Digital Art Zone

 
     
Adding multiple trees in Bryce
Posted: 20 December 2012 07:22 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2005-01-15

Hello!  I’m relatively new to Bryce.  I’m trying to cover a distant mountainside with trees in Bryce.  It’s supposed to be a background for a model I’m posed and set up in Daz studio so detail isn’t really important.  The only thing I’ve found on this topic is on adding one tree at a time.  For hundreds of trees on a mountainside this doesn’t seem practical.  Is there another way to accomplish foresting a mountainside or other large area other than adding one tree at a time? 

Thanks in Advance

Kris

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2012 07:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15117
Joined  2003-10-09

You could try experimenting with instancing.

Another thing someone has done is to generate one really large tree, with gravity turned down, so the branches are upright, and sinking it into the terrain, so only the tops show, as separte trees, so to speak.

Bill board trees also work well for backgrounds.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2012 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16419
Joined  2009-01-22

Instancing with Random settings should work. I do that plenty. You will need to do some clean up but its much faster than one at a time.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2012 09:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15117
Joined  2003-10-09

Yeah, this is an image that Rashad did using instancing.

  http://www.daz3d.com/index.php?&ACT=50&fid=38&aid=39474_WEqrlLiMJzWg1UII7Jp5&board_id=1

Also a link to a tut by Rashad about using the instancing lab.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/3381/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2012 09:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2005-01-15

That’s very helpful guys :-D!  I can’t wait to get home and try it out.  Thanks so much for the lightning response!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2012 11:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2004-06-24

You could also try this freebie from foleypro.  http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?user_id=25520

Cheers
GG

 Signature 

WHO said Kiwis can’t fly ?????

Profile