UNOFFICIAL Houston, we have a hair salon!!!! thread

JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,387
edited December 1969 in The Commons

after 3 uninstalls, reboots, jumping through firey hoops


I have successfully installed "look at my hair"


yipeeeeee happy dance, I whip my hair around, lalalala

ok
to avoid clogging Allesandros thread decided to post the steps to success here
and others can share here too and we can help each other!!
UNOFFICIAL help/whinge throw tantrum thread
First
if you have mucked it up
run the uninstaller through the installers picking cancel after uninstalling, do not let it re install
on both 32 and 64 bit

(I tried the uninstallers under programs Daz studio 4 plugins first time, had no luck sot
using the installers worked so go with it!)

delete the folder C:\Users\user\Documents\DAZ 3D\studio\lookatmyhairAM

restart computer

then re-run installers

I restarted again to be sure

now the correct steps

click create tab , pick new Look at my hair object


now leave the SERIAL number in the serial number field
DO NOT replace it with the one in my account serials!!

got to the web-link
put THAT number in under serial
and YOUR serial under installation code

then get the activation code

leave the included serial from opening the plugin under serial
put Yours in installation
now put the activation one under activation code

activate
chose close after success
close studio
(I got cannot open configuration file but ignored it)
I restarted computer again

next time create/ look at my hair object finally got me the salon window!!!!!!! yipeeeee

so perseverance paid off
share your woes, successes and we will stumble together to try to help you not pull your hair out or link to any Daz input on the matter as it appears,

«1

Comments

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    Thanks for opening this thread too :)

    Please let me add an activation instruction screenshot that should help clearing the confusion:

    activation.jpg
    1400 x 695 - 161K
  • LightofHeavenLightofHeaven Posts: 625
    edited December 1969

    I WANT TO SEE YOU MAKE HAIR!!! *throws a tantrum*

  • BlumBlumShubBlumBlumShub Posts: 1,070
    edited December 1969

    Sounds like a pain in the arse to me, I think I'll just not!

  • M F MM F M Posts: 1,371
    edited December 1969

    There are some minor "teething pains"... but the effort is going to be worth it, I think (^_^)d.

    (for me, the installation went okay, it's just that 3Delight + Studio are crashing instantly when I go to render a hairy object... Signor Alessandro is working with me right now to track the root cause...).

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    M F M said:
    There are some minor "teething pains"... but the effort is going to be worth it, I think (^_^)d.

    (for me, the installation went okay, it's just that 3Delight + Studio are crashing instantly when I go to render a hairy object... Signor Alessandro is working with me right now to track the root cause...).

    M F M, got all your PM's: please send me an email to info_at_alessandromastronardi.com. Speaking through PM's is very hard :)

  • SpyroRueSpyroRue Posts: 4,931
    edited December 1969

    Is there any screen shots of the interfaces? Or a video to watch? It's something I'd like to get after xmas, but I'd love to see the basics of the work flow :)

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 2012

    Spyro said:
    Is there any screen shots of the interfaces? Or a video to watch? It's something I'd like to get after xmas, but I'd love to see the basics of the work flow :)

    Grab the manual, is on the home page: www.furrythings.com

    Also, there are a bunch of old movies I did on my YT account (see my signature).

    Post edited by Alessandro_AM on
  • patience55patience55 Posts: 6,170
    edited December 1969

    Can this be installed in an "offline" computer?

    Does it only work in 4.5 ... will it work in 4.0?

  • SpyroRueSpyroRue Posts: 4,931
    edited December 1969

    Many Thanks Alessandro!! This looks really cool!

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    Can this be installed in an "offline" computer?

    Does it only work in 4.5 ... will it work in 4.0?

    You need to have an active internet connection to activate it and will work from 4.5 and higher...

  • patience55patience55 Posts: 6,170
    edited December 1969

    Can this be installed in an "offline" computer?

    Does it only work in 4.5 ... will it work in 4.0?

    You need to have an active internet connection to activate it and will work from 4.5 and higher...

    'k thank you.

  • KeryaKerya Posts: 7,188
    edited December 1969

    Can this be installed in an "offline" computer?

    Does it only work in 4.5 ... will it work in 4.0?

    You need to have an active internet connection to activate it and will work from 4.5 and higher...

    But the internet connection is only for activating, I hope ...
    Do I have to be online when using the plugin?

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    Kerya said:
    Can this be installed in an "offline" computer?

    Does it only work in 4.5 ... will it work in 4.0?

    You need to have an active internet connection to activate it and will work from 4.5 and higher...

    But the internet connection is only for activating, I hope ...
    Do I have to be online when using the plugin?

    Exactly, once activated you can use it offline.

  • KeryaKerya Posts: 7,188
    edited December 1969

    Thanks! :)
    I will have to scratch my pennies together before being able to buy ...

  • RarethRareth Posts: 1,457
    edited December 2012

    I can grow fuzz on a ball..

