Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 3
3
DAZ Dimension Lights 1 and 2
Posted: 08 January 2013 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  869
Joined  2004-05-14

These lights are great. Used Light set 01 from the DAZ Dimension Lights 1 without any changes.
Click the image to see it enlarged.

Image Attachments
V5Nichole03pic01.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  869
Joined  2004-05-14

I have used the Render Settings depicted below.

Image Attachments
V5Nichole03pic01RenderSettings.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1243
Joined  2004-08-24

Beautiful image!  I want to pick this set up when it’s on sale again - missed getting it before.

 Signature 

Cheers,
Alisa

**********************************************************************
Post Count - just add 6775 to what it says here smile
**********************************************************************
Coordinator & updater for KCTC Freebies *Remembering France*

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 05:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1029
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks for the info on the render settings shading rate vs UE peeps.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 January 2013 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  869
Joined  2004-05-14

Thanks for the comments. I like these lights, because of the moderated rendering times.
The image above took around 15 minutes on the computer with the first generation i7 processor (2.8 GHz).
I have used Pure Hair Lovely in the scene without any changes, except the material color
http://www.daz3d.com/pure-hair-lovely
I wonder how long rendering times will be with the different hairs.
Rendering Settings are playing an important role on the speed of rendering
and the quality of the resulting image, as already mentioned in this thread.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 March 2013 09:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2004-07-28

I picked up both light sets today. So far I can’t get a render to complete, and ds stalls about 9 min in. I have downsized the render just to see if I could get any output at all with same results. The spot render tool will not work either. What I also see is in the render window are squiggly lines of red and blue instead of the usual black screen. Working on an HP notebook, windows 7, 64bit. Can’t find a readme or other documentation. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 March 2013 10:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8708
Joined  2007-11-06

How much RAM do you have, and are you using 32-bit or 64-bit DS4?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 March 2013 10:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2004-07-28
fixmypcmike - 25 March 2013 10:31 PM

How much RAM do you have, and are you using 32-bit or 64-bit DS4?


system memory 3gb

microprocessor:celeron dual-core cpu T3500 2.1ghz

Graphics device:mobile intel 4 series express chipset

I’m using DS4 64 bit

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 March 2013 01:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2004-07-28

Maybe my laptop was just overworked last night. I was able to get a render this morning in 3delight, default settings (no squiggly lines and no stalls). It took about 50 minutes. I like the light sets, did not fiddle with anything. I used DDL#12

v4
Curator Aquarum
Bunny Dazed

Image Attachments
haunted_goth_ddlight12.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2014 09:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  526
Joined  2010-12-13
Kerya - 24 December 2012 04:06 AM

DS4.5 only - they are in DUF format ... Sorry!

For the DAZ Dimension Lights 1 it says it comes with “1 DAZ Studio Legacy Installer ” which installs .daz files, not .duf files. They did not work in DS3. It says they were created for a newer version of DS. I just got these based on them having a Legacy Installer. Everything else I have bought that came with a Legacy installer worked in DS3.

Edit: Support ticket opened. Let’s see what happens. *heavy sigh* downer

 Signature 

Daz Gallery
DA Gallery
Old post count 1725 (seems lame compared to some)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2014 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2747
Joined  2004-04-25
Slimer_J_Spud - 14 August 2014 09:55 PM
Kerya - 24 December 2012 04:06 AM

DS4.5 only - they are in DUF format ... Sorry!

For the DAZ Dimension Lights 1 it says it comes with “1 DAZ Studio Legacy Installer ” which installs .daz files, not .duf files. They did not work in DS3. It says they were created for a newer version of DS. I just got these based on them having a Legacy Installer. Everything else I have bought that came with a Legacy installer worked in DS3.

Edit: Support ticket opened. Let’s see what happens. *heavy sigh* downer

The Legacy installer is for DS4.0.  The change over to DUF began with the release of DS4.5. 

 

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 August 2014 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  526
Joined  2010-12-13

This is what bothers me. Take a look at these two products. They both say exactly the same thing, that they have a Daz Studio Legacy installer, and they both say they work in Daz Studio, and Daz Studio 4.6. One of them works in DS3, one does not, but the descriptions are identical on this point. Product descriptions should be specific about what versions they support, IMO.

http://www.daz3d.com/atmospheric-effects-cameras-for-daz-studio  (works in DS3)
http://www.daz3d.com/daz-dimension-lights-1 (does not work in DS3)

 Signature 

Daz Gallery
DA Gallery
Old post count 1725 (seems lame compared to some)

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 3
3