials and use a mix material to select between the two.  I imagine you could set up a similar network in Shader Mixer to select between two DAZ Default Shaders as well, and it would probably render faster than the geometry shell trick.  But the geometry shell is probably easier for most folks to configure.

And the geometry shell method rendered pretty quick (that test render only took about two minutes to render, and that’s with one of Lantios’ lights sets AND a Shading Rate of 0.2)

 Signature 

My deviantArt Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2006-09-27
icprncss - 19 April 2013 05:15 AM
MaloneXI - 18 April 2013 05:23 AM

Hi all.

I just got this model. Really impressive on paper , but I don’t understand how to use it , how to load the cyborg. I have Vicky 4 of course , and the alice morph , but I don’t understand what to do ...

Can somebody help me ?

Thanx a lot.

The product will work in Poser out of the box for the default V4 and the Alice 5 body shape (which you can pick for free at RDNA).  To use it one default V4 body shape, you must use the utility poses to hide body parts and the inj morphs to make the visible parts of the body fit the cyborg parts.

AS always includes an extensive readme.  Before using, it is often a good idea to read it.  Especially if you are not familiar with using their products.

When you purchased, did you buy the actual cyborg parts?  Sometimes buyer mistake texture and expansion packs for the original product.

What other problems are you having?

Ok, I trully an idiot. My Bro just gave me thé expension pack. I bought the model just à couple of minutes ago and it worked well.
Thx a lot.

 Signature 

http://www.visionalternative.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 08:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2747
Joined  2004-04-25

You’re not an idiot.  It happens all the time.

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 April 2013 02:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  574
Joined  2012-11-06
Cyonix - 18 April 2013 09:17 PM
cwichura - 18 April 2013 07:34 PM

You could try a geometry shell.  I’d even set the offset to 0.  You’d use an opacity map for both the ‘robotic’ shell and the ‘human’ shell to mask out the other side.  Then you could use separate shader definitions for each.

That idea was so intriguing, I had to try it out, so here’s a quick test render.  The skin part uses the Skin lighting model (duh) while the metal parts use the Glossy Metallic lighting model.  Lights are one of Lantios’ sets.

That looks pretty nice.  It is a shame that they have not updated the Almost Human version for DAZ (it looks pretty awesome!)

Excitement level rising for 110.1 again.  <checks bank account…excitement level plummets>

 Signature 

Get updates on the progress of Capsized the Movie!

“Just because I don’t know the meaning of my art, does not mean it has no meaning.” - Salvador Dali

My Video Portfolio
My Art Portfolio
My Music

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 April 2013 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2006-09-27

I Admit it smile

Now the model is complete , I’m having an other problem. When I’m trying to move the arm , or a leg , it seems to be locked with Inverse kinematic , but I verifyed in the menu , and the IK is off for the arm.

Can you help ?

It’s been few hours I’m looking for the solution , I read entirely the read me , but there is nothing about this problem.

I loaded the Vicky 4 base. Next I load the right arm implant. Next I injected the right morph to fit the collar. And next , I used the hide morph to hide the hand and the arm. Ok , all fits properly , I selected the body of V4 , and it takes the pose.

The problem is when I just want to move the arm. The hand looks blocked in the space, deformed when I move it.

I don’t have any idea wtf is about…

I promise , it’s my last question ^^’ I’m really noob in the poser world…

 Signature 

http://www.visionalternative.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 April 2013 10:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17

When you have the cyborg selected; click on the Figure>Conform to.. (in the menu bar and choose V4 from the list of options.  I’m on a new system and don’t have Poser installed yet or I’d post a screenshot.
Once that’s done; the arm should follow V4’s pose.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 11:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2006-09-27

Yep that’s what I did. the problem persists even if the cyber arm is conformed.

 Signature 

http://www.visionalternative.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17

I’m not having that problem.  I’ve been able to grab any part of the arm with my mouse & move it around with out any problems or distortion of the hand.  Have you turned off IK on Victoria 4?

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2006-09-27

yep of course…

 Signature 

http://www.visionalternative.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 04:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17

What version of Poser are you using?  You may have to re-install the product and see if that fixes things.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2747
Joined  2004-04-25

You are certain IK is off for the Cyber arms as well as for the V4 figure?

Are you using a standard base V4.2?  One with all the PIA magnets still attached? 

This product is on my workstation and not on my home system so I can’t get to it right now but does anyone remember if this is supposed to be super conforming or is this a cross talk issue?

One more odd question but do you have any other V4 figures in the scene with the one you are conforming the cyborg arm to?

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2013 05:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2006-09-27

Yep.
But it’s not a problem anymore.
I deviated the problem. I make a pose xith vicky model, and next , I apply the cyber parts.

To thank you all , here is 3 drafts of the visuals I prepare. Scene is not texturised. Not yet.


Thanx a lot again.

Image Attachments
AdamBirth01.jpgAdamBirth02.jpgAdamBirth03.jpg
 Signature 

http://www.visionalternative.fr

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 3
3