    Hair-test.jpg
    800 x 800 - 137K
    Post edited by Rareth on
  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    M F M said:
    There are some minor "teething pains"... but the effort is going to be worth it, I think (^_^)d.

    (for me, the installation went okay, it's just that 3Delight + Studio are crashing instantly when I go to render a hairy object... Signor Alessandro is working with me right now to track the root cause...).

    I think I'm in the same boat with you. I get Error with Render and then a Spinning busy pointer.

  • HellboyHellboy Posts: 687
    edited December 1969

    Rareth said:
    I can grow fuzz on a ball..

    Only on one? :)

  • SaiyanessSaiyaness Posts: 293
    edited December 2012

    Okay, so I downloaded LAMH today, have been playing around with it for a couple of hours annnddd.....what am I doing wrong? :p

    I have the density cranked up to maximum, it looks like a full head of hair in the LAMH plug-in but when rendered with Daz, I get this weird transparent fuzz. Colours are applied.

    It's probably something really obvious :P Thanks for any help!

    Edit: I can get it load properly as an .obj but the result is a bit hard and plastic. A transparency map would help with that but there's no uv's to work with...:p

    LAMHtest.jpg
    500 x 500 - 93K
    Post edited by Saiyaness on
  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,387
    edited December 1969

    my first render using the renderman hair
    (I have used obj before, renders much quicker but less hairlike)

    lamhtest00.jpg
    1000 x 1000 - 204K
  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,387
    edited December 1969

    saiyaness, I used one of the presets from Alessandro's site (mainly for the growth area, totally redid the style) maybe try that for colour etc until you (and I) learn more.

  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,387
    edited December 2012

    obj hair
    video
    boofy style to avoid body pokethrough, smoothing modifier/collision added

    hair001.png
    2000 x 2000 - 2M
    Post edited by JaguarElla on
  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,387
    edited December 1969

    hair exported as geometry

    hair_obj_untextured.png
    1000 x 1000 - 2M
  • SpyroRueSpyroRue Posts: 4,931
    edited December 1969

    Now thats some thick hair! lol

    I've been using Galibaldi, the latest beta has been working beautifully on my computer... How are you finding LAMH? I cant afford it atm due to "Its that time a year lol", but it looks pretty cool!

  • RarethRareth Posts: 1,457
    edited December 1969

    Here are some sample renders as I was getting a feel for the settings, styling women's hair is hard (unless you want it short) but hair for men.. thats alot easier..

    hairsamples.jpg
    1234 x 610 - 148K
  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    Saiyaness said:
    Okay, so I downloaded LAMH today, have been playing around with it for a couple of hours annnddd.....what am I doing wrong? :p

    I have the density cranked up to maximum, it looks like a full head of hair in the LAMH plug-in but when rendered with Daz, I get this weird transparent fuzz. Colours are applied.

    It's probably something really obvious :P Thanks for any help!

    Edit: I can get it load properly as an .obj but the result is a bit hard and plastic. A transparency map would help with that but there's no uv's to work with...:p

    Hi Saiyaness, are you talking about the short hair group or the long hair one? What you can do, is to check, in Studio, the Surface colors on each group; I have the feeling that the short hair group is gathering colors from the underlying Genesis model...

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    Rareth said:
    Here are some sample renders as I was getting a feel for the settings, styling women's hair is hard (unless you want it short) but hair for men.. thats alot easier..

    As soon as we're done with collision detection, styling long hair will be much easier. :)

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    Jaderail said:
    M F M said:
    There are some minor "teething pains"... but the effort is going to be worth it, I think (^_^)d.

    (for me, the installation went okay, it's just that 3Delight + Studio are crashing instantly when I go to render a hairy object... Signor Alessandro is working with me right now to track the root cause...).

    I think I'm in the same boat with you. I get Error with Render and then a Spinning busy pointer.

    I don't know if this has been already worked out, but don't close LAMH or the render will crash. Also this limitation is being worked out, so that in the future, if you like you can close the plugin.

  • atticanneatticanne Posts: 2,625
    edited December 1969

    Count me in, sorta. Wendy, thanks for opening this thread. I have LAMH downloaded waiting for installation. Got a crapload of stuff to do today with 2 boys and ISIL underfoot. Think I'll need some guaranteed uninterruptable time to tackle the installation. And lots of coffee on hand.

  • Alessandro_AMAlessandro_AM Posts: 1,544
    edited December 1969

    AtticAnne said:
    Count me in, sorta. Wendy, thanks for opening this thread. I have LAMH downloaded waiting for installation. Got a crapload of stuff to do today with 2 boys and ISIL underfoot. Think I'll need some guaranteed uninterruptable time to tackle the installation. And lots of coffee on hand.

    If you need any help please don't hesitate to ask :)

  • atticanneatticanne Posts: 2,625
    edited December 1969

    Please come take my 14-month old grandson away for a couple of hours, Alessandro.

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